United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

United Airlines Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2792 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
1,058 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 63 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication/care by upper management(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Gen opp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gen Opp in Bicester, England

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not to bad. Could improve

    Cons

    Lots of flying around. And not seeing the world, just hotel rooms

    Advice to Management

    Come on guys give us a bit more time off

    United Airlines2019-08-09
  2. "Good company but no career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Purchasing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team, potential bonuses each 6 months, 7 hrs work + 1 hr break

    Cons

    Lower salary, sometimes unfulfilling work

    United Airlines2019-09-17
  3. "Good Benefits and Great Fellow Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The flight benefits are the best in the industry. Depending on which department you work, you will get quite good perks, like brand new computer (nothing NSA thought) and yearly conventions.

    Cons

    Depending on which department you work, your perks are very restricted, like a long time to get better computer (nothing NSA thought), software, no conventions, etc. Opportunities for growth needs improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye for the hidden talents in your department and give opportunities for the people that want them. Talk openly with your fellow team members.

    United Airlines2019-09-13
  4. "Worked best for your company and my pleasure will always with you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I want to work in your carrier and I hard working to set the goal

    Cons

    Give me better work

    Advice to Management

    No

    United Airlines2019-09-03
  5. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel all over the world.

    Cons

    Working Christmas, Easter etc.

    United Airlines2019-04-03
  6. "A Career That Made My Life and Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Flight Attendant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Met my wife and saw the world

    Cons

    Permanently disabled on the job as verified by radiological data post injury but denied by UAL though impairments from the onboard injury led to my termination 4 weeks prior to full retirement after being denied 4 weeks FMLA for the cervical rehab I was in. 55-year-olds with pre-existing conditions inflicted from work and a WC record in Chicago superior court mean I was wise to buy LTD and not trust my employer.

    Advice to Management

    Ask 24 year career Flight Attendants if early out is of interest. When I hired on it was 10 years and over 50, then 15 years, then 25, then 55, but when you get to bite the carrot watch out for the razors UAL embedded in it. and only accept correspondence via USPS to leverage mail fraud to get true responses.

    United Airlines2019-03-03
  7. "Tempory Ramp Agent 1999-2000"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great induction to the company. The employee package was good at the time I worked there in 1999-2000 with good prospects. You have the chance to swap and change shifts with other workers to add days on to your vacation you book. A friendly company and HR door was always open to any issues I had or just want to talk to someone if it was work related or personal life related. The company gave us a free flight during... the introduction period to experience the service of the company which I thought was a nice gesture. Management was always approachable from Crew chiefs, Ramp service directors and People services department. (HR)

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes during the summer it would get very hectic up there at terminal 3 but I never saw it as a problem. Just have to remain focussed and calm. Pressure is probably not for everyone but I think it is the way you handle it. And with this company, the door is always open to talk about any issues you have.

    United Airlines2018-02-12
  8. "Decent Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay Good Service and Friendly Diverse staff

    Cons

    Tiresome, early mornings and strict

    United Airlines2017-11-26
  9. "Not a good company would recommend air canada or other airlines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    Before meger with united continental airlines was the best and knew how to treart staff

    Cons

    After the merger with continental united dont know how to treat they staff and how to look after them. Management is poor and not friendly at all. Work environment is not good at all. They pick on they staff who they dont like n starts to trouble them and put press by putting them on a report n show that no matter how long you work for the department they staff or that person dont know they job. To be honest i would... say not to work for this company at all

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Manamgement is sooooo poor

    United Airlines2017-12-31
  10. "Good company, with great perks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines

    Pros

    You get to travel alot. Taking family and friends to holiday locations using the flights given by the airline.

    Cons

    Have to work shift patterns. Company could get be demanding asking for alot.

    United Airlines2017-11-21
Found 2792 reviews