University of Cambridge Research Assistant Reviews

Updated 4 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Cambridge Vice Chancellor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
7 Ratings
  1. "I have been working part-time as a postdoc"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Cambridge part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CSIC is a great place to work. They are quite flexible with your time as the centre is quite results-oriented. There is also great social life inside the centre and all my colleagues have been very friendly.

    Cons

    My biggest con has been the temporary aspect of my job. Jobs are only available like in most academia depending on funding the centre has.

    University of Cambridge2020-05-04
  2. "Amazing place to do research"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Cambridge, England

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and amazing placeto do research

    Cons

    Salaries are quite low considering the high costs of living in Cambridge

    University of Cambridge2020-04-18
  3. "Great research oppourtunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic, world-class research with great facilities mostly.

    Cons

    Varying atmosphere between departments with vastly different access to facilities. It's often easy to use equipment in other departments though.

    University of Cambridge2020-03-25
  4. "Supportive and dynamic work environment with good benefits and great work and life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Research Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Cambridge for less than a year

    Pros

    A vary vibrant and inclusive work environment with many like-minded individuals

    Cons

    Relatively low salary comparing to London Universities

    University of Cambridge2020-01-29
  5. "Brilliant training and development opportunities"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Cambridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and development opportunities were excellent

    Cons

    Limited career progression advice / guidance

    University of Cambridge2020-01-06
  6. "No idea"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good to reputation, looks good on CV. Get good deals/benefits for certain things

    Cons

    Difficult to get funding of conferences/training

    University of Cambridge2020-01-18
  7. "Great Environment to Grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in the university is great if you want to build networks and grow as a researcher. There are a lot of University run courses available to research staff and Postgrad students

    Cons

    Office space is an issue. There is often a constant stream of new students and staff and no where to put them. It depends on the Department that you are placed in, but some are falling apart and in need of refurbishment

    University of Cambridge2020-01-16
  8. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Cambridge full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, good facilities available

    Cons

    Limited Growth in monetary terms

    University of Cambridge2020-01-05
  9. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Cambridge, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Cambridge part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent support. Nice environment. Good training.

    Cons

    Can't think of any for the role I had.

    University of Cambridge2019-12-02
  10. "in the Sociology Department"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, interesting research, great networking

    Cons

    low salary, no long term contracts

    University of Cambridge2019-12-05
Found 44 reviews