Uline Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Uline Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Uline CEO Dick Uihlein
Dick Uihlein
314 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The dress code is a little strict but nothing hard or unreasonable to comply with(in 83 reviews)

  • "silly little things that the big boss doesn't personally like, micro management, super corporate culture(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uline truly hires the best people from the top down. Managers are very competent and well-equipped to let their teams succeed. High level of career stability considering the overall company growth and the individual development opportunities offered. The benefits are great. Profit-sharing bonus, pay, PTO, and fringe benefits like the cafe and fitness center. A very collaborative and team-driven environment. Facilities are amazing - beautiful and clean.

    Cons

    Antiquated and gender-slanted dress code. Lack of flexibility in terms of working from home. Company processes and decision-making are very dependent and reactive to the opinions upper management, making necessary progressive company change slow to impossible. Lack of sustainability effort, even as simple as recycling.

    Uline2019-10-17
  2. "Great post grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Braselton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, 401k matching, great benefits

    Cons

    Micro managing and the overall stress of a call center

    Uline2019-10-12
  3. "Great, but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay. Management understands that family comes first. The company affords ordinary grunts a LOT of power - I have never felt so empowered at a company before. If you show 'the spark,' they will actively develop you into the person you want to become. There's a corporate culture of integrity and honesty - a couple long-time employees who don't get it consistently get socked in the face as a result. Bravery is encouraged.

    Cons

    Oi, with the cubes already and the ties and the sexist dress code, already. I'm not sure I'd want to work for the company if I were a young woman looking to start a family on account of a restrictive maternity leave policy. PTO is a little skimpy. The little details can be frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-10-11
  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Sales Manager in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had a rewarding experience at uline. The people working in my department were fantastic and the facilities were great.

    Cons

    large organization and can get lost in the red tape.

    Uline2019-10-09
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Hope to be here another 7 years, plus some!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leadership is always approachable and I feel my opinions and insights are considered and respected. Management is supportive of my goals and encourages personal and professional development. I feel challenged to do my best each and every day, and am encouraged to go outside of my comfort zone to grow and learn new skills. Salary and benefits are competitive, and the company is very generous with bonuses and extra "perks." I enjoy the satisfaction of working hard to achieve my goals, and the company culture creates the perfect atmosphere for ambition and motivation to thrive. Work is fast-paced and impactful, and I've built meaningful relationships with many of my co-workers in the time I've been here. Uline has high expectations of their employees, which I can appreciate because I have high expectations of my employer.

    Cons

    Everyone mentions the dress code - it's never bothered me. You get used to it, just like any other company uniform. Transparency/communication in certain aspects of the company could improve - sharing the "why" behind some rules, processes, decisions, etc.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-09-05
  6. "All around worth it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Braselton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay, good benefits and daily workout.

    Cons

    No complaints worth listing at this time.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-09-29
  7. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Pleasant Pr, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Co workers are willing to help and management seems to care about employee professional growth. - Pretty good opportunities to explore new technology...but implementing it will be a hard sell but management seems more and more open to it. - Career paths are well layed out.

    Cons

    - Absolutely no work from home option. - Low paid time off (not "generous" like stated in job postings) starting for a developer is 16 days (YOU MUST TAKE PTO WHEN SICK) - No sick days (explained above) - No options in terms of what keyboard/mouse/screens/laptop to use. - The chairs are the worst chairs ever and you need a formal doctors note to get a chair that has arms... - Strict dress code, shirt and tie for men. Not too familiar with womens dress but people complain about it being very strict.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-10-11
  8. "Good company, decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bonus, a lot of employee events, nice people.

    Cons

    Busy work, micro managing, they keep track of all metrics and have high expectations. The days get very repetitive and long.

    Uline2019-10-08
  9. "Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Buford, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Awesome benefits Excellent training

    Cons

    Terrible dress code - women must wear dresses and tights Micromanage Owners love Donald trump and they let you know Political Ga office like high school (there was a rumor that I was racist)

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-10-17
  10. "It’s like selling your soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Holidays off and no weekends.

    Cons

    You will be micromanaged to a nervous breakdown. They will come in and take pictures of your desks and drawers when you aren’t there, trying to catch you doing something bad. No personal items allowed on desks. The mistrust is something never experienced until now. The dress code is from the 1960s.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-10-12
Found 517 reviews