Ultra Electronics Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ultra Electronics Chief Executive Officer  Simon Pryce
Simon Pryce
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Always supportive, great people to work with, great products and enthusiasm(in 19 reviews)

  • "A clean work environment, great health insurance(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management act like school bullies, zero clue on how their short sightedness impacts everyone else(in 36 reviews)

  • "Constant source of stress from upper management(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brimming with Opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Loudwater, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultra Electronics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is an exciting time at Ultra at the moment, with Simon Pryce (the CEO who took over in Jun 2018) working to consolidate Ultra from its previously disparate structure (25+ separate, independently run, P&Ls) to a more consolidated business with a core set of product lines. If you practice effective self-management a, you can rapidly accelerate your career by joining Ultra. The company is always looking for emerging talent to take on new challenges and will push you to your limits. The key to a successful career at Ultra is understanding where your limits are and being able to recognise when taking on 'just one more thing' will cause you to fail. The key highlights are: - Salaries are average and can be great if you negotiate your job grading - The annual salary review process and the promotion process are both fair and well-explained - Rapid career progression is possible, with opportunities aplenty below director level - Plenty of opportunities to work with exciting hardware. - Even at junior levels, there will be few layers between you and the customer (typically just the Lead Engineer and a Project Manager), so you will get plenty of customer exposure. - You will have the chance to see the inner workings of some of the Royal Navy's platforms. - There is a real level of agility at project-level rather than mindless adherence to processes. - Most people in the business are extremely helpful and will work through any issues without things devolving into conflict. - Flexible working and home working are now becoming realistic options thanks to recent changes in working practices.

    Cons

    As with any company, Ultra doesn't do everything well. Some of the areas it is weaker in include: - Training budgets are limited compared to the rest of the high tech defence and aerospace sector, even employees identified as high potential or top talent struggle to access meaningful levels of training funding. - Benefits are all 'pay as you go,' there is nothing over and above the base salary baked into any package below Director level. - Low expectations of performance amongst front-line/junior managers. - One of the primary drivers of the bonus is whether customers pay their invoices on time, something which most staff have little influence over. - Facilities are so poorly maintained and located that it is embarrassing, especially when showing customers around. Ultra certainly isn't for everyone, but for hard-working and dedicated professionals who can manage their career and push themselves hard, the pros significantly outweigh the cons.

    Continue reading

    Ultra Electronics Response

    June 8, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your very well thought out review! We appreciate the time you put into it and believe it is very accurate. Rest assured, our CHRO will see the HR agenda through, despite challenges that have required HR to focus on Covid-19 issues.

  2. "Goods and bads"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Wimborne Minster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ultra Electronics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Majority of the people are lovely to work with, benefits, holiday, bonus, parking

    Cons

    Very out dated computer systems. Lack of communication.

    Continue reading

    Ultra Electronics Response

    June 24, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thanks for the honest review of our goods and bads! There is a big project right now to update all the technology, which should make a huge difference.

  3. "4 stars"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ultra Electronics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They care for their employees

    Cons

    Outdated tech, Generally poor pay compared to central Manchester

    Ultra Electronics Response

    June 24, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you noticed how much we value our employees. There is a project in the works to update all the technology, which should make a huge difference.

  4. "Great Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Firmware Engineer in Greenford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultra Electronics full-time

    Pros

    High Motivation and very dynamic

    Cons

    Difficult to recruit due to London Location

  5. "Excellent people, slow industry"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ultra Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Excellent down to earth employees and management.

    Cons

    Aerospace can be a slow industry to work in.

    Ultra Electronics Response

    June 8, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate your time spent as an intern and hope you will think of us when you graduate.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Weak management, bullying culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ultra Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good, salary not too bad

    Cons

    Senior management act like school bullies, zero clue on how their short sightedness impacts everyone else. Unable to approach under the fear of being ridiculed. Unwilling to hear or act on continuous improvement ideas. Have zero idea on how they're the cause of a very negative working environment. Management will go to different people within a group until they get the answer they want, or just do what they want, blaming everyone else when their idea causes problems.

    Continue reading

    Ultra Electronics Response

    June 29, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate all forms of employee feedback and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve the employee experience. We read your review with great concern. I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback. I hope that with the changes coming to Ultra throughout 2020, your confidence in management is restored.

  7. "Good Company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Engineer in Cheltenham, England

    I have been working at Ultra Electronics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training and investment into employees

    Cons

    Better internal organisation would be good, less bureaucracy.

    Ultra Electronics Response

    June 8, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your review! Just wait until you see the changes that are in store for the rest of the year!

  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Author in Stafford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ultra Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Always supportive, great people to work with, great products and enthusiasm. Highly recommended. Flexible approach to modern day work/life balance.

    Cons

    I have no negative points to raise.

    Continue reading

    Ultra Electronics Response

    April 28, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thanks for the great review! We love our people, too!

  9. "Good place to worl"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Greenford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ultra Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work wirj

    Cons

    Parking is a serious issue

    Ultra Electronics Response

    April 13, 2020Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your review! We agree, there are some great people to work with at Ultra.

  10. "Good Business, provides training and developnent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Greenford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ultra Electronics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunities for training and upskilling - Lively office, friendly people and environment - flexi time and half day fridays - Opportunities to advance in the business due to employee demographics - Graduates have good opportunities to try placements in different parts of business

    Cons

    - Confusing direction of business/wider group - Processes between different sites of the same business are different let alone between groups - Business structure, hierarchy and accountability also uneccesarily complicated and confusing - HR department generally slow, unhelpful and new starter experience lacking key information and disorganised

    Continue reading
Found 343 reviews