USAA Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

USAA Software Developer Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
44 Ratings
  1. "A place to retire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable position without the competition present in other companies. Very flexible remote work options as-needed.

    Cons

    IT pay scale is low end. Lackadaisical approach to under performing employees. Arbitrary time requirements on level placements. Incredibly large reliance on '3rd party' contractors.

    Advice to Management

    Rethink the IT model. Be thankful San Antonio has very few IT shops to compete against

    USAA2019-07-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mission driven company. Technology backward."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer & Integrator I in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    It is an honor to serve the military and their financial needs by working at USAA. There's a sense of camaraderie and a willingness to help our members out as much as we can inside the company. There's a big drive towards meeting compliance and regulatory requirements which everyone takes as seriously as our CEO.

    Cons

    I work in technology and we still are behind when it comes to using the latest tech. Bureaucracy binds our decisions a lot of the times and our agile mentality is still driven like waterfall methods.

    USAA2019-06-20
  3. "Fantastic company to work for with awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    USAA's values aren't just for members, they are for employees too! Work/life balance is great. Benefits are also top notch (8% 401k match, affordable healthcare, etc).

    Cons

    Opinions on matters can change from team to team. I suppose the same can be said of any large company.

    USAA2019-06-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great traditional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer & Integrator III in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some amazing - talented people, working on utilizing new technology, offices are tailored for millennial appeal with ping-pong tables/pool, some flexibility to work from home, benefits are great, lots of PTO

    Cons

    Limited offices across the US, mainly in San Antonio, Tx. Company works slowly to put you in roles that you want or have a strong point in. Older technology and slowly transferring into new tech. Full-time remote positions are hard to come by. Very corporate

    Advice to Management

    Embrace change/outlook from the younger employees and work on more work/life balance.

    USAA2019-06-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Downward Spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    N/A - There are no real benefits here unless you want to live in San Antonio.

    Cons

    USAA paints a pretty picture but is no different from any competitors. USAA historical under pays and tries to sell the "bonus" as making a position competitive. The reality is the bonus continues to go down each year with no real improvement to base pay. The culture at USAA is largely favorite based. The people who are clueless or generally not skilled will still get ahead if they play up to a manager. The overall...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Upper level management will drive the company into the ground in the name of profits.

    USAA2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job stability, onsite gyms, Starbucks

    Cons

    Not very exciting and very much a typical cubicle type setting

    USAA2019-04-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Organization is a managerial mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time off, nearly impossible to get fired, lax deadlines.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than industry standard. Healthcare plan isn’t competitive. Performance bonus metrics are at mercy of board of directors and at a company level. This does not allow for an individual contributor an opportunity to influence their bonus. Organization lacks proper documentation and standards around non-revenue generating processes. Resistant to change. Lax enforcement of company values and policies. Poorly managed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Accountability for individuals is non-existent. Worst corporate environment I’ve encountered in my career. This company needs a culture change. Too many people doing the bare minimum and fighting management to actually add value.

    USAA2019-05-10
  8. "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Developer 

      I have been working at USAA full-time

      Pros

      - Incredible benefits - Great people - Work/Life Balance

      Cons

      - Not as fast paced when it comes to implementing new technology

      USAA2019-03-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Excellent benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer I in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Industry-standard tooling, 12 week paid Paternity benefit (not just for moms). 8% 401k match, on top of two cash bonuses in the year.

      Cons

      Corporate culture is brain-washy. Emphasis on government regulation, federal oversight and compliance is a huge buzz kill. Innovation is constantly stifled in the name of "Security".

      USAA2019-02-28
    • "Excellent company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Software Developer and Integrator in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      As a private company there are no stock holders around to ruin the company

      Cons

      No cons that you dont find at other companies

      USAA2019-03-09
    Found 90 reviews