University of Nottingham Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Nottingham Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
University of Nottingham Vice-Chancellor Professor Shearer West  (no image)
Professor Shearer West
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Career progression may not be clear(in 11 reviews)

  • "The ongoing pensions dispute amongst academics makes one doubt whether there is a stable future in public research(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A business school full-time student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High class teaching, great people

    Cons

    Impersonal relationship with lecturers too

    University of Nottingham2020-01-28

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  2. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits - holidays, christmas closure

    Cons

    High workload, lack of support

    University of Nottingham2020-02-20

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments! If you have ongoing issues with lack of support from your team or management, we would encourage you to get in touch with HR (hr@nottingham.ac.uk)

    Continue reading
  3. "Flexible working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Administrator in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Beautiful buildings and settings Training People

    Cons

    Pay could be better New computer system issues

    University of Nottingham2020-02-13

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  4. "A Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous holiday entitlement Professionalism Team Work Training Kind management and co-workers

    Cons

    Difficult to advance in salary or negotiate

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2020-02-13
  5. "Mostly an enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I enjoy collaborating and working on projects with my colleagues. - The environment is relaxed and I am mostly free to manage my own time.

    Cons

    - Dealing with IT can be difficult when something is out of the ordinary and doesn't fit into Office365 or OneDrive. - Salaries are not competitive for certain industries, such as Computer Science. - Little acknowledgement for contributions outside of explicit job description. - Performance reviews offer little reward. I don't feel like there is a way I can be adequately rewarded for my efforts. - Building is in poor condition.

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2020-02-13
  6. "Totally depends who you work with and where you work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham part-time

    Pros

    There are some genius minds and beautiful people

    Cons

    Systems are poor and declining and limiting academic progress.

    University of Nottingham2020-02-05

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments! There are discussions and investment going on across the University to ensure our systems are up to date, so hopefully you will find this improves over the next few years.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great employer, flexible shifts and good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Nottingham part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience for students, good opportunity to make some money alongside studies and very generous pay.

    Cons

    Not always allocated shifts you put in for.

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2020-02-02

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professor 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    A friendly and attractive place to work

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    University of Nottingham2020-01-16

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  9. "A great Univeristy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An institution full of opportunities and services

    Cons

    Nottingham is not as big as London, yet there are plenty of advantages if you don't like chaotic city life

    University of Nottingham2020-01-15

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  10. "Very good research environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Associate 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pro-active thinking is allowed. Good team-work.

    Cons

    Scheduling better and allow isolation during lunch breaks.

    University of Nottingham2020-01-10

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 426 reviews