Ultra Electronics Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 451 of over 468 reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Ultra Electronics Chief Executive Officer  Simon Pryce
Simon Pryce
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working on projects that matter with great people(in 21 reviews)

  • "I love the flexible hours and the work environment at the office(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management act like school bullies, zero clue on how their short sightedness impacts everyone else(in 36 reviews)

  • "Poor upper management 'empire' not valuing staff or paying for role promotions, causing a 'revolving door' i(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Ultra has transformed into an amazing company with great tech.

      Sep 16, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A fantastic, fully inclusive and flexible work environment. Dynamic senior leadership team who are personable and listen to and care about the employees. Ultra has really stepped up in recent years. Strategy is clear, investment in people is strong with positive encouragement to learning, development and career planning. Competitive benefits and diversity encouraged. Great company, some really exciting clever tech. and strong growth.

      Cons

      Strong growth and shortage of candidates

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Enjoy

      Jul 28, 2021 - Receptionist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good location - moving soon. Good people

      Cons

      Lack of parking facilities causes issues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Hi, there, thank you for leaving a review! We hope the parking situation will change with the move!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Dynamic, Agile company with good career opportinities

      Jul 4, 2021 - Capability Manager in Loudwater, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Agile, progressive, good pay and career opportunities

      Cons

      Not transparent; lumbering HR; lingering blame culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thanks for leaving a review. We are glad you see us as progressive, with good pay and career opportunities. We believe the company has become much more transparent - hope you will see the changes soon, too.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic place to work

      Jun 25, 2021 - Graduate Engineer in Rugeley, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive team with lot of industry experience who are willing to help whenever needed. Excellent mentor scheme that helps with developing skills in a more personal and tailored environment. Any training required is easy to arrange and the process is not surrounded by red tape. Plenty of opportunities for continued professional improvement. Brilliant social atmosphere in office, everybody gets along and is happy to chip in.

      Cons

      Parking can sometimes be difficult if arriving after 8:30.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a great review! Glad you are enjoying it here.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Could be worse

      Jul 7, 2021 - Production Manager in Wimborne Minster, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed environment and some good people

      Cons

      Some good Senior managers and some incredibly poor ones

      1 person found this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for leaving this review. We hope you will see some significant changes this year in terms of poor managers.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very poor

      Jul 22, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very boring work and the management team have zero intellect.

      Cons

      Low pay, boring work, The management team lacks skill or morals.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      So sorry for your bad experience! If we knew what location you are in, we could research your concerns more fully.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company

      Jun 29, 2021 - Technician in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pension, Salary Sacrifice Scheme, Steady Job

      Cons

      Pay on the low side for industry average

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thanks for leaving a review! We are glad you are here.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work but not perfect

      Jun 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Wimborne Minster, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexi-time Good working atmosphere and great employees, Great work-life balance SMT are approachable Interesting projects Good opportunities for future work Improving processes Continuous Improvement culture is strong and growing

      Cons

      Too many re-organisations which are often shortsighted. Some SMT members are stretched too thin and insist on helping with everything which slows down everything whilst waiting for them. iR&D doesn't appear to be consistently approved & judged. It appears that if SMT have an idea then it'll be approved with less market research & critical judgement than an engineer's idea. Often during reshuffles there is a perceived lack of fairness in how people gain new responsibilities/job titles. Identified during surveys but continues. E.g. Is this the same role or different enough which should require it to be advertised and interviewed? at least internally? The replies to the surveys are often that there is a new process from head office on it's way soon which will fix the issue but that could take years and each business could be more proactive in fixing smaller issues themselves.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thanks for leaving a review! We appreciate the detail that you included. It's very helpful.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Proud to tell people where I work and what I do

      Jun 1, 2021 - FPGA Engineer in Rugeley, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We have a great social/professional balance: I am taken seriously with a good mix of humor. I have recommended friends apply for jobs at Ultra as I have no concerns that they will enjoy their time here. The importance of the products and applications that I work on make me proud of working here and I plan to stay here as long as possible. I feel trusted to make engineering judgements and I enjoy being considered a point of reference for technical issues and tools - I also enjoy answering questions and helping solve problems faced by other engineers. Ultra allows me to push myself and get involved in situations that I can learn from and

      Cons

      I would like to see ultra keep a close eye on technical trends and modern best-practices that are followed by other companies in safety critical industries.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Love this review! How about joining the Talent Acquisition team?

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Ultra Maritime Sonar Systems

      May 28, 2021 - Senior Project Engineer in Greenford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No two days are the same. The work is interesting and challenging. Working within a project team and across functions is a joy due to every bodies buy in to culture and business strategy . Pay is very competitive and the work life balance is spot on. Feel like I make a difference and proud to support our armed forces.

      Cons

      Distance to travel to site but working from home policy helps.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ultra Electronics Response

      Sr Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for leaving a review! It sounds like we are heading in the right direction!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 451 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ultra Electronics Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ultra Electronics? Share Your Experiences

    Ultra Electronics logo
    or