University of Edinburgh "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Edinburgh Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 12 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
University of Edinburgh Principal and Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Mathieson  (no image)
Professor Peter Mathieson
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice working environment (people/ institute) but very lab-dependent(in 26 reviews)

  • "They also provide a range of services for staff to support mental well-being and work-life balance(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Nothing from I can tell.

    University of Edinburgh2019-07-26
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Manager 

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Smart people

    Cons

    Not many that have come through

    University of Edinburgh2019-12-12
  3. "A supportive and friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Employment Officer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The University of Edinburgh offers a supportive and friendly environment to work in, with flexibly working hours and a wide range of staff benefits. They also provide a range of services for staff to support mental well-being and work-life balance.

    Cons

    The size of the organisation means it can sometimes be challenging to get things done (a little bureaucratic ) and processes/practices aren't as standardised as they could be.

    University of Edinburgh2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "University researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary is correct Access to the university facilities at a reduced price Good work-life balance Good quality of life in Edinburgh

    Cons

    Recent change to the pension system means an increase from 8% to 11.4% of salary contribution in the next year. Some harassement scandals were sweapt under the rug.

    University of Edinburgh2019-03-15
  5. "Employee perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh

    Pros

    Great work life balance - flexible hours

    Cons

    Pace of bau and innovation

    University of Edinburgh2018-11-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at University of Edinburgh full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, plenty of annual leave, possible to work from home, really nice people

    Cons

    No prospects for growth, the way work is assigned is counter productive and stressful, you need to account for every minute worked in a timesheet

    Continue reading
    University of Edinburgh2018-06-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Post -Doc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Lack of organisation and management, Serious health and safety issues

    University of Edinburgh2017-07-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Learning Technologist in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at University of Edinburgh for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, equal opportunities, good work life balance. Nice people to work with, in my experience.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy, can be hard to make positive change, can feel stagnant really easily. Hard to progress.

    University of Edinburgh2017-06-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work with excellent work-life balance, but not very well paid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance. Great holidays. Lots of opportunities to attend seminars.

    Cons

    Very slow rise up the payscale. No annual bonus.

    University of Edinburgh2017-05-07
  10. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Teaching Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at University of Edinburgh for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance Intellectual, multinational community Friendly environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    University of Edinburgh2016-10-19
Found 21 reviews