University of Leicester "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
University of Leicester CEO Lord Grocott
Lord Grocott
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "No progression, no investment in staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Friendly place some nice managers who are genuine

    Cons

    Managers quick to take credit. No career progression past grade 5. Anyone who is anygood leaves. Senior managers many of them no team or even people skills. If bame no chance of going up the ladder.

    University of Leicester2019-03-28
  2. "Best Job I Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Computer Officer in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really nice working environment. Staff are helpful, friendly and respectful. Good secure employment. Very interesting work.

    Cons

    Salary isn't quite as competitive as can be obtained in industry. In the field I worked in there was limited scope for career progression after a certain level.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire me again.

    University of Leicester2018-11-02
  3. "Residential advisor (campus services) The University of Leicester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Advisor in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, good pay, friendly staff, a big team in campus services but everyone is lovely.

    Cons

    There is not much room for career progression in the job. The shifts are late, 6-11pm.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! I've really enjoyed my time here. Even the top management listen to you.

    University of Leicester2018-02-08
  4. "Rotten to the core - Riddled with lies, corruption, deceit and extra-marrital affairs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I hear the medication to treat work-related stress, anxiety and depression works wonders if you are a recreational drug-user.

    Cons

    Truly biblical amounts of malcious gossip, relentless back-stabbing, living under the constant fear of losing your job and risking your family and loved ones being smothered with a pillow in the middle of the night by an unknown hooded assailant. Career progression is only achieved through being related or 'affiliated' with someone already in the mythical realm of being above salary Grade 5.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it in your trousers, go home to your wives and children at night rather than jumping into bed with half the senior management team. Stop using your 'minions' as a whipping boys for your lack of man-management and people skills. Respect your employees, they are the ones who empty your bins, lock your door at night, wash your windows and cut the grass.

    University of Leicester2014-10-21
  5. "Inspiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leicester provides a flexible balanced workload, anice friendly atmostphere and great research opportunities. There are increasing interdisciplinary projects both within the university and with other universities in the UK and abroad. Leicester has a good environmental standard showing others the way forward. I have been working here for 3 years now while completing my PhD but before that I was a student for 4 years.... It is a great university and they cannot get rid of me!

    Show More

    Cons

    There needs to be more opportunities for career progression of junoir staff members (such as myself) and a more rigourous mentoring system. It is easy, especially for graduate teaching assistants, to get lost and forgotten about.

    Advice to Management

    Career advice for junior staff who may consider becoming a lecturer should be provided as well as a better avenue to progress in your career without quitting and re applying.

    University of Leicester2014-06-16
  6. "A Corrupt Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Facilities and front line collages alot of training and a nice student environment

    Cons

    Over baring ,uneducated, unresponsive and corrupt management. No equality within staff, more who you know than what you know and lots and lots of hearsay and un answered questions. No career progression or prospects.

    Advice to Management

    sack all of your Estates and security management and start again. Try not to be completely corrupt and treat staff as equals.

    University of Leicester2014-05-27
  7. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Line IT Support in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and reasonable management demands meant very little stress overall. Good opportunities for studying and developing further expertise. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Slow moving - career progression opportunities can be few and far between. It probably speaks good about the job that people at grade 8 and higher rearely leave, but the down side is at the lower levels career progression is near impossible regardless of performance.

    University of Leicester2013-11-23
Found 125 reviews