University of Liverpool Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Liverpool Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
University of Liverpool CEO David McDonnell (no image)
David McDonnell
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good hours, pick your own lunch time, really good pay and free accommodation to stay over if during the holidays(in 7 reviews)

  • "The location in a great city with great people is an added bonus for staff and students alike(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "poor infrastructure (CAT3 very badly designed); poor management/financial team; poor technical team (many members with very little proficiency)(in 6 reviews)

  • "Lecturers helping out on the day could also be dismissive and arrogant(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One happy camper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Liverpool full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Attentive and friendly staff alongside world class research especially in Life sciences has made my time at Liverpool very enjoyable.

    Cons

    Very little; the amount of exams my course had last year was a bit silly and I don't believe it represents my full capabilities in the subjects (80% exam, 20% coursework, maybe 60/40? A bit too unforgiving!)

    Advice to Management

    See above

    University of Liverpool2019-10-01
  2. "all good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Casual Worker 

    I have been working at University of Liverpool part-time

    Pros

    easy job task, good wages per hours

    Cons

    less job available, first come first serve

    University of Liverpool2019-10-02
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PDRA in Liverpool, England

    I have been working at University of Liverpool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It the city is very friendly and the university offers a lot os support to early carrer staff

    Cons

    You cant apply as PI on grants

    University of Liverpool2019-09-25
  4. "Medicinal Chemist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Liverpool, England

    I have been working at University of Liverpool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, and support available

    Cons

    Large work load and long hours

    University of Liverpool2019-09-17
  5. "PhD Student at University of Liverpool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at University of Liverpool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, work with interesting ideas and people, good opportunities if you fully make the most of it.

    Cons

    Stressful, poor pay, lack of communication within the institution.

    University of Liverpool2019-09-13
  6. "Grade 4 teaching technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Liverpool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    quite relaxed, good training opportunities and secure job

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of progression

    University of Liverpool2019-08-23
  7. "A great job but no security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Liverpool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is great but lacks security

    Cons

    Teaching seems very second stream to research

    Advice to Management

    give more weight to teaching

    University of Liverpool2019-08-27
  8. "Managerial Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Liverpool part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of independence, flexible to your schedule and all from experience you have as a student.

    Cons

    Had a difficult time due to the department's organiser for open days, who would pick favourites and distribute shifts accordingly. Also, the shifts are highly irregular. Definitely not a job to rely on to pay bills. Lecturers helping out on the day could also be dismissive and arrogant.

    Advice to Management

    Treat students helping you out better, rather than obsessing over the lecturers and PhD students.

    University of Liverpool2019-08-14
  9. "university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student 

    I worked at University of Liverpool full-time

    Pros

    good city to live in

    Cons

    poor lecturers and general professionalism

    University of Liverpool2019-07-30
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at University of Liverpool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of support for mental health, friendly environment.

    Cons

    Lots of people in the lab

    University of Liverpool2019-07-24
Found 143 reviews