United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

United Airlines Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2537 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
979 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 59 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication/care by upper management(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Tempory Ramp Agent 1999-2000"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great induction to the company. The employee package was good at the time I worked there in 1999-2000 with good prospects. You have the chance to swap and change shifts with other workers to add days on to your vacation you book. A friendly company and HR door was always open to any issues I had or just want to talk to someone if it was work related or personal life related. The company gave us a free flight during the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes during the summer it would get very hectic up there at terminal 3 but I never saw it as a problem. Just have to remain focussed and calm. Pressure is probably not for everyone but I think it is the way you handle it. And with this company, the door is always open to talk about any issues you have.

    United Airlines2018-02-12
  2. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel all over the world.

    Cons

    Working Christmas, Easter etc.

    United Airlines2019-04-03
  3. "A Career That Made My Life and Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Flight Attendant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Met my wife and saw the world

    Cons

    Permanently disabled on the job as verified by radiological data post injury but denied by UAL though impairments from the onboard injury led to my termination 4 weeks prior to full retirement after being denied 4 weeks FMLA for the cervical rehab I was in. 55-year-olds with pre-existing conditions inflicted from work and a WC record in Chicago superior court mean I was wise to buy LTD and not trust my employer.

    Advice to Management

    Ask 24 year career Flight Attendants if early out is of interest. When I hired on it was 10 years and over 50, then 15 years, then 25, then 55, but when you get to bite the carrot watch out for the razors UAL embedded in it. and only accept correspondence via USPS to leverage mail fraud to get true responses.

    United Airlines2019-03-03
  4. "Decent Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Airlines part-time

      Pros

      Decent Pay Good Service and Friendly Diverse staff

      Cons

      Tiresome, early mornings and strict

      United Airlines2017-11-26
    • "Not a good company would recommend air canada or other airlines"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at United Airlines

      Pros

      Before meger with united continental airlines was the best and knew how to treart staff

      Cons

      After the merger with continental united dont know how to treat they staff and how to look after them. Management is poor and not friendly at all. Work environment is not good at all. They pick on they staff who they dont like n starts to trouble them and put press by putting them on a report n show that no matter how long you work for the department they staff or that person dont know they job. To be honest i would say...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Manamgement is sooooo poor

      United Airlines2017-12-31
    • "Good company, with great perks."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at United Airlines

      Pros

      You get to travel alot. Taking family and friends to holiday locations using the flights given by the airline.

      Cons

      Have to work shift patterns. Company could get be demanding asking for alot.

      United Airlines2017-11-21
    • "I’m still here after all these years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Decent contract and good routes for standby travel. Coworkers tend to look out for each other.

      Cons

      Can be just a number in bigger bases. In a large company clerical payroll errors do occur.

      Advice to Management

      Remember it is the front line employees who make a success of the company. Passengers spend the most time with the flight attendants of any employee company wide.

      United Airlines2017-10-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "none"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Heathrow, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Airlines full-time

      Pros

      there is nothing good in this place

      Cons

      managrment anf hr there is no surport at all.

      United Airlines2017-03-27
    • "Okay place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lounge Host in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at United Airlines

      Pros

      Nice lounge Some friendly staff

      Cons

      Long hours Staff room is very unclean

      Advice to Management

      Provide transport home for staff working long and late hours

      United Airlines2017-01-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Heathrow, England
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great place to work great flight benefits

      Cons

      Never any flight space as so many older staff members better senority

      United Airlines2016-04-19
    Found 2537 reviews