University of Birmingham Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Birmingham Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
University of Birmingham CEO Karan Bilimoria
Karan Bilimoria
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons come to mind, I really enjoyed working as a Student Ambassador(in 6 reviews)

  • "Short term contracts are not susceptible to extensions, which sometimes leads works to be left incomplete(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Railway Research department in Europe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student/Teaching Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am an Engineering PhD Researcher at the Railway Research centre of the University of Birmingham. Birmingham is the best research centre in the UK for railway research, with the added benefit of it being in Britain's second largest city and in an industrial area. This gives the University a considerable advantage since there are many other Multi-national corporations/Small businesses in the area to work with.... The Research centre focuses heavily on industrial innovation and thus gets a lot of funding from the industry apart from the academic research body. Training opportunities in BCRRE are great and there is funding available to do various courses and participate in conferences. Has a really good global reputation and excellent infrastructure. Beautiful and smart modern buildings and green spaces are being constructed. There are many groups to get involved in. One of the most modern Health and fitness centres among any university in the UK. New UK Rail Research and Innovation Network building with many new opportunities coming up. Academic teaching/support jobs pay well and add to your salary.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lower pay than in the industry The Railway Research centre is currently focussing more on expansion and business development and the number of staff is disproportionate for the amount to work needed to be done. More staff need to be recruited

    Advice to Management

    Increase employee numbers and divide work responsibility more evenly.

    University of Birmingham2019-10-08
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrator 

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Happy to support your career and help you develop.

    Cons

    Can be short-staffed and not always the most exciting work

    University of Birmingham2019-10-17
  3. "Wouldn’t recommend but depends on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Within External Relations in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Birmingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good but it means people stay too long and far too many incompetent people on cushy salaries.

    Cons

    Manager had no management skills and believed managing was delegating everything to their team of one (myself) as they were too incompetent to do any of it. Senior Managers knew this and allowed it because of favouritism and laziness. Far too many people think getting ahead is not working and doing your job well but getting in front of the directors and senior managers. My experience was that many had been in Higher... Education since Uni and had not been in the private sector, a lot of unprofessional and immature behaviour as a result.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find out what is really happening, not what your told by senior managers.

    University of Birmingham2019-10-06
  4. "Bar assistant at Joe's bar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Assistant 

    I worked at University of Birmingham part-time

    Pros

    Such a friendly group of people who made me feel very welcome

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say

    University of Birmingham2019-09-20
  5. "Brilliant job to have alongside studies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador 

    I worked at University of Birmingham part-time

    Pros

    Fab part time job to have whilst studying, sociable, easy and well paid for a student job, would definitely recommend people apply to work as a Student Ambassador

    Cons

    No cons come to mind, I really enjoyed working as a Student Ambassador

    University of Birmingham2019-09-19
  6. "Great place to do some part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Service Desk Analyst in Birmingham, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Birmingham part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and supportive environment Great managerial team Training was great and the opportunities for learning were big. You could ask anyone for help and they were always ready to assist. The team worked really well. I enjoyed my time there. I worked there for a year.

    Cons

    Don't have many negatives to say about working here

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    University of Birmingham2019-09-10
  7. "Easy atmosphere and happy experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Fellow 

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues and easy research atmosphere

    Cons

    Not easy to get promoted

    University of Birmingham2019-09-24
  8. "Overview of experience applying for a job a Birmingham University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Birmingham

    Pros

    An established University in the centre of Britain.

    Cons

    Complete lack of guidance and contact with prospective employer

    Advice to Management

    Groundef approach and careful consideration of the talent offered by each individual candidate. Gut reactions must be avoided.

    University of Birmingham2019-10-16
  9. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hourly rate of pay

    Cons

    No progression from this position and low recognition of good performance

    University of Birmingham2019-09-15
  10. "Interesting flexible work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Birmingham full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large campus with good sport facilities

    Cons

    There are a lot of barriers to career progression and salary increases

    Advice to Management

    review career prospects for technical staff.

    University of Birmingham2019-09-12
Found 259 reviews