Uber "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Uber Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
2,299 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes the app doesn't take me to the right location to pick up the riders(in 376 reviews)

  • "Wear and tear on POV gets expensive(in 328 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Poor Pay no gaurented income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Food Courier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, working outdoors, friendly colleagues. It can be a good environment for introverts to work in.

    Cons

    Can take a lot of time for certain restaurants to prepare food which you don't get paid for and eats into your earning potential. No gaurented hours or pay, you can be out for long periods and not make minimum wage or get to a point where no more deliveries will come your way. Number of deliveries can be very dependant on the time of year, especially in areas with students. Support can be hard to talk to.

    Advice to Management

    Let's gaurantee a living wage for us workers and acknowledge that we are employees of Uber in all but name only and deserve the same rights therein.

    Uber2019-11-15
  2. "Hard work, inconsistent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Uber Eats Rider in York, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good exercise - keeps you fit. Possible to earn over £100 a day, especially in winter

    Cons

    Too many riders, quiet days can mean barely scraping £5/hour - well under minimum wage, but as far as Uber are concerned you're self employed so that's your problem

    Uber2019-10-24
  3. "Dont bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Uber Driver in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    None, you have the freedom to work when you want but you dont make anything

    Cons

    Lucky to make minimum wage Too many uber drivers Very Unsociable hours Rude aggressive drunk customers Too many overheads

    Uber2019-04-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "THE WORST COMPANY TO WORK FOR.....LITERALLY MODERN-DAY SLAVERY!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Driver in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility is the only thing I can think of. You get to meet some interesting people.

    Cons

    You earn below minimum wage. You will spend at 12 hours on the roads to make any form of decent money. The company does not care about you in any way. The riders will treat you like you like an empty vessel without a brain because of the reputation of the job as very low paid so why would any one do it. No bonuses or promotions because of the lack of competition. You can get blocked off the app without any... warnings. Loads of drunk people especially at nights potentially might vomit in your car. Its literally the worst job you can have.

    Show More
    Uber2018-09-03
  5. "No hourly pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    work when you want, where you want. it's easy to use the app, and really has no hassle...

    Cons

    they recently removed hourly pay in a bid to introduce "boost" which gives a multiplier on your fare in certain busier areas. yet I have been online for 5hours, and received only 1 order giving me £4.91, which means I have worked for £0.98 per hour whereas the minimum wage for my age (18-20) is £5.60, that's a huge gap. I don't think I'll be working with ubereats again unless they reimburse my pay and reintroduce... hourly wages.

    Show More
    Uber2017-05-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Driver in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber

    Pros

    Nothing good anymore in this job

    Cons

    You have to work under minimum wage with your own car, fuel and insurance

    Uber2017-02-23
  7. "okay side job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Driver in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    a fun way to learn city roads, and people.

    Cons

    Bad pay. pretty much minimum wage for drivers

    Uber2019-11-15
  8. "Uber driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toro
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a good side job

    Cons

    Minimum wage, bad customers, low benefits

    Advice to Management

    Don’t have any advice since

    Uber2019-09-23
  9. "UBEREATS Might be decent as a side job for extra cash. Wouldn’t suggest relying on this job to make a living."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber

    Pros

    You can start and stop working whenever you want. Being able to get cash everyday with instant pay and the work is simple.

    Cons

    Very low pay below minimum wage a lot of times. Even before you take out gas. Not even including mileage on vehicle or insurance. Driver support/ customer service is horrible. Never once had any of my questions/dilemmas answered or took care of. Seems like the messaging support is computerized response.

    Advice to Management

    Give drivers a higher percentage of the jobs to get paid less then minimum wage regularly isn’t right . Do something about the terrible driver support

    Uber2019-10-03
  10. "false advertisement on pay structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Uber

    Pros

    drive; travel; be your own boss

    Cons

    after all expenses and taxes you will make barely minimum wage, though they say make up to 35 and hour.

    Uber2019-10-21
Found 173 reviews
</>Embed