University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 of over 129 reviews

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Kathryn Mitchell
Kathryn Mitchell
29 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work and great people

    Nov 5, 2020 - Head of Maintenance in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing locations across Derby. Great people. Always tidy and looks good. Top rated sports facilities.

    Cons

    Nothing to report that's negative

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Its OK, but I wouldn't recommend it.

    Jan 8, 2020 - IT Support Engineer in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing sites and facilities filled with lovely people, state of the art facilities with a really relaxed working environment. The University has a real desire to grow and better itself and its achieving this.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive, mine is out by about 20k. They say the working environment is but it isn't really. The main campus has an issue with parking it was not uncommon to not be able to park. They charge employees for a parking permit but then say they cant use the facilities on certain days. To try and get around some of the issues they have brought in a private enforcement company who are now fining employees who are just trying to get into work and make the university a better place. I have heard some of my colleagues who look after the service delivery have been exposed to asbestos.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    University of Derby UK Response

    Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Whilst we restrict parking on Student Open Days to ensure our visitors to the University are adequately accommodated for, we do provide significant alternative parking arrangements including a free shuttle bus to and from the alternative car park. Our parking arrangements must support both staff and students, however we know it can get very busy on campus! As such we encourage staff and students to find alternative methods to getting into the main campus, these include the free buses that run across Derby (including to and from the train station and between sites) and a staff 'cycle to work' scheme.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The University of Derby

    Nov 9, 2020 - Lecturer in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really friendly and helpful colleagues

    Cons

    Nothing springs to mind at the moment

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A pleasant working experience

    Nov 5, 2020 - Teaching Assistant in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good working environment, friendly staff, efficient communication.

    Cons

    I am happy with my job, nothing negative

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Wonderful place to work

    Sep 11, 2020 - Graduate in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive and friendly staff Lots of opportunities for growth and development

    Cons

    At times there can be poor communication between departments and staff members

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Film Editor Review

    Nov 30, 2020 - Assistant Film Editor in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is great Working Culture

    Cons

    Poor overall Management to us

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    brilliant place, great environment

    Aug 26, 2020 - Student in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    everyone is friendly, relaxed but productive environment. Great place

    Cons

    Nothing that i could tell

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent employer

    Aug 5, 2020 - Head of Health & Safety in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a very supportive, inclusive, friendly, and enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    May 27, 2020 - Human Resources Manager in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive environment Positive culture Working hours balanced Plenty of ambition and potential, in a positive way Good support network for new starters Lots of opportunities to develop Excellent reward package including holidays and pension.

    Cons

    Dispersed campus, we are not all on one main campus.

    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work that Really puts its' Students' First.

    Apr 30, 2020 - Assistant Graphic Designer in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, work/life balance is top-notch. Great culture, with a fun, dedicated team that continue to enjoy coming in to work every day.

    Cons

    Not the best pay, not always organised (though they are working to change this).

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 31 - 40 of 117 Reviews

Popular Careers with University of Derby UK Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at University of Derby UK? Share Your Experiences

University of Derby UK logo
or