University of Birmingham Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Birmingham Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
University of Birmingham Chancellor Karan Bilimoria
Karan Bilimoria
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons come to mind, I really enjoyed working as a Student Ambassador(in 6 reviews)

  • "Short term contracts are not susceptible to extensions, which sometimes leads works to be left incomplete(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mathematics and Computer Science Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting and engaging work within my subject

    Cons

    Poor timetabling amongst a lot of different subjects, poor help when looking for employment

    Advice to Management

    Sort out key timetabling issues and help more students looking for employment

    University of Birmingham2020-01-15
  2. "Overworked, under paid but great benefits - long holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Administrator in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Long holidays Nice people Great campus Flexible working condition Nice food

    Cons

    Heavy workload Departments overstretched Bullying by Senior Managers Boring jobs Too many roles

    University of Birmingham2020-01-20
  3. "Good pay, interesting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outreach Mentor in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Birmingham part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Flexible hours Support and advice available

    Cons

    Training is vague Sessions depend on the students involved

    University of Birmingham2020-01-04
  4. "Great place to work but slow to adapt and develop."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work life balance -Holidays -Team Culture

    Cons

    -Not much room for development -Hierarchical -Collaboration between departments is poor

    University of Birmingham2019-12-19
  5. "What a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Design Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Birmingham part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - As a student at the University of Birmingham, it is very easy to get a part-time job across campus with excellent pay. - Wonderful culture with people who really care about you. - Flexible: could come in a bit early to finish a bit early!

    Cons

    - Students are only allowed to work 15 hours per week - of course this is to ensure your studies are a priority, but my schedule changed from one week to the next meaning at times I was perfectly capable of doing more than 15 hours per week, yet this was not allowed.

    University of Birmingham2019-12-03
  6. "Exciting, could be better but not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Birmingham, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to impact younger generation

    Cons

    Work hours are more than stated

    Advice to Management

    Compensation could be better. Work environment and amenities could be improved.

    University of Birmingham2019-12-17
  7. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time

    Pros

    People and the teams, fantastic work/life balance and opportunities to get involved and further your career. Lots of scope for getting involved in projects autonomously and wider management great. Location is ideal for commuting.

    Cons

    Few issues moving to a new system.

    University of Birmingham2019-12-02
  8. "Nice environment, continuous development on campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Birmingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good people, good learning opportunities,

    Cons

    job opportunities are very competitive.

    University of Birmingham2019-11-29
  9. "Great for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Fundraiser 

    I have been working at University of Birmingham part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money + nice people

    Cons

    Job is challenging and difficult to get money sometimes

    University of Birmingham2019-11-13
  10. "Wonderful people, flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, great colleagues, relaxed but professional work ethic, great staff development opportunities.

    Cons

    Laboreous IT systems that need a revamp, sometimes makes work harder/take longer than necessary.

    University of Birmingham2019-11-07
Found 277 reviews