University of Leicester Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

University of Leicester Reviews

Updated 9 October 2017
75 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

75 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Flexible working hours - I am often able to fit a 7 hour day between the hours of 7am and 9pm which is good for when I have other commitments (in 8 reviews)

  • Provides excellent training, a considerate working environment that provides equal opportunities for all (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Senior management team is exceptionally poor (in 4 reviews)

  • Lack of job stability - hard to get job made permanent due to nature of work (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great support and well defined roles. Good benefits and great facilities. Highly recommended.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    University of Leicester Response

    2 Nov 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Many thanks for the review. Have you cut and paste from the previous review as there are some similarities?


  2. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great variety of work, friendly and collegiate atmosphere, excellent facilities on campus available to staff, generous pension scheme

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that career opportunities are widely promoted across all staff. There's a wide range of skills at all levels that could be tapped into.

    University of Leicester Response

    1 Mar 2017 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for the positive review!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Academic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    As an academic, there is relative freedom to pursue your own research.

    Cons

    I feel compelled to write this review because of the five star reviews that have been posted recently. Although some may be genuine, my suspicion is that at least some are fabricated. Let me explain.

    As a non-academic, the university is probably a good place to work.

    As an academic: Almost all departments are currently undergoing brutal "transformation" which is mainly about sacking staff. For example, the mathematics department were told to reapply for their jobs (after which 6 or so would be let go - approx 20 - 25% of the workforce). And similar approaches have been taken with other departments.

    Hopefully this review will serve to inform job seekers of the current situation.

    Advice to Management

    Your current approach is probably doomed to fail. I suggest to rethink, and try to get some talented managers in place. Hopefully things can be turned round, but at the moment most academic staff are very dissatisfied, and this will make it very difficult to get meaningful change pushed through (assuming you can identify what meaningful changes to make).

    University of Leicester Response

    4 Nov 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I’m sorry to read that your experience at the University has been a negative one.

    The University of Leicester is undergoing change, partly to ensure its long-term financial stability but mainly... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Project Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The location of the campus is brilliant with a lot of options for food.
    The salary sacrifice gym benefits were a great way of building an active and healthy social life at work.
    The holiday offering was good and offered a reasonable life-work balance.

    Cons

    Progression for junior level staff was difficult and very little development opportunities offered.
    Senior management decisions were often badly communicated and sometimes not executed well.
    There was a trend of ex-accountants managing large departments which stifled creativity and innovative projects.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within, offer development opportunities and tangible career progression from loyal members of staff and get rid of the accountants in senior management roles.


  6. "student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Student
    Current Employee - Student

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    good teaching resources at university.

    Cons

    sometimes challenges need to be overcome in the studying process.

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Please can you give a little more context on the challenges facing the studying process? I may be able to flag these up to the appropriate people. Many thanks.


  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Extra holidays
    35 hours a week working 9-5 with an hour for lunch
    Free WiFi
    Good facilities for food and drinks and 2 ATMS on campus
    Amazing sports facilities and at reasonable prices
    Located very centrally and everything within a walking distance

    Cons

    Very regimented in their approach to qualifications- concentrate on experience not certificates

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your interesting feedback. Recruitment best practice is a moving feast and the longer term trend may be to focus on a suite of online ‘strengths’ assessments, in replace of academic... More


  8. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting students
    Nice campus
    good health facilities

    Cons

    Going through a redundancy scheme
    No funding for conferences

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I appreciate that going through redundancy is never going to be a pleasant experience. Our redeployment policy is very employee friendly however – supporting those with 9 months continuous service... More


  9. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant
    Former Employee - Research Assistant

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent inter department atmosphere
    Access to a wide range of career support.
    Willingness of senior staff to push me to apply previous experience & skill-sets that I'd brought to the job

    Cons

    The office space was often rather cramped
    Thieves target the bike storage areas

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Our 2016 Staff Survey found that 94% of people working at the university agree with the statement,'I feel safe and secure in my working environment'.


  10. "Ok, but watch the students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Leicester, England

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Polite, quiet campus. Nice people, good range of services for staff.

    Cons

    Students have become increasingly demanding with the tuition fee increase and demand individual attention. At the slightest infraction they are content to go over your head and make you look bad.

    Staff are charged a premium for every service (clubs, sports + gym, food).

    Isolation and lack of communication are easy habits to pick up.

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I guess students are an occupational hazard in this industry!

    Our students are at the heart of what we do and we are committed to ensuring that they receive the best possible educational support... More


  11. "Post-Doctoral Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Good facilities
    Nice environment
    Nice place of work

    Cons

    Not too much of interactions between groups

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your five star review!


Showing 75 of 82 reviews
Reset Filters