Ulmer & Berne Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ulmer & Berne Reviews

Updated 29 Apr 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Ulmer & Berne Managing Partner Kip Reader (no image)
Kip Reader
6 Ratings
  1. "Strong firm with excellent lawyers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulmer & Berne full-time

    Pros

    stable environment, supportive management, ethical lawyers

    Cons

    slow to change and slow to modernize

    Ulmer & Berne2018-04-29
  2. "Solid firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice people, overall good atmosphere.

    Cons

    Communication often gets lost in the shuffle

    Ulmer & Berne2018-02-23
  3. "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne full-time

    Pros

    Lots of good people. Pleasant work environment. Fair pay for the work done.

    Cons

    Different practice groups and offices are "silo"d and overly territorial. The division between equity and non-equity partners is so vast as to make the latter title virtually meaningless.

    Ulmer & Berne2018-01-18
  4. "No Loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne full-time

    Pros

    Used to be a nice place to work but the changes they made make this firm no longer a place to work or a firm I want handling my legal business, which was also on a very long-term basis.

    Cons

    Changes will consume this formerly nice firm. No loyalty to long-time employees or long-time clients. They forget who got them where they are today.

    Continue reading
    Ulmer & Berne2017-06-15
  5. "Document Review Attorney Positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Document Review Attorney in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to work remotely from home.

    Cons

    No benefits. Contract work can be erratic.

    Ulmer & Berne2017-02-10
  6. "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people. Strong financial services litigation practice model.

    Cons

    Traditional law firm model, strong litigation practice

    Ulmer & Berne2017-02-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Law Clerk 

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne

    Pros

    Excellent lawyers who taught me a lot during my 11 months of work.

    Cons

    The office did not offer positions for young attorneys.

    Ulmer & Berne2016-12-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Litigation Paralegal in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Everyone is friendly.

    Cons

    You need to be part of the "good ole boy" system to get ahead

    Continue reading
    Ulmer & Berne2016-09-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulmer & Berne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    fun people on the admin staff who genuinely get along! some great talent & great benefits all around.

    Cons

    staffing cuts and the typical sneakiness of companies nowadays who try to convince you they are there FOR you...but it's a business and bottom line is that if you are not "in" then you will eventually be "out" -- a few real stuffy egos are partners, too. seriously, who has a history of clanging his spoon on his coffee mug to get his secretary to come refill his cup? wow. that was a few years back, but we all laughed about him...ego. get over yourself.

    Ulmer & Berne2016-02-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Proceed with Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Ulmer & Berne

    Pros

    Generally good people to work with and good work environment.

    Cons

    Going through major changes. Will be a lot of upheaval between now and 2016.

    Ulmer & Berne2015-08-11
Found 17 reviews