University of Leicester Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
University of Leicester Chancellor Lord Grocott
Lord Grocott
26 Ratings
  1. "Senior research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly collegial atmosphere, good interaction across departments

    Cons

    Money saying policy at the moment

    University of Leicester2019-04-12
  2. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Reputable university and great research

    Cons

    Lack of funding , and really you need to work hard wherever you are if you want to achieve the goal.

    University of Leicester2019-04-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Location and parking are quite good if you're lucky enough to get a permit

    Cons

    Real lack of basic amenities on campus. Not very student friendly in my opinion. Very poor standard of work and real lack of ambition.

    University of Leicester2019-03-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No progression, no investment in staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Friendly place some nice managers who are genuine

    Cons

    Managers quick to take credit. No career progression past grade 5. Anyone who is anygood leaves. Senior managers many of them no team or even people skills. If bame no chance of going up the ladder.

    University of Leicester2019-03-28
  5. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester part-time

    Pros

    Support from other staff and services

    Cons

    Projects/ development can be slow

    University of Leicester2019-02-24
  6. "pdra in leicester university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, Leicester is a good place to live in

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    University of Leicester2019-02-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good facilities, but significant room for improvement on the human side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very professional, bright, proactive, good international exposure, good place to live, efficient electrical systems, state of the art computing environments, great condition, surrounding community a good urban place to live, promotes climate friendly transport, and energy use

    Cons

    lots of bureaucracy, very tight security, very rigid, inadequate pay for the cost of living, poor opportunities for advancement, not adequate gender representation in key fields.

    Continue reading
    University of Leicester2019-02-14
  8. "Lecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    It had really good working environment

    Cons

    No child vouch has been cancelled

    University of Leicester2019-02-14
  9. "Great place to work: inclusive with a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Everyone gets on with things and there is a clear direction

    Cons

    A little upheaval at the moment but there seems to be a shift in the entire HE sector

    University of Leicester2019-01-29
  10. "RA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Leicester part-time

    Pros

    Very friendly, probably easiest jobs I have had

    Cons

    Poor management skills, managers not communicating very well

    University of Leicester2019-01-04
Found 142 reviews