University of Leicester "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Leicester Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
University of Leicester CEO Lord Grocott
Lord Grocott
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Student Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very friendly and supportive work environment - Well organised once shift is secured - Good pay - Great experience for future jobs - A wide range of shift types - Flexible ( 0 hours )

    Cons

    - Long winded, time consuming and outdated process to secure shifts which can take weeks for a single (potential) shift - Shifts can start very early (7am) on some shifts such as open days when there is often very little to do until visitors start to arrive at 9am.

    Advice to Management

    - Introduce a better system for shift allocation

    University of Leicester2019-05-20
  2. "Lecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    It had really good working environment

    Cons

    No child vouch has been cancelled

    University of Leicester2019-02-14
  3. "Best Job I Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Computer Officer in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really nice working environment. Staff are helpful, friendly and respectful. Good secure employment. Very interesting work.

    Cons

    Salary isn't quite as competitive as can be obtained in industry. In the field I worked in there was limited scope for career progression after a certain level.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire me again.

    University of Leicester2018-11-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Supportive and friendly working environment Independence Flexible hours Regular feedback

    Cons

    Management was not always efficient, but on the whole this didn't cause too many problems.

    University of Leicester2018-01-15
  5. "Football activator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at University of Leicester

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Great work environment.

    Cons

    Couldn't think of any in particular

    University of Leicester2017-10-27
  6. "Enjoyable with a great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment, friendly staff, good on site facilities.

    Cons

    A fair bit of unnecessary bureaucracy.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps offer more opportunities for development and learning for staff in order to get the best out of people.

    University of Leicester2017-10-23
  7. "Chemistry Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester part-time

    Pros

    Pleasant, supportive working environment Flexible working hours Exposed to wide variety of work

    Cons

    Lack of job stability - hard to get job made permanent due to nature of work.

    University of Leicester2017-08-17
  8. "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at University of Leicester

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Fast-paced work environment

    Cons

    - Unclear job expectations - Blurry job roles - Very competitive

    University of Leicester2017-07-30
  9. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Leicester

    Pros

    Nice environment to work in, with easy going and supportive staff. Students are enthusiastic and want to learn.

    Cons

    Set hours so you cannot do more/less. Occasional bad behaved student, but generally good overall.

    Advice to Management

    Management is already doing a good job, just continue what you are doing. I enjoyed my time here.

    University of Leicester2015-12-07

    University of Leicester Response

    August 12, 2016Recruitment Partner

    Thanks for your five star feedback!

  10. "Working at University of Leicester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Leicester

    Pros

    The work life balance is good at UOL. There is good flexibility to allow staff to work from home from time to time. Generally friendly working environment.

    Cons

    Pace of projects can be slow as there is a high level of bureaucracy. Project Managers often have to assume the role of BA, Test Manager etc. Can be difficult to get decisions on projects / buy in from non-IT stakeholders

    Advice to Management

    Continue to try streamline processes. Things have improved over recent times. Focus on delievring the projects that are a higher priority and will delievr benefit. Be prepared to put projects on hold that are lower priority as the need arises.

    University of Leicester2015-06-09
Found 125 reviews