Uline Employee Reviews about "great pay"

Updated 15 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Uline CEO Dick Uihlein
Dick Uihlein
359 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Strict dress code (especially for women)(in 92 reviews)

  • "micro management, strong dress code, metrics, they work you like a horse and let you go for fresh ones(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "micro management w/ good pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, no weekend work, overtime. bonuses, yearly pay increase

    Cons

    micro management, strong dress code, metrics, they work you like a horse and let you go for fresh ones.

    Uline2020-03-15
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Horrible experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Pleasant Pr, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay if you can get past the cult-like culture. Great place to work if you want to be a “yes man” or “puppet” and have all of your decisions and ideas second guessed.

    Cons

    There is a lack of trust with employees at all levels of the organization. This is clearly seen through the existence of their "Executive Operations" team. This team of executives are on perpetual "witch-hunt" to nitpick people’s decision and any minor flaw in a person’s actions or abilities. They make themselves relevant to the owners by taking credit for the ideas and work of others. Rather than allowing people to learn from their mistakes, individuals are put on a “list” if they make a small mistake. This mindset creates a toxic and hostile work environment bred by fear and force, thus hindering creativity and the ability to grow. There is way too much emphasis on writing styles, instead of focusing on a person’s true skillset and experience. They also rate you based on how many average hours are worked per week, rather than your ability to be efficient and get things done. Executive Leadership thinks this is how organizations operate because they have not worked anywhere else and now are too short-sighted to realize it. This organization is averse to change, and they will tell you the exact opposite during the hiring process. I was brought on to help implement a new system, but their resistance to change made it impossible. The Executive Ops team opposes everything because they are scared the owner will blame them for something. They keep their old customized and decrepit systems around instead of upgrading to modernized systems that would make them more efficient (10 years behind). Then keep hiring more people to support the old systems, pretty soon those people won’t exist. So they’ve become inefficient and wasteful as an organization. Another example of this is their catalogs...they would rather waste millions on paper catalogs than to invest heavily into their on-line presence (guess Amazon has it all wrong). Other Cons: Lack of flexibility (work from home is not an option) Everyone punches a clock, even exempt employees. (Strange) The dress code is a thing of the past. We are now in 2020! Wasteful - they do not recycle anything, and print way too much. High turn-over rates, despite what they tell you. Watch out for the Exec Ops team, they are not your friends. Growth opportunities for some roles do not exist. There are not common goals or shared objectives. Leadership works against each other and will throw others under the bus to elevate their standing to the owners.

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-02-20
  3. "Great job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouser in Braselton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay great bonuses friendly people

    Cons

    Micro managing. No other cons

    Uline2020-01-21
  4. "For self motivated hard working individuals"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Milton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, good growth, always busy

    Cons

    Needs more staff to balance work life

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-01-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Great family atmosphere

    Cons

    Uline is a great place to work

    Uline2019-11-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales rep"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great to their employees, competitive pay, great sales team

    Cons

    Old fashioned, boring office space

    Uline2019-09-02
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Steer clear"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great bonus, good benefits

    Cons

    Poor management, long hours, PTO constantly being denied, physically demanding

    Uline2019-04-16

    Uline Response

    May 1, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your current tenure at Uline. When employees feel frustrated, we strongly encourage them to discuss their concerns with HR or supervisors. We want to use your experience to help us do better.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Uline hires great people and cares about it's employees. Leadership is expected to be mentors and coaches rather than just managers. Great pay Clean environment Friendly HR Good benefits High personal standards

    Cons

    Day shift warehouse hours are very late in the day.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-02-24
  9. Helpful (38)

    "Don't Come to Uline and Expect to Make a Difference."

    2.0
    Former Employee - Manager in Pleasant Prairie, WI

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great pay. -Outstanding benefits package. -Beautiful campus - walking paths, gym on site, amazing subsidized cafe, cleaner than you can imagine and well-lit.

    Cons

    -Extreme micro-management at every level. -Creativity is not valued. -No opportunity to make things better, the president absolutely does not want processes to be improved. -Clocking in and out and required 10+ hour days. Holidays and PTO count as 8 hours, so those extra 2 hours must be made up to keep your average at 10 hours/day. -Politics at every turn - both the owners' politics being shoved down your throat in meetings and internal politics within the company.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-10-04

    Uline Response

    October 29, 2018

    We’re disappointed to hear about your experience at our company. While we don’t shy away from our high standards to meet our growing demand and customers’ needs, we take pride in providing various professional development opportunities to help our management and employee teams thrive together. We credit our collaborative and hands on work environment with evolving our company from a business run out of a basement into a billion dollar brand. We recognize that our employees come from diverse backgrounds, and believe that all employees have the right to express their individual beliefs in ways that are important to them —without fear of recourse. In fact, we believe a diverse workforce is necessary to grow and maintain our brand. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "customer service"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Uline full-time

    Pros

    decent pay, great bonus, some nice people

    Cons

    this company is micro managed to the maximum.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-11-14
Found 56 reviews