University of Exeter Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Exeter Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
University of Exeter CEO Sir Steve Smith (no image)
Sir Steve Smith
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working around student contact hrs(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good pay for professional services staff(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Student- University of Exeter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time

    Pros

    Amazing Reputation, strong industry connections

    Cons

    Too little ethnic diversity around campus.

    University of Exeter2019-11-07
  2. "BSc Business Economics Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great student community and university culture. Some of its lecturers are fantastic.

    Cons

    Some lecturers seem less qualified to teach. Staff can be disorganised at times

    University of Exeter2019-11-14
  3. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Exeter, England

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good university. it is a Russell group

    Cons

    events in student study spaces are very annoying

    University of Exeter2019-10-28
  4. "V good University but has some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great campus. Good environment Generally friendly people

    Cons

    Has been slow to adapt/react to some issues such as BLS scandal which has damaged the university's rep among BAME communities.

    University of Exeter2019-10-28
  5. "My supervisor is awful, most others are just too busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Exeter, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I received a lot of useful support regarding my terrible supervisor. Flexible hours (on PhD). Nice campus. A lot of great people.

    Cons

    My particular manager is terrible (but that's not the norm, and this person is not getting more students anytime soon - you're pretty safe!). The university management have rationalised away a lot of the administrative staff into one incredibly overworked building, so getting things sorted is a bit of a pain (they're usually very quick if you show up, otherwise you easily get lost in the pile).

    Advice to Management

    Maybe don't get the lowest bidder to design your finance system. Or give outgoing deputy chairs the equivalent of 93 students' tuition fees, on top of the enormous pension

    University of Exeter2019-10-28
  6. "work and life are a balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time

    Pros

    work and life are a balance

    Cons

    not too much motivation in research

    University of Exeter2019-10-16
  7. "Fantastic people-oriented role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Exeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Active, engaging, extremely flexible, great staff

    Cons

    Some roles are less exciting than others

    University of Exeter2019-09-16
  8. "Research-intensive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Research-intensive university; good support to long-term academic career development

    Cons

    high work load; salary is just ok.

    University of Exeter2019-09-08
  9. "Loved working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Study Abroad Coordinator in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Exeter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are lovely, there are lots of opportunities for movement around the University. There are initiatives such as the minibus from the station to help sustainability

    Cons

    Parking is a problem and the Streatham Campus is darn hilly!!

    Advice to Management

    Carry on doing what you are doing, it is a lovely workplace

    University of Exeter2019-09-06
  10. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student in Exeter, England

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to be with friends

    Cons

    Not supportive in terms of academics

    University of Exeter2019-09-01
Found 139 reviews