University of Leicester Researcher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Researcher Reviews

Updated 11 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
University of Leicester CEO Lord Grocott
Lord Grocott
4 Ratings
  1. "PhD studentship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generous salary for a student.

    Cons

    Nothing really, I'm grateful for it.

    University of Leicester2019-05-23
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good supporting staff and lab facilities

    Cons

    Lots of unnecessary paper work

    Advice to Management

    None

    University of Leicester2019-08-11
  3. "RASPP Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Leicester for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful and welcoming bunch of people

    Cons

    The office is a bit small and crowded

    University of Leicester2019-06-08
  4. "Senior research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly collegial atmosphere, good interaction across departments

    Cons

    Money saying policy at the moment

    University of Leicester2019-04-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good facilities, but significant room for improvement on the human side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very professional, bright, proactive, good international exposure, good place to live, efficient electrical systems, state of the art computing environments, great condition, surrounding community a good urban place to live, promotes climate friendly transport, and energy use

    Cons

    lots of bureaucracy, very tight security, very rigid, inadequate pay for the cost of living, poor opportunities for advancement, not adequate gender representation in key fields.

    Advice to Management

    Seek out and hire more women in science and engineering. -- there are three times more men than women. Hire men and women of color. The students are from everywhere (Asia, Africa, South America) and speak a multitude of languages, but the faculty is 95% white, Caucasian! The intent is teach students the kind of world they could create in their home countries, but we fail them by practicing the world of the status... quo.

    Show More
    University of Leicester2019-02-14
  6. "Decent Post-doctoral Research Post"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive academic environment, if you have a good supervisor is a good research position for a post-doc.

    Cons

    Leciester city location is relatively remote and working class. Cheap living costs but not a great location for active young people or families. Local medical care is particularly sub-class.

    University of Leicester2018-04-27
  7. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly University with plenty of scope for career advancement and pursuing personal research interests.

    Cons

    Busy University environment and lots of administration

    Advice to Management

    -

    University of Leicester2017-05-12
  8. "Ambitious but lack independent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Leicester for less than a year

    Pros

    Ambitious department. Opportunities to work on high profile projects and gain good publications.

    Cons

    Department was ran like a dictatorship, with micro management and a lack of responsibility / autonomy given to experienced members of staff. Reliance on approval from the head of department slowed down rate of progress.

    University of Leicester2017-01-19
  9. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent inter department atmosphere Access to a wide range of career support. Willingness of senior staff to push me to apply previous experience & skill-sets that I'd brought to the job

    Cons

    The office space was often rather cramped Thieves target the bike storage areas

    University of Leicester2016-06-01

    University of Leicester Response

    October 3, 2016Recruitment Partner

    Our 2016 Staff Survey found that 94% of people working at the university agree with the statement,'I feel safe and secure in my working environment'.

  10. "A potential centre for excellence for research (various)!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Researcher in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester

    Pros

    - Going back up the rankings for research - Senior researchers need more support in trying to advertise and obtain more funding.

    Cons

    - Focus on teaching, but have to treat students as customers i.e. they are never wrong. Can be a little more selective and ask more of the students - they are capable.

    Advice to Management

    HR, IT management, purchasing can be vastly simplified and streamlined. At a time when research funding is squeezed, researchers must be able to get the most out of their grants, not having to buy a computer at twice the price through the IT dept for example.

    University of Leicester2016-05-08

    University of Leicester Response

    August 12, 2016Recruitment Partner

    Your comments are duly noted. Speaking on behalf of HR I can confirm that we are continually reviewing our processes with the aim of improving efficiency and service quality for a range of users.

Found 17 reviews