Find jobs for Postdoctoral Fellow

University of Cambridge Postdoctoral Fellow Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Cambridge Vice Chancellor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
4 Ratings
  1. "Good place for life and work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place for life and work

    Cons

    No bad comment at all

    University of Cambridge2019-07-20
  2. "Delivering scientific impact for society"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom of thinking and flexibility

    Cons

    Difficult path to a stable career

    University of Cambridge2020-01-23
  3. "Very good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge potential to learn. Very bright people . Fantastic facilities to do science.

    Cons

    Cambridge is an expensive city to live in

    University of Cambridge2020-01-10
  4. "Cambridge post-doc life"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Academic freedom, intellectual atmosphere, world leading in some subjects

    Cons

    Low salaries, limited office space, not enough exposure to similar level institutions (i.e. Harvard, Berkley, MIT, etc.), too much exposure to third-world countries

    University of Cambridge2019-10-05
  5. "Great place where to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Cambridge

    Pros

    Great people, excellent community and a lot of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Sometimes low work life balance

    University of Cambridge2019-07-16
  6. "Fantastic academic environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic academic environment. Many brilliant minds, very collaborative, ideas are in the air

    Cons

    Keen to publish in big journals (Nat & Sci) is way more pronounced here than in other schools I have been before, which is not necessarily a "Con"

    University of Cambridge2018-06-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Post doc in physics at cambridge"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's one of the world's best universities, working here is very special and will always look good on your CV. Excellent pool of co-workers from all over the world. Great facilities.

    Cons

    Really expensive to live in the city. Long work hours, most people work excess of 50 hours per week.

    University of Cambridge2017-05-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing working conditions but extremely competitive enviroment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Fellow in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge

    Pros

    Amazing working conditions in a fairytale-like environment among extremely bright people, of all age and nationalities. Excellent support for social integration through colleges.

    Cons

    Sometimes you can feel a bit intimidated by the top tier standards or disappointed by people's pro-interest actions since the environment is so highly competitive.

    Continue reading
    University of Cambridge2016-01-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Cambridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities to learn and working with extremely good colleagues which are all world leaders in their field. The career service is excellent, offering a lot of training and opportunities to develop yourself for the rest of your career. And although this is a very academic environment, career services is really open to jobs outside academia (and gives the tools to apply for them), likewise they give excellent support for furthering your career in academia.

    Cons

    Due to the high standard of all colleagues around, you may sometimes wonder whether you are good enough as researcher. But, that environment is probably also the reason for most of us to apply for jobs here. Salaries may be a bit lower than other universities; but this was compensated by the excellent environment in which I worked.

    Continue reading
    University of Cambridge2016-01-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful university, Great place to live in."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best Universities worldwide - which means great faculty, postdocs, graduate students and undergrads. As a scientist it all depend on the specific field/department/group you join, of course. Note - HFSP fellowship may be done through your department. Your Dep would love that, but your research and travel money will have to go through them and won't have the flexibility of having it in your bank account and at the end just sending a financial report+receipts. My advice - even if they sort of assume it - insist and it'll work (because those are the HFSP guidelines). I did so. This may very well work with other sources of external funding - I don't know. Try to find people who have one the same fellowship before and used it in Cambridge - from the website of the funding body's list of recent awardees.

    Cons

    Well, of course the weather... seriously - sometimes, as any University I guess - bureaucracy is a little too much. Also - computer services can be really problematic and un-21 century Oh, finally - cost of keeping lab animals are very high

    University of Cambridge2012-07-27
Found 12 reviews