University of East Anglia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of East Anglia Reviews

Updated 7 May 2018
42 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Karen Jones
8 Ratings

42 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Salary, Location, Academic faculty, Work-life balance (in 4 reviews)

  • Good rate of pay, thorough training, flexible working hours which allowed employees to work around full time education, fair and helpful management (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Almost no career progression opportunities due to rigidity of pay / hierarchical structures (in 3 reviews)

  • Very unfriendly, cold environment - no team spirit at all, majority of people are ignorant, staff talk down to you (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    Great Lecturers who are supportive

    Cons

    Poor study space and social space on campus

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, we are working hard to improve the campus environment and social spaces so hopefully this will improve.


  2. "PhD UEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    Large variety of research facilities and experts

    Cons

    Dependent on research group / very dependent on supervisors

  3. "Care more for students than employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    Norwich itself is a lovely city

    Cons

    University only interested in making money off of student intake


  4. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of East Anglia part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easily scheduled with current studies

    Cons

    No cons, I enjoyed it

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your positive feedback!


  5. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Tutor in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Associate Tutor in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of East Anglia part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great hourly pay. Nice mentors

    Cons

    Contract unnecessarily stretched over too many months

    Advice to Management

    make contracts shorter

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks, we will feed this back to the local support teams


  6. "Head Exec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    lots of work life balance

    Cons

    not so fun doing same tasks

    Advice to Management

    you're ok

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback


  7. "UEA Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Student in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly campus it great i love it

    Cons

    lots of worki love it

    Advice to Management

    merry christmas

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    many thanks for your feedback

  8. "Decent place to work depending on long term goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia (More than a year)

    Pros

    The research staff are very collaborative.

    Cons

    Some departments are very good and well organized. And very British. It will take any foreigner time to adapt.

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    thanks for your feedback


  9. "caller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at University of East Anglia part-time

    Pros

    good and nice environment, very kind team leader

    Cons

    training was basic and not much

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    thanks for your feedback


  10. "Student Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at University of East Anglia part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good pay, fantastic people in the Outreach team

    Cons

    Lots of competition for work

    University of East Anglia Response

    11 Apr 2018 – HR Manager

    thanks for your feedback


Showing 42 of 56 reviews
Reset Filters