University of Leicester Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Reviews

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
University of Leicester CEO Lord Grocott
Lord Grocott
24 Ratings
  1. "PhD fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, good working conditions

    Cons

    Not targeted to finance studies

    University of Leicester2019-04-30
  2. "student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    student support, teaching staff, gym, options for work

    Cons

    facilities and it is particularly busy

    University of Leicester2019-04-01
  3. "ULSB ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Very good job very good pay

    Cons

    there are no downstides of this

    University of Leicester2019-03-27
  4. "Senior research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly collegial atmosphere, good interaction across departments

    Cons

    Money saying policy at the moment

    University of Leicester2019-04-12
  5. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Reputable university and great research

    Cons

    Lack of funding , and really you need to work hard wherever you are if you want to achieve the goal.

    University of Leicester2019-04-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Location and parking are quite good if you're lucky enough to get a permit

    Cons

    Real lack of basic amenities on campus. Not very student friendly in my opinion. Very poor standard of work and real lack of ambition.

    University of Leicester2019-03-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No progression, no investment in staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Friendly place some nice managers who are genuine

    Cons

    Managers quick to take credit. No career progression past grade 5. Anyone who is anygood leaves. Senior managers many of them no team or even people skills. If bame no chance of going up the ladder.

    University of Leicester2019-03-28
  8. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester part-time

    Pros

    Support from other staff and services

    Cons

    Projects/ development can be slow

    University of Leicester2019-02-24
  9. "pdra in leicester university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, Leicester is a good place to live in

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    University of Leicester2019-02-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good facilities, but significant room for improvement on the human side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very professional, bright, proactive, good international exposure, good place to live, efficient electrical systems, state of the art computing environments, great condition, surrounding community a good urban place to live, promotes climate friendly transport, and energy use

    Cons

    lots of bureaucracy, very tight security, very rigid, inadequate pay for the cost of living, poor opportunities for advancement, not adequate gender representation in key fields.

    Advice to Management

    Seek out and hire more women in science and engineering. -- there are three times more men than women. Hire men and women of color. The students are from everywhere (Asia, Africa, South America) and speak a multitude of languages, but the faculty is 95% white, Caucasian! The intent is teach students the kind of world they could create in their home countries, but we fail them by practicing the world of the status... quo.

    Show More
    University of Leicester2019-02-14
Found 125 reviews