University of East Anglia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

University of East Anglia Reviews

Updated 7 September 2017
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Karen Jones
2 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Very English"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwich, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Many high quality professors and staff work here.

    Cons

    It takes time for foreigners to adapt to the unique English style and brutal architecture.


  2. "PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwich, England

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good for scientific research and overall work

    Cons

    Not good job stability and security


  3. "Accounting module facilitator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Module Facilitator in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Accounting Module Facilitator in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great, friendly management. Received all the support I've needed

    Cons

    The only con is that class attendance was not compulsory so the number of student varied significantly from class to class.

    University of East Anglia Response

    29 Aug 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for the positive feedback


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselling Administrative Assistant
    Current Employee - Counselling Administrative Assistant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    UEA is a great place to work. There is such a variety of people to build good working relationships with. The pay grades are really good compared to jobs in the private sector. The benefits of discounted car parking as well as a great pension scheme make working here much more appealing. The grounds are fantastic at UEA so going for a walk on lunch is a fantastic perk.

    Cons

    Working with students can be challenging at times but it also has it's benefits.

    University of East Anglia Response

    13 Jul 2017 – HR Manager

    Thank you for such a positive review! Hope you continue to enjoy working at UEA.


  6. "Academic staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Norwich is a great city to live in

    Cons

    A bullying culture in the department I worked in

    Advice to Management

    Support your staff

    University of East Anglia Response

    29 Aug 2017 – HR Manager

    Sorry to hear about this. If you'd like to get in touch we can investigate your concerns.


  7. "Not what I expected from working for a university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, generous holiday entitlement. Processes although old fashioned are adhered to very strictly.

    Cons

    No career opportunities at all, no opportunity to gain further experience even when asked for. Old fashioned, everything done by paperwork! Very unfriendly, cold environment - no team spirit at all, majority of people are ignorant, staff talk down to you. People are very protective over their work and don't want to share duties so that other staff are able to learn how to do new things. Old buildings that need modernizing, freezing cold in the winter and too hot to bear in the summer. I was so excited about getting this job and the prospects it might bring but it was disappointing in almost every way.

    Advice to Management

    Review processes, teach staff how to engage with others and work as a team and make new employees feel included and welcome.

    University of East Anglia Response

    13 Jul 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and sorry your experience wasn't a positive one. Major building programmes are underway and we are looking for ways to streamline and modernise our administrative processes... More


  8. "Senior Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Lecturer In Business and Climate Change in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Senior Lecturer In Business and Climate Change in Norwich, England

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great international reputation in specific domains. Low cost of living in Norwich.

    Cons

    Top tier salaries do not seem to be competitive which results to a lot of turnover. Norwich can feel too provincial sometimes. Space constraints despite campus layout.

    University of East Anglia Response

    27 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for the review, the new building projects should help to address the space issues.


  9. "Perfect student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Well paid, plus 15% holiday pay
    Very flexible, shifts from 7am to 2-3am
    Managers are very friendly and helpful
    Very easy to be disorganised as some shifts can be covered in a few minutes

    Cons

    No benefits or bonus for good performance
    Good performance only available if you perform well in front of the manager
    Too many managers you are responsible for
    Some colleagues are not motivated and not commited to their job what makes it difficult to work in team
    Sometimes underpay or payday is later than promised

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, sorry you experienced some difficulties.


  10. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Assistant in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Facilities Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The pay and conditions are the best in Norwich for manual workers. There are benefits galore.

    Cons

    Working hours, split shifts, rigid schedules.
    .

    Advice to Management

    If it ain`t broke, why fix it?

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your recommendation. You make a really good point.


  11. "researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    good salary and nice city

    Cons

    not great campus and facilities

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. Anything we can help with? I'll pass on any suggestions to our Estates colleagues.


Showing 29 of 38 reviews
Reset Filters