University of East Anglia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

University of East Anglia Reviews

Updated 9 October 2017
32 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

32 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Perfect student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Well paid, plus 15% holiday pay
    Very flexible, shifts from 7am to 2-3am
    Managers are very friendly and helpful
    Very easy to be disorganised as some shifts can be covered in a few minutes

    Cons

    No benefits or bonus for good performance
    Good performance only available if you perform well in front of the manager
    Too many managers you are responsible for
    Some colleagues are not motivated and not commited to their job what makes it difficult to work in team
    Sometimes underpay or payday is later than promised

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, sorry you experienced some difficulties.


  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Assistant in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Facilities Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The pay and conditions are the best in Norwich for manual workers. There are benefits galore.

    Cons

    Working hours, split shifts, rigid schedules.
    .

    Advice to Management

    If it ain`t broke, why fix it?

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your recommendation. You make a really good point.


  3. "researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    good salary and nice city

    Cons

    not great campus and facilities

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. Anything we can help with? I'll pass on any suggestions to our Estates colleagues.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre workplace for such a stellar institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwich, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Reasonable benefits package. Good professional development courses available. The largest university employer in the region. Well-ranked university.

    Cons

    The largest university employer in the region, management knows that staff who don't like it can lump it or leave it. Weak work assessment protocols, and no assessment for management. It is has a strong good-old-boys network, although this is not just comprised of males. There is little recognition of achievement, at least in my division, and little chance for progression if you are not British. While the professional development courses are very good, they don't necessarily translate into facilitating career progression, unless you are part of groups mentioned above.

    Advice to Management

    Look for the best in management, not just the one who will rock the boat the least or take a lesser salary than much of the rest of the country.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for getting in touch and I'm sorry that your experience hasn't been as positive as we would wish. I'd be happy to discuss this further with you to see where we can do better.


  6. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    Great Facilities, great overall experience provided to service users.

    Cons

    Lack of local competition, can be behind the times in key areas outside academics.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace modern developments.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback.


  7. "Student Enterprise Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    a lot of training and good career development opportunities.
    A lot of Networking opportunities
    Young and vibrant environment (working on campus)
    Above Norwich living wage pay

    Cons

    Large organisation - huge bureaucratic processes
    Very 'mature white male' based managerial staff
    Hard to inflict change
    Little career prospects

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Many thanks for your comments. We have a very active E&D agenda at UEA including significant University-wide activity under the Athena SWAN charter to address gender equality more broadly as well as... More


  8. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Student in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Nice environment, beautiful lakeside, great and peaceful atmosphere, lovely people who are quite helpful when i encounter problems in work.

    Cons

    The daily tasks or activities i dealt with are a bit mundane. Sometimes i'm quite free, sometimes i'm really busy.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Really glad to hear your positive feedback about the work environment, it's such a great campus. Thanks for posting.


  9. "Not bad but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    Good facilities on campus, competitive pay for the region, good mix of different types of people/professions to work with/for

    Cons

    At this level, there are very few opportunities for advancement, the higher administrative staff are extremely inconsiderate of workplace culture (e.g., one time they tried to ban plants in the office; increasing use of huge open-plan offices), and a huge number of admin staff are very unhappy here.

    Advice to Management

    Improve advancement opportunities for admin assistants, stop patronising them with 'integration' projects that everyone knows are simply layoffs/cost cutting exercises, which are poorly thought out and lead to huge employee dissatisfaction

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Many thanks for your feedback. Really sorry to hear about your concerns, please feel free to get in touch if you would like to discuss.


  10. "customer team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Assistant in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Food Service Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia (More than a year)

    Pros

    Beautiful countryside and Norwich is a very nice city

    Cons

    Seems hard to return if you leave employment

    Advice to Management

    Help those who have previously worked there and left to return to work for the UEA

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Please feel free to contact HR directly if you would like to apply and we will see what we can do to help you. Thanks very much for the feedback.


  11. "Barista at Student Union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Barista in Norwich, England
    Recommends

    Pros

    Good pay-- living wage, flexible shifts in terms of coursework, friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Often understaffed, management problems, issues with payroll being late.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Sorry to hear about these problems, I'll pass your comments on the the Student Union. Thanks for getting in touch.


Showing 32 of 42 reviews
Reset Filters