Uline Employee Reviews about "micro management"

Updated 15 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Uline CEO Dick Uihlein
Dick Uihlein
359 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Strict dress code (especially for women)(in 92 reviews)

  • "micro management, strong dress code, metrics, they work you like a horse and let you go for fresh ones(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "micro management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "micro management w/ good pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, no weekend work, overtime. bonuses, yearly pay increase

    Cons

    micro management, strong dress code, metrics, they work you like a horse and let you go for fresh ones.

    Uline2020-03-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Managed a territory of accounts."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Uline full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn and develop my sales skills.

    Cons

    Too much Micro Management and not enough trust.

    Uline2020-01-03
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Great perks but very strict"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Allentown, PA

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and profit sharing bonus, generous PTO, clean and safe environment

    Cons

    Very strict and old fashioned dress code, extremely micro-managed, unable to use PTO unless requested very far in advance and no flexibility due to low staffing

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-05-30
  4. Helpful (22)

    "BE PREPARED TO SELL YOUR SOUL AND LOSE INDIVIDUALITY"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Milton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great competitive salary benefits and RSP and yearly bonuses.

    Cons

    I would give it 0 stars if that was an option... If I could describe Uline in one word, the word 'Cult' comes to mind instantly. THERE WAY OR NO WAY!!! Ran by a bunch of rejects that probably settled with the fact that they'll be nothing more but Warehouse know-it-alls. Micro managed to the most deadliest degrees... Some examples are : how to "properly" highlight, tucking in your sweater, how to "properly" bend over to pick up a box...these things are NOT said in a helpful way, but in a way where you will actually get in trouble. Along with the micro managing, managers picking favourites and gossiping. Very strict dress code. NO tattoos shown. Facial hair is frowned upon, forced overtime, and labour laws are not followed.... the list goes on and on. 90% of the employees are very unhappy and they all talk about how seriously depressed they are to each other. (They cheered for me when I told them I was leaving, lol). Uline preaches family and teamwork but it is indeed the opposite of that. Co-workers are forced to inform on each other, instead of help each other. Where is the teamwork in that!?! All in all Uline is a very very very very strict company and they like to control the people that work for them by telling them what to do, how to do it, and when to do it. They constantly CONDESCEND, BELITTLE, and PUT YOU DOWN for the most minuscule things, they make every one feel bad. If you want to feel stupid then this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-01-26

    Uline Response

    January 31, 2019

    We’re disappointed to hear about your negative experience at our company. At Uline, we always say the details matter. Our dress and protocol are specifically designed to support your success. Our standards for excellence are high, and we know that working in the warehouse can be challenging. We continue to be humbled by our employee’s commitment to serving our customers. As an employer of choice for over 6,100 team members, we always try to help our employees develop professionally, and that starts with a structured work environment. We’ve worked hard to develop a comprehensive orientation program, numerous management training programs and have an open-door policy that we think give employees channels for open communication, and help set them on a great path to success. Thank you for sharing your input.

  5. Helpful (38)

    "Don't Come to Uline and Expect to Make a Difference."

    2.0
    Former Employee - Manager in Pleasant Prairie, WI

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great pay. -Outstanding benefits package. -Beautiful campus - walking paths, gym on site, amazing subsidized cafe, cleaner than you can imagine and well-lit.

    Cons

    -Extreme micro-management at every level. -Creativity is not valued. -No opportunity to make things better, the president absolutely does not want processes to be improved. -Clocking in and out and required 10+ hour days. Holidays and PTO count as 8 hours, so those extra 2 hours must be made up to keep your average at 10 hours/day. -Politics at every turn - both the owners' politics being shoved down your throat in meetings and internal politics within the company.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-10-04

    Uline Response

    October 29, 2018

    We’re disappointed to hear about your experience at our company. While we don’t shy away from our high standards to meet our growing demand and customers’ needs, we take pride in providing various professional development opportunities to help our management and employee teams thrive together. We credit our collaborative and hands on work environment with evolving our company from a business run out of a basement into a billion dollar brand. We recognize that our employees come from diverse backgrounds, and believe that all employees have the right to express their individual beliefs in ways that are important to them —without fear of recourse. In fact, we believe a diverse workforce is necessary to grow and maintain our brand. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "customer service"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Uline full-time

    Pros

    decent pay, great bonus, some nice people

    Cons

    this company is micro managed to the maximum.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-11-14
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Buford, GA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great starting salary for you g college grads and good benefits

    Cons

    Everything else. Antiquated dress code. Micro management. Managers have favorites. Mean staff that likes to gossip and start rumors. Hr Is terrifying. CEO pushes political beliefs on staff. Sexist.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-10-01

    Uline Response

    October 29, 2018

    We’re disappointed you had unhappy tenure at Uline. As an employer of choice for more than 6,000 employees, Uline team members come to us from a wide range of interests, backgrounds and experiences. Though we all may have different points of view, we believe that freedom of thought and choice is something we want to promote among all employees. We have strong Midwestern values and our employees understand it is this tradition that has brought us much success and continues to. That is also why we offer outsized perks, such as competitive salaries, a robust wellness program, and a full social events calendar. It’s all because we truly do appreciate you! Thank you for sharing your experiences.

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Plenty of good and bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Buyer in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits including a gym with access to a free personal trainer, full cafe on-site with great food at good prices, access to a salon and masseuse on-site. Solid, fast-paced and private company that is rapidly growing. Great pay for what the job entails. Most employees are great people. They are hard working, detailed, and strong employees.

    Cons

    High micro-management environment where every single thing you do is analyzed and scrutinized. Lack of ability to make autonomous decisions without multiple tiers of management for the simplest of tasks. In ability to drive your own processes for improvement or make sounds decisions out of the status quo. Lack of good managers who know how to lead, be change agents or have an appropriate level of emotional intelligence. Even though it has gotten better in terms of hiring from within, slow to move at growing and encouraging employees to flourish. This company wants to do what they have been doing for 30 years. Typical statement I hear a lot, "if it isn't broke, why fix it?" mentality. Culture is to pit other departments against each other due to senior executive management style. Lack of communication across departments or trust to work as a team.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-05-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Picker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time

    Pros

    good hourly pay to start great benefits and medical coverage bonus at the end of the year makes everything almost worth it

    Cons

    terrible working schedule. 10:30 to 7pm way too much micro-management Errors, you can't be human, you have to be a robot and be almost perfect

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-04-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good money, nice people

    Cons

    silly little things that the big boss doesn't personally like, micro management, super corporate culture.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-03-29
Found 39 reviews