United Airlines Employee Reviews about "flight attendants"

Updated Nov 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 of over 4,736 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Scott Kirby (no image)
Scott Kirby
697 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight benefits were really great(in 622 reviews)

  • "Great travel benefits for friends & family(in 401 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Employees are still discussing United/Continental merger(in 130 reviews)

  • "Some days have long hours on international flights(in 94 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about United Airlines

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "flight attendants"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      I loved this job and stayed for 10 years!

      Jun 30, 2014 - Flight Attendant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meeting lots of great staff who become friends. Travel opportunities. Lots of days off (for flight attendants and pilots). Good opportunity to meet interesting passenger too. A fun job.

      Cons

      The beginning salary for flight attendants is low (but better than at UK airlines) it increases to a good salary after 5 years of work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible for junior employees, favors time served over talent

      Nov 2, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Union contract, actively hiring, good benefits

      Cons

      It's a pretty terrible place to be a new hire. Senior flight attendants are not incentivized to ever leave the job and can't be due to past age discrimination suits, so no matter how decrepit they are, they stick around and control the company as the top-earners. Senior crewmembers have more say in contract negotiations than the junior employees who will be around for the contract's entire term. Most egregiously, however, is United's reserve system, exploiting junior crewmembers, allowing them no control over their schedules and burning them out quickly, thus causing higher turnover.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Company dynamics

      Oct 6, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive, diverse, forward thinking company that is professional

      Cons

      Reserve as a flight attendant can last 10 plus years.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Find Somewhere Under the Radar

      Oct 14, 2021 - Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive outlook for travel and growth. Strategic decisions to grow by over 400 aircraft means there should be lots of opportunity.

      Cons

      Corporate Support Center employees are always forgotten or purposefully left out of incentives because they are not union-represented. All the time and attention of management goes towards making front-line pilots, flight attendants, and technicians happy. Upward movement is difficult since the majority of roles are already predetermined before the position is officially posted. Internally, hiring managers will offer a "courtesy interview" just to make people feel like they have a chance. Reorganizations are common every 12 to 18 months. Find somewhere that isn't too visible, but still adds value. When a re-org happens, expect that 75% will impact upper management and 25% will impact individual contributor roles.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Retired 7/2020

      Aug 29, 2021 - International Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      United Airlines is the best airline and the union protects EMPLOYEE work regulations for the FAA/DOT. There are many chances for promotions and United has the best employees and staff. I retired in 2020 and I loved my job and wasn’t ready to retire. My family heavily encouraged me, during the COVID outbreak to retire and take the VSP PACKAGE. I pulled the early out package TWICE. My son said retire and get a hobby. He didn’t seem to understand my work was my career and hobby. If I am willing to start again from the bottom, I want to work only for UNITED and will sacrifice my seniority, if necessary. I miss my friends and my identity as a new hire reserve Flight Attendant. through the entire rehiring process if necessary. Take me back!!

      Cons

      The only con would be starting from reserve after 34 years as a Senior flight attendant who is sorry she retired.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Aug 19, 2021 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel for freee No supervisor The pay is pretty good for what we do. Overall I was just a really good experience

      Cons

      None . I really enjoy my time as a flight attendant! I got to go so many places thanks to United

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Better than its been in years.

      Jul 20, 2021 - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Finally a CEO that "gets" it. He isn't a penny pincher and is going to bring this airline back to where it used to be before Smisek ruined it and before the disastrous merger that ruined morale and pitted everyone against each other. Great starting pay. I have no idea what these other flight attendants are reading that makes them think they are "underpaid" when United has one of the highest starting rates of pay in the entire industry, plus the ability to earn above that by picking up on days off.

      Cons

      The biggest downside is the junior flight attendants are extremely unprofessional and lazy. It's really sad that the few months that they gone on furlough, no one missed them. Everyone agreed it was so much better without them because everyone that was at work actually worked. Less drama.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work but covid has damaged experience

      May 28, 2021 - Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Young, smart coworkers - Travel benefits, obviously - Scott Kirby is a genius, and a really good leader - Analysts are entrusted with lot of responsibility - Really good work/life balance

      Cons

      - Salary--while perfectly decent-- is not competitive considering the extremely marketable skillset many have (data analytics) - Travel benefits worth much less during covid- massive loss of value - Senior company leadership (CEO, president, etc.) doesn't care about management employees as much as they do frontline; after last year's furloughs, Scott made a video about how he was dedicating himself to bringing furloughed flight attendants and co. back to work, but brags in Wall Street calls about management head count reductions - Not a lot of room for career growth after a certain point-a lot of managers and directors have been around for a while, and aren't going anywhere soon. UA promotes to fill spots, not to reward hard work

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Flight attendant

      May 3, 2021 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great routes, flexible schedule, good bases, good salary, great benefits.

      Cons

      Not a supportive union, United supervisors still don't like former Continental flight attendants.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Flight Attendant

      Feb 22, 2021 - Flight Attendant in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule when you become a line holder. You can work as much or as little as you want. Good benefits

      Cons

      *The merger(merged 10yrs ago) The 2 flight Attendant work groups still hate Each other. *Reserve life sucks!! * the AFA Union also sucks * if you get injured on the job, it will definitely not be a pleasant situation for you to experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with United Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at United Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    United Airlines logo
    or