University of Leicester Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Reviews

Updated 19 September 2018
95 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

95 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Flexible working hours, work when you want, get to meet lots of great people and the chance to develop communication skills" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Provides excellent training, a considerate working environment that provides equal opportunities for all" (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "There needs to be more opportunities for career progression of junoir staff members (such as myself) and a more rigourous mentoring system" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management team is exceptionally poor" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Academic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    As an academic, there is relative freedom to pursue your own research.

    Cons

    I feel compelled to write this review because of the five star reviews that have been posted recently. Although some may be genuine, my suspicion is that at least some are fabricated. Let me explain.

    As a non-academic, the university is probably a good place to work.

    As an academic: Almost all departments are currently undergoing brutal "transformation" which is mainly about sacking staff. For example, the mathematics department were told to reapply for their jobs (after which 6 or so would be let go - approx 20 - 25% of the workforce). And similar approaches have been taken with other departments.

    Hopefully this review will serve to inform job seekers of the current situation.

    Advice to Management

    Your current approach is probably doomed to fail. I suggest to rethink, and try to get some talented managers in place. Hopefully things can be turned round, but at the moment most academic staff are very dissatisfied, and this will make it very difficult to get meaningful change pushed through (assuming you can identify what meaningful changes to make).

    University of Leicester Response

    4 Nov 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I’m sorry to read that your experience at the University has been a negative one.

    The University of Leicester is undergoing change, partly to ensure its long-term financial stability but mainly... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Project Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The location of the campus is brilliant with a lot of options for food.
    The salary sacrifice gym benefits were a great way of building an active and healthy social life at work.
    The holiday offering was good and offered a reasonable life-work balance.

    Cons

    Progression for junior level staff was difficult and very little development opportunities offered.
    Senior management decisions were often badly communicated and sometimes not executed well.
    There was a trend of ex-accountants managing large departments which stifled creativity and innovative projects.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within, offer development opportunities and tangible career progression from loyal members of staff and get rid of the accountants in senior management roles.

  3. "student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Student
    Current Employee - Student

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    good teaching resources at university.

    Cons

    sometimes challenges need to be overcome in the studying process.

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Please can you give a little more context on the challenges facing the studying process? I may be able to flag these up to the appropriate people. Many thanks.


  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Extra holidays
    35 hours a week working 9-5 with an hour for lunch
    Free WiFi
    Good facilities for food and drinks and 2 ATMS on campus
    Amazing sports facilities and at reasonable prices
    Located very centrally and everything within a walking distance

    Cons

    Very regimented in their approach to qualifications- concentrate on experience not certificates

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your interesting feedback. Recruitment best practice is a moving feast and the longer term trend may be to focus on a suite of online ‘strengths’ assessments, in replace of academic... More


  5. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting students
    Nice campus
    good health facilities

    Cons

    Going through a redundancy scheme
    No funding for conferences

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I appreciate that going through redundancy is never going to be a pleasant experience. Our redeployment policy is very employee friendly however – supporting those with 9 months continuous service... More


  6. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant
    Former Employee - Research Assistant

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent inter department atmosphere
    Access to a wide range of career support.
    Willingness of senior staff to push me to apply previous experience & skill-sets that I'd brought to the job

    Cons

    The office space was often rather cramped
    Thieves target the bike storage areas

    University of Leicester Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Our 2016 Staff Survey found that 94% of people working at the university agree with the statement,'I feel safe and secure in my working environment'.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok, but watch the students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Leicester, England

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Polite, quiet campus. Nice people, good range of services for staff.

    Cons

    Students have become increasingly demanding with the tuition fee increase and demand individual attention. At the slightest infraction they are content to go over your head and make you look bad.

    Staff are charged a premium for every service (clubs, sports + gym, food).

    Isolation and lack of communication are easy habits to pick up.

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    I guess students are an occupational hazard in this industry!

    Our students are at the heart of what we do and we are committed to ensuring that they receive the best possible educational support... More

  8. "Post-Doctoral Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Good facilities
    Nice environment
    Nice place of work

    Cons

    Not too much of interactions between groups

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your five star review!


  9. "A potential centre for excellence for research (various)!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Leicester, England
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    - Going back up the rankings for research
    - Senior researchers need more support in trying to advertise and obtain more funding.

    Cons

    - Focus on teaching, but have to treat students as customers i.e. they are never wrong. Can be a little more selective and ask more of the students - they are capable.

    Advice to Management

    HR, IT management, purchasing can be vastly simplified and streamlined. At a time when research funding is squeezed, researchers must be able to get the most out of their grants, not having to buy a computer at twice the price through the IT dept for example.

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Your comments are duly noted. Speaking on behalf of HR I can confirm that we are continually reviewing our processes with the aim of improving efficiency and service quality for a range of users.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "A bit too provincial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great group of colleagues - academics, researchers and support staff
    Interesting and relevant work
    Flexible hours and good benefits

    Cons

    Ugly campus with Brutalist architecture
    Pay grades too inflexible, not enough meritocracy
    Too insular, prefers to hire locals even if out-of-towners better, more experienced

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to individuality, don't be afraid to hire candidates with experience outside confines of East Midlands

    University of Leicester Response

    12 Aug 2016 – Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your post...This got me thinking, 'What proportion of University staff are Non-British nationals?' The answer is nearly 20%, with a total of 79 nationalities represented.


Showing 95 of 104 reviews
Reset Filters