University of East Anglia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Find your next job here

University of East Anglia Reviews

Updated 17 January 2018
36 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

36 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Student in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Nice environment, beautiful lakeside, great and peaceful atmosphere, lovely people who are quite helpful when i encounter problems in work.

    Cons

    The daily tasks or activities i dealt with are a bit mundane. Sometimes i'm quite free, sometimes i'm really busy.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Really glad to hear your positive feedback about the work environment, it's such a great campus. Thanks for posting.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time

    Pros

    Good facilities on campus, competitive pay for the region, good mix of different types of people/professions to work with/for

    Cons

    At this level, there are very few opportunities for advancement, the higher administrative staff are extremely inconsiderate of workplace culture (e.g., one time they tried to ban plants in the office; increasing use of huge open-plan offices), and a huge number of admin staff are very unhappy here.

    Advice to Management

    Improve advancement opportunities for admin assistants, stop patronising them with 'integration' projects that everyone knows are simply layoffs/cost cutting exercises, which are poorly thought out and lead to huge employee dissatisfaction

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Many thanks for your feedback. Really sorry to hear about your concerns, please feel free to get in touch if you would like to discuss.


  3. "customer team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Assistant in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Food Service Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia (More than a year)

    Pros

    Beautiful countryside and Norwich is a very nice city

    Cons

    Seems hard to return if you leave employment

    Advice to Management

    Help those who have previously worked there and left to return to work for the UEA

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Please feel free to contact HR directly if you would like to apply and we will see what we can do to help you. Thanks very much for the feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Barista at Student Union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Barista in Norwich, England
    Recommends

    Pros

    Good pay-- living wage, flexible shifts in terms of coursework, friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Often understaffed, management problems, issues with payroll being late.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Sorry to hear about these problems, I'll pass your comments on the the Student Union. Thanks for getting in touch.


  6. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of East Anglia full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good job security and staff training

    Cons

    Campus can get very busy and workloads can be quite heavy at certain times of year

    Advice to Management

    Introduce flexi time

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Many thanks for your feedback. If you'd like to get in touch with HR, we can talk to you about flexible working options.


  7. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Dudley, England
    Former Employee - Cashier in Dudley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of East Anglia (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good rate of pay, thorough training, flexible working hours which allowed employees to work around full time education, fair and helpful management.

    Cons

    The system used to managed rotas was constantly being changed, which was confusing at times and often lead to shifts being missed, for which employees were often unfairly berated.

    Advice to Management

    KMOT was less confusing than Rotaville.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for this, I'll pass your comments on.


  8. "Research technician at the UEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Research Technician in London, England
    Former Employee - Laboratory Research Technician in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of East Anglia (More than a year)

    Pros

    I loved working here. The people and the atmosphere were wonderful. The research is word-leading and fascinating.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any right now.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    That's so good to hear, thanks very much for your positive feedback!


  9. "Peer Assisted Learning Mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Peer Assisted Learning Mentor in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - Peer Assisted Learning Mentor in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    People are really caring, quick response and support you in every corners

    Cons

    Sometimes it would be very busy

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Many thanks for your positive recommendation.


  10. "Lovely, green setting next to the UEA broad. Fantastic boss, but funding for research is, of late, particularly scarse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Salary, Location, Academic faculty, Work-life balance

    Cons

    Not a great place to set you up for the future - little guidance given.

    Advice to Management

    Adopt a more employee-focussed approach to work. The current attitude sets most young academics up for a fall.

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your comments. We are working on this via the Research Staff Advisory Network. Please feel free to speak to your Faculty Research Staff Co-ordinator who will be able to feed in your... More


  11. "Fun and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welcome and Information Team Member in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Welcome and Information Team Member in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of East Anglia part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    As a student studying at university this was a perfect mix and was allowed to fit around my lectures etc. Also pay is very good, and 0 hour contract makes life easier

    Cons

    Training wasn't overly helpful, and with many students working communication was sometimes lacking, and would sometimes be asked to do random jobs, without much guidance

    University of East Anglia Response

    26 Apr 2017 – HR Manager

    Good feedback, thank you.


Showing 36 of 47 reviews
Reset Filters