University of Glasgow Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Glasgow Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
University of Glasgow CEO Sir Kenneth Calman
Sir Kenneth Calman
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent employer with a strong commitment for equality and diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Doctoral Student in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A huge international academic community with excellent academic, technical and administrative staff.

    Cons

    Policies to improve wellbeing for its employees such as GTA or doctoral students are still being developing.

    University of Glasgow2019-10-09
  2. "You couldn't get a more beautiful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Glasgow full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, beautiful surroundings and super colleagues

    Cons

    There are no cons I wish to list

    University of Glasgow2019-10-08
  3. "Perfect for career development and new opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Specialist in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consistent training and development Protocol and organisation Over brand clarity Structured support from management and the overall institution Good maternity and paternity options Good pension service (NEST PENSIONS)

    Cons

    Pay grade system is hard to navigate No room for negotiation on salary until you have worked your first year

    Advice to Management

    Clarity on pay structure and before offering contracts to those out with the higher education sector

    University of Glasgow2019-10-08
  4. "Great working environment with friendly colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, friendly colleagues with diverse expertise to help provide support, plus very social with many events and colloquiums.

    Cons

    Research can be very solitary and stressful work. More awareness of mental health issues with pressures from deadlines and overworking would be good.

    University of Glasgow2019-10-18
  5. "Good Place to Study and Develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Phd Student Researcher 

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time

    Pros

    Investments in research, Broad set of degrees, Good Departments

    Cons

    Pay isn't amazing, weather's a bit wet.

    University of Glasgow2019-10-01
  6. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 

    I worked at University of Glasgow full-time

    Pros

    Good salary and nice location

    Cons

    Temporary contract that was not extended

    Advice to Management

    Keep your promises

    University of Glasgow2019-10-07
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good university to work in Scotland

    Cons

    Funding is key problem here

    University of Glasgow2019-10-03
  8. "PhD experience can vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for development outside of specific research area and the uni have made efforts to engage with PGR students more (blog, lunchtime walks/ activities, PhD Society etc.)

    Cons

    - PhD experience will vary hugely from person to person so I will avoid specific issues to my experience. While I have not enjoyed my PhD, I do not blame the university for this; I would recommend researching the role and speak to current students before applying. - Level of support varies by department. - There is college-wide PhD information but the website is not the easiest to navigate so can be frustrating.

    University of Glasgow2019-09-11
  9. "of LLB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In depth research and high standard of work given

    Cons

    Lecturers often too busy to reply

    University of Glasgow2019-08-22
  10. "Decent employer, difficult to get promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Glasgow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable staff benefits. Member of excellent USS pension scheme. Generous annual leave (30 days). Big emphasis on collegiality across the University. Main campus is in a fantastic location.

    Cons

    Criteria for promotion to Grade 7 exceed the criteria to be initially appointed to Grade 7. One of the few universities I've heard of that don't automatically promote postdocs once they have passed their viva. Culture varies broadly between research groups.

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier for ECRs to move to Grade 7. Promote them in line with other universities.

    University of Glasgow2019-08-24
Found 185 reviews