University of Leicester Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 115 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
University of Leicester CEO Lord Grocott
Lord Grocott
19 Ratings
  1. "Solid but with limitations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Big employer benefits; gym, pensions, flexible working Clarity over salaries

    Cons

    Some very badly behaved employees spoiling it for the rest. Questionable leadership

    Advice to Management

    Apply same standards to all employees. Think through consequences of your decisions better.

    University of Leicester2017-08-20
  2. "research short contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    good rese a r c h

    Cons

    not se c u r e

    University of Leicester2017-07-28
  3. "Student Ambassador - Good Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Leicester part-time

      Pros

      As a student ambassador - Good pay, nice colleagues and bosses, surprisingly fun job

      Cons

      Open days could use more signs that give directions

      University of Leicester2017-07-18
    • "Lecturer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of Leicester

      Pros

      - Flexible hours - Fast-paced work environment

      Cons

      - Unclear job expectations - Blurry job roles - Very competitive

      University of Leicester2017-07-30
    • "Uni"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student in Leicester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good atmosphere on campus etc really nice people

      Cons

      Dept of Economics is rubbish don't bother Staff at team Leicester can be difficult to work with

      University of Leicester2017-07-26
    • "GTA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Leicester full-time

      Pros

      Great opportunity to improve your teaching skills.

      Cons

      No cons that I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Make more collaborations with other Universities and promote PhD students more

      University of Leicester2017-06-21
    • "Research Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Assistant in Leicester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University of Leicester part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly University with plenty of scope for career advancement and pursuing personal research interests.

      Cons

      Busy University environment and lots of administration

      Advice to Management

      -

      University of Leicester2017-05-12
    • "Great potential... complete lack of planning"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University of Leicester full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Campus facilities; i.e gym, library and cafeterias Great buildings Pioneering research

      Cons

      Lack of skilled managers - managers have been promoted due to staff leaving, not due to merit Plans never come to fruition. Lack of organisational structure leads to doing what "we can" rather than doing what "we should" Be prepared for long days

      Advice to Management

      Invest in management training. Create a clear vision and structure before employing more staff.

      University of Leicester2017-05-08
    • "Great Place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at University of Leicester

        Pros

        Friendly staff, great managers, very flexible

        Cons

        There are none that I can think of

        University of Leicester2017-03-14
      • "Good money"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at University of Leicester part-time

        Pros

        Lots of training opportunities, flexible shifts like all uni ambassador schemes, Assessment Centre to select was useful

        Cons

        Visit days and Open days can get repetitive and boring

        University of Leicester2017-02-05
      Found 115 reviews