University of East Anglia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

University of East Anglia Reviews

Updated 9 October 2017
32 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

32 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good job security and staff training

    Cons

    Campus can get very busy and workloads can be quite heavy at certain times of year

    Advice to Management

    Introduce flexi time

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Many thanks for your feedback. If you'd like to get in touch with HR, we can talk to you about flexible working options.


  2. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Dudley, England
    Former Employee - Cashier in Dudley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of East Anglia (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good rate of pay, thorough training, flexible working hours which allowed employees to work around full time education, fair and helpful management.

    Cons

    The system used to managed rotas was constantly being changed, which was confusing at times and often lead to shifts being missed, for which employees were often unfairly berated.

    Advice to Management

    KMOT was less confusing than Rotaville.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for this, I'll pass your comments on.


  3. "Research technician at the UEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Research Technician in London, England
    Former Employee - Laboratory Research Technician in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia (More than a year)

    Pros

    I loved working here. The people and the atmosphere were wonderful. The research is word-leading and fascinating.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any right now.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    That's so good to hear, thanks very much for your positive feedback!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Peer Assisted Learning Mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Peer Assisted Learning Mentor in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Peer Assisted Learning Mentor in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    People are really caring, quick response and support you in every corners

    Cons

    Sometimes it would be very busy

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Many thanks for your positive recommendation.


  6. "Lovely, green setting next to the UEA broad. Fantastic boss, but funding for research is, of late, particularly scarse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Salary, Location, Academic faculty, Work-life balance

    Cons

    Not a great place to set you up for the future - little guidance given.

    Advice to Management

    Adopt a more employee-focussed approach to work. The current attitude sets most young academics up for a fall.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your comments. We are working on this via the Research Staff Advisory Network. Please feel free to speak to your Faculty Research Staff Co-ordinator who will be able to feed in your... More


  7. "Fun and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welcome and Information Team Member in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Welcome and Information Team Member in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of East Anglia part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    As a student studying at university this was a perfect mix and was allowed to fit around my lectures etc. Also pay is very good, and 0 hour contract makes life easier

    Cons

    Training wasn't overly helpful, and with many students working communication was sometimes lacking, and would sometimes be asked to do random jobs, without much guidance

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Good feedback, thank you.


  8. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at University of East Anglia full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Interesting space, academically diverse, somewhat varied roles

    Cons

    Inertia from uppers segment filters down through departments and spin-outs

    Advice to Management

    Join the 21st century

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We are trying!


  9. "Excellent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great academic culture, fun and creative environment. Interesting projects to work on and great supervisor support and expertise. Colleagues are friendly and supportive. Good social environment.

    Cons

    PPD courses boring and useless. Could do with more bench fees. Progress reporting bothersome and not always capable of identifying problems. Grad Student Assoc. (which handels social aspects) is a bit useless unless you're into sports or politics.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on people, less on advertising and building useless facilities.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We are looking at PPD and Bench Fees. I'll pass on your thoughts to the PGR Service.


  10. "International Student Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at University of East Anglia part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and independent working. You have a lot of choice in terms of how you work and what you do. Learned a lot about recruitment. Felt very appreciated by management.

    Cons

    Some lack of organization skills made it a bit more difficult to do my job at times, but not a major issue.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you stay organized and communicate regularly with the student ambassadors.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Good feedback, thank you.


  11. "Great workmates, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Administrator in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Interesting work, Good workmates, prestige job, ok salary, reduced gym membership, good holidays

    Cons

    No aircon, have to take some holidays at set times

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks very much for your feedback.


Showing 32 of 42 reviews
Reset Filters