Uline Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Uline Reviews

Updated 31 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Uline CEO Dick Uihlein
Dick Uihlein
336 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Photographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Portrait Photographer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Article & Art designer photo

    Cons

    New ideas & pictures international

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-03-29
  2. "Good company. Good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time

    Pros

    Great bonuses and people. Coworkers are awesome here.

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward movement

    Uline2020-03-18
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Communication Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They're committed to making money, which pays employees well. Excellent job security, especially since they never close, even when it endangers their employees.

    Cons

    The communication within the organization is terrible. Any messages to employees are far and few between. What is communicated gets censored by the Creative department. Their messages are not informative or genuine. The company forces managers to spin information the same way to their employees to try to justify any absurd policy decisions. Their response to coronavirus was non-existent. Without listening to and acting on the grumblings of their "family" of employees (i.e. work from home options, dress code, flexibility, reducing the audit culture, etc), they will find themselves with all of the inventory and none of the people to make their business successful.

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-03-17
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Putting employee's lives in danger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great. When there's not a pandemic, they're a great company to work for. There is some micro-managing, but it's tolerable.

    Cons

    There has been very minimal communication with employees in regards to an action plan for the coronavirus outbreak and how they plan to deal with it...with the exception of reminding us to wash our hands frequently. Our cubicles are on top of each other, so there is no way to practice social distancing. We've been told that we will be informed if someone within the branch is diagnosed with COVID-19, but employees are calling out sick left and right or leaving mid-day with COVID-19 symptoms, but none of them can get tested due to a lack of tests available. So I guess it will take someone dying from this before the company acts. No one in management is taking the outbreak seriously. We have been begging to be able to work from home. We were told over a week ago that they had a plan in place for us to be able to work from home, but we were told this Friday that they won't allow it since it isn't a "perfect" solution and that when it is working "perfectly", they will only use it as a last resort. Our competitors (Global Industrial and Webstaurant) are allowing employees to work from home. The president of the company sent a letter to her congressmen asking how long this government shut down will take because it's a "disruption". She also compares the virus to the flu saying the flu is worse. You can read her comments by googling"Capitol Fax Uihlein" (Glassdoor doesn't allow links in their reviews) and view the story from March 13th. Meanwhile, her employees are endangering their lives and their loved-one's lives so that she can keep a watchful eye over everyone and make a buck.

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-03-22
  5. "I liked the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Uline full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    a little disorder in the interview process, but they are friendly.

    Uline2020-03-13
  6. "Good company but lots of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profit sharing, good insurance,

    Cons

    Lots of work, constantly being put down, manages bathroom and coffee time.

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-03-25
  7. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Kenosha, WI

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy peasy and very cheesy

    Cons

    Pays too much and have to walk

    Uline2020-03-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "micro management w/ good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, no weekend work, overtime. bonuses, yearly pay increase

    Cons

    micro management, strong dress code, metrics, they work you like a horse and let you go for fresh ones.

    Uline2020-03-15
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Top management really does care about you. Food is amazing in the cafe. Free massages, fitness center and personal trainer available. Training is really good. Beautiful office. Not just stuffy white walls. Bonuses are awesome. The cons are out weighed by all these pros

    Cons

    Business professional Dress code, can only have 5 personal items on your desk, strict 8-5 hours, clock in and clock out even for salary employees.

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-01-23

    Uline Response

    February 27, 2020

    We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your time with Uline and appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Looks good at beginning; scratch the surface and it’s a nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Uline

    Pros

    - salaried sales positions - fair monthly allowances for car/phone/ internet

    Cons

    - Poor management - profit sharing bonus shrinks yearly despite growth - micromanagement stunts success - Race, Gender, & Looks dictate your success more than anything

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-03-31
Found 549 reviews