University of Leicester "flexible working hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Employee Reviews about "flexible working hours"

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
University of Leicester CEO Lord Grocott
Lord Grocott
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Residential advisor (campus services) The University of Leicester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Advisor in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Leicester part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, good pay, friendly staff, a big team in campus services but everyone is lovely.

    Cons

    There is not much room for career progression in the job. The shifts are late, 6-11pm.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! I've really enjoyed my time here. Even the top management listen to you.

    University of Leicester2018-02-08
  2. "Solid but with limitations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Big employer benefits; gym, pensions, flexible working Clarity over salaries

    Cons

    Some very badly behaved employees spoiling it for the rest. Questionable leadership

    Advice to Management

    Apply same standards to all employees. Think through consequences of your decisions better.

    University of Leicester2017-08-20
  3. "Chemistry Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester part-time

    Pros

    Pleasant, supportive working environment Flexible working hours Exposed to wide variety of work

    Cons

    Lack of job stability - hard to get job made permanent due to nature of work.

    University of Leicester2017-08-17
  4. "Student ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, work when you want, get to meet lots of great people and the chance to develop communication skills. Lots of different training and roles that you can try, lunch allowance

    Cons

    Not really too many, but the lunch allowance is not always that flexible on where you can use it

    University of Leicester2015-10-08
  5. "Union Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Leicester

    Pros

    Good sense of community Very flexible work hours Discounts and union merchandise Discount of university gym membership

    Cons

    The pay is not great and there is almost no opportunity for promotion. Staff are mostly made up of part time students so if you are not a student it would be hard to socialize with coworkers. Not very diverse compared with the Leicester itself

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps balance the amount student and non-student employees better. Encourage social events which do not revolve around alcohol.

    University of Leicester2015-06-01
  6. "Very supportive and friendly atmosphere. Well structured and fluid workload with scope."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Administrator in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours - I am often able to fit a 7 hour day between the hours of 7am and 9pm which is good for when I have other commitments. Self structured working allowing me to use variation when a particular area of work gets tedious or boring. If I need something all I have to do is ask (stationary, advice, contact info, training etc...). My particular field of work allows me to advance my knowledge through... low level research posters and attendance at relevant conferences and meetings. Although not specified in the job description it certainly helps expand my knowledge and understanding!

    Show More

    Cons

    Certain areas of work are tedious and boring but often need doing to meet deadlines and data submissions. Flexibility is based upon what workload is needed/not needed at the time. Career opportunities aren't often available and are often unclear. Pay is pretty low compared to others my age (26) and the pay scale increments only come around once a year AND you hit a 'ceiling' after 5 years.

    University of Leicester2014-07-21
  7. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team spirit Flexible working Good progression of career and development offered Good collaborative spirit for researchers in field Very competitive with other universities Constantly making top 20 of Times higer education lists

    Cons

    In academia hours can be long Work life balance has to maintained by yourself You need to be self motivated to get the work done University sites are spread across city from hospital to main campus. - not always a problem or con but something to consider Parking permits are like gold dust at hospital sites, so if you live close public transport or hospital hopper may be the mode of transport

    University of Leicester2014-05-23
  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Line IT Support in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and reasonable management demands meant very little stress overall. Good opportunities for studying and developing further expertise. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Slow moving - career progression opportunities can be few and far between. It probably speaks good about the job that people at grade 8 and higher rearely leave, but the down side is at the lower levels career progression is near impossible regardless of performance.

    University of Leicester2013-11-23
  9. "Learning and Satisfactory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    International Strategist in
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Leicester

    Pros

    Good place to work. Very flexible work environment. Appreciations well dished out. Opportunities of growth are plenty. Lots of holidays.

    Cons

    Slow and monotonous. Tedious procedures.

    University of Leicester2011-04-05
Found 125 reviews