University of Leicester Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

University of Leicester Reviews

Updated 8 December 2017
82 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

82 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Flexible working hours - I am often able to fit a 7 hour day between the hours of 7am and 9pm which is good for when I have other commitments (in 8 reviews)

  • As a student ambassador - Good pay, nice colleagues and bosses, surprisingly fun job (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Senior management team is exceptionally poor (in 4 reviews)

  • Lack of job stability - hard to get job made permanent due to nature of work (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Student
    Current Employee - Student

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    good teaching resources at university.

    Cons

    sometimes challenges need to be overcome in the studying process.

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Please can you give a little more context on the challenges facing the studying process? I may be able to flag these up to the appropriate people. Many thanks.


  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Extra holidays
    35 hours a week working 9-5 with an hour for lunch
    Free WiFi
    Good facilities for food and drinks and 2 ATMS on campus
    Amazing sports facilities and at reasonable prices
    Located very centrally and everything within a walking distance

    Cons

    Very regimented in their approach to qualifications- concentrate on experience not certificates

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your interesting feedback. Recruitment best practice is a moving feast and the longer term trend may be to focus on a suite of online ‘strengths’ assessments, in replace of academic... More


  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting students
    Nice campus
    good health facilities

    Cons

    Going through a redundancy scheme
    No funding for conferences

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I appreciate that going through redundancy is never going to be a pleasant experience. Our redeployment policy is very employee friendly however – supporting those with 9 months continuous service... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant
    Former Employee - Research Assistant

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent inter department atmosphere
    Access to a wide range of career support.
    Willingness of senior staff to push me to apply previous experience & skill-sets that I'd brought to the job

    Cons

    The office space was often rather cramped
    Thieves target the bike storage areas

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Our 2016 Staff Survey found that 94% of people working at the university agree with the statement,'I feel safe and secure in my working environment'.


  6. "Ok, but watch the students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Leicester, England

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Polite, quiet campus. Nice people, good range of services for staff.

    Cons

    Students have become increasingly demanding with the tuition fee increase and demand individual attention. At the slightest infraction they are content to go over your head and make you look bad.

    Staff are charged a premium for every service (clubs, sports + gym, food).

    Isolation and lack of communication are easy habits to pick up.

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I guess students are an occupational hazard in this industry!

    Our students are at the heart of what we do and we are committed to ensuring that they receive the best possible educational support... More


  7. "Post-Doctoral Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Good facilities
    Nice environment
    Nice place of work

    Cons

    Not too much of interactions between groups

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your five star review!


  8. "A potential centre for excellence for research (various)!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Leicester, England
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    - Going back up the rankings for research
    - Senior researchers need more support in trying to advertise and obtain more funding.

    Cons

    - Focus on teaching, but have to treat students as customers i.e. they are never wrong. Can be a little more selective and ask more of the students - they are capable.

    Advice to Management

    HR, IT management, purchasing can be vastly simplified and streamlined. At a time when research funding is squeezed, researchers must be able to get the most out of their grants, not having to buy a computer at twice the price through the IT dept for example.

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Your comments are duly noted. Speaking on behalf of HR I can confirm that we are continually reviewing our processes with the aim of improving efficiency and service quality for a range of users.


  9. "A bit too provincial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great group of colleagues - academics, researchers and support staff
    Interesting and relevant work
    Flexible hours and good benefits

    Cons

    Ugly campus with Brutalist architecture
    Pay grades too inflexible, not enough meritocracy
    Too insular, prefers to hire locals even if out-of-towners better, more experienced

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to individuality, don't be afraid to hire candidates with experience outside confines of East Midlands

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your post...This got me thinking, 'What proportion of University staff are Non-British nationals?' The answer is nearly 20%, with a total of 79 nationalities represented.


  10. "Easy work, good pay, few hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Leicester, England
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Leicester part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really great way of getting sales/people skills. Have to be able to easily approach and talk to people knowledgeably and confidently. Pay was good. Fun meeting prospective students.

    Cons

    Few hours, needed another job to sub it.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really.

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Personal development and fun - sounds like the perfect job! Thanks for your review.


  11. "Residential Adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Advisor in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Residential Advisor in Leicester, England

    I have been working at University of Leicester part-time

    Pros

    The pay is great. The job is not too challenging.

    Cons

    Some residents can be a pain to deal with, but you get all the help necessary.

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Glad to hear that you get the support you need in your role. Thanks for your post!


Showing 82 of 90 reviews
Reset Filters