United Technologies Program Manager Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
United Technologies President & CEO Gregory J. Hayes
Gregory J. Hayes
1 Rating
  1. "Decent company to work for"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Program Manager 

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits including tuition reimbursement, 401k, vacation

    Cons

    A typical large company with processes and bureaucracy

    United Technologies2019-09-16
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Run. Run away"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Westford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that balance cons.

    Cons

    Management likes to think very highly of themselves. More directors than production employees. Revolving door. Can't hire fast enough to support business plans.

    United Technologies2017-11-15
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Challenging work, impressive people, great opportunities."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Divisions are large companies unto themselves Major projects and products coming to market Lean environment means opportunity for large scopes of responsibility early in career World class education program

    Cons

    Lean and still large makes environment hard to absorb quickly Very little overlap between roles

    United Technologies2016-11-20
  4. "Program Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies

    Pros

    Interesting technology with strong customer base.

    Cons

    Difficulty following internal administrative or operational policies

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2015-09-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Program manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Granby, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Exciting to be oart of such a large aerospace company with so many platforms and products.

    Cons

    Never know when you will get hit with a lay off!

    United Technologies2015-08-03
  6. "Program Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager in Marinette, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Workload keeps you busy all the time, no boredom or staleness. Excellent educational benefit (they pay up front!) and 99% of the people really deeply care about doing the best they can

    Cons

    I hear it depends on the site, but the integration of the new sites into the UTC way is very painful. Also, it's called Update The Charts for a reason....

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2015-07-28
  7. "Great experience, was given many opportunities to advance and did. Able to take advantage of company paid education."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Program Manager in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Technologies for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great management team, flexible work schedule, competitive salary. Employees treated as assets, not an unnecessary expense.

    Cons

    Occasion interdepartmental politics would impede positive progress

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2014-10-20
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Average conglomerate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Westford, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    UTC is a strong company with a well managed portfolio. They have one of the best educational reimbursement programs in the world, which can be a big draw for someone looking to enhance skills. They have reasonably comprehensive benefits. UTC's ACE is a good, middle of the road continuous improvement system that keeps technical performance solid. The company has a pretty good balance in integrating new acquisitions, imposing a few "best practices" like ACE, but letting the companies run themselves for the most part. UTC has a very strong corporate ethics program.

    Cons

    As a publicly traded company, the emphasis is relentlessly on shareholder return. That means strategy and innovation always takes a back seat to quarterly earnings. Long cycle time business opportunities are all but lost. This can be a major shock to acquired companies which have aggressively invested and taken some risks to create a business, only to discover that their days of expanding their business through investment and flexibility are essentially over. Risk averse is an understatement. Compensation is middle of the road. We don't "hire the best because we want to be the best". We hire the average, and hope our best practices level the playing field.

    Continue reading
    United Technologies2014-03-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews