Ulster Bank "flexible working" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ulster Bank Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated 4 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Ulster Bank CEO Jim Brown
Jim Brown
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor senior management engagement(in 7 reviews)

  • "They talk about flexible working arrangements but it completely depends who your boss is whether you actually get them or not(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulster Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked with great colleagues in a busy team and department. I enjoyed the fixed hours and holiday allowance. The staff benefits were excellent e.g. pension, healthcare, mortgage. There was flexible working including remote working from home. Some roles are flexible working hours too.

    Cons

    When I first started working in the bank there were many layers of management and over the years these were reduced. This had a negative impact as many people had been in their roles for 5 years or more with no opportunity for career progression. If new posts came up they preferred to recruit externally than promote internally. I left as there were increasing restructures which also meant fatigue and low morale in the organisation.

    Continue reading
    Ulster Bank2019-07-27
  2. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Analyst 

    I worked at Ulster Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    The central location Lots of Opportunity

    Cons

    Not very flexible working environment

    Ulster Bank2019-08-31
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulster Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working times. Nice place to work

    Cons

    Insecurity. Potential redundancy. Sometimes very busy

    Continue reading
    Ulster Bank2019-06-01
  4. "Customer service associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Ulster Bank

    Pros

    Flexible working hours

    Cons

    No opportunities to progress

    Ulster Bank2019-05-01
  5. "Don't even apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Executive in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulster Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most people are friendly but it's clear they are in it for themselves. Promotions clearly favour whoever are mates with senior management and its seems at last people are leaving because of it.

    Cons

    Mates club, poor salary ranges, poor attitude from senior staff who have a firewall between them and the lower staff who do all the work. Serious legacy issues yet to be found and constant downer caused by staff long since left and attitude is put up or shut up. Also they go on about flexible working and helping parents but it all smoke and mirrors. Senior managers in our team take days working from home but then say they can't let anyone else do it without a rational reason

    Continue reading
    Ulster Bank2017-03-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great companions, overbearing Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSO in Stranmillis, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulster Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Processes organised, Efficient processes, lean methodology employed to maximise efficiency, Canteen on site was excellent, staff friendly and cheaply priced

    Cons

    No flexible working arrangements, Management overbearing, Teams micromanaged. Senior management not willing to listen to advice from staff. Blame culture as well when things went wrong. Every minute of the day was to be accounted for via tracking software

    Continue reading
    Ulster Bank2015-04-15
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Marketing and Sponsorship Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at Ulster Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, good progression opportunities and compensated with time in lieu for overtime

    Cons

    Hierarchical atmosphere with some senior management

    Ulster Bank2020-03-04
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulster Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits , flexible working pattern

    Cons

    Long hours, large range of responsibilities

    Continue reading
    Ulster Bank2020-01-30
  9. "Flexible working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulster Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working and remote working Discounted insurance through RBS

    Cons

    Poor senior management engagement

    Ulster Bank2019-09-10
  10. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resolution Assessment Agent 

    I worked at Ulster Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training programmes. Very good working environment, colleagues and peers willing to help each other. Flexible working programme.

    Cons

    Some systems and databases are outdated

    Ulster Bank2019-09-09
Found 18 reviews