University of Nottingham "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Nottingham Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 29 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
University of Nottingham Vice-Chancellor Professor Shearer West  (no image)
Professor Shearer West
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Career progression may not be clear(in 11 reviews)

  • "The ongoing pensions dispute amongst academics makes one doubt whether there is a stable future in public research(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overall highly recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Nottingham full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall it is an amazing place to work

    Cons

    Career progression is fairly slow

    University of Nottingham2018-10-02

    University of Nottingham Response

    January 30, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your time at the University. We have been working over the last few years to ensure that progression is a key part of our workforce development and have implemented a number of measures to ensure that everyone has access to necessary training in order to up-skill themselves, and providing opportunities to progress where possible.

    Continue reading
  2. "Poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    * Multi-cultural environment * Interesting research going on * Nice campus

    Cons

    * Management is terrible, constantly wasting money in useless things * Too much workload is delegated to lecturers (research+administration+teaching) * Feedback from students is crucial for your career progression. However, surveys are conducted in a very superficial way (by an external and I guess well paid company), with key parameters (like for example the student's attendance to lectures) totally missing. This forces those who want to progress in their career to be very generous with their marking and to reduce the overall challenge of the courses to avoid rage motivated feedback from students. Basically, in this university the students are marking the lecturers, not the other way round. * Salary is UK level (very low) * Apparently there is no serious cleaning service or estate management

    University of Nottingham2019-12-29

    University of Nottingham Response

    January 7, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. I understand some of your concerns that you have mentioned. The salary for all our workers is based on nationally negotiated salary scales, so that is not something we can impact unfortunately. As an industry in the UK student experience has become key to the operating model, as with many other Universities, we ensure that our students enjoy there time here and are successful in achieving their goals, this is something that is very important to our core values. As for our cleaning and estates service, they do an excellent job, and very rarely are there complaints.

    Continue reading
  3. "Not the best place for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Officer 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pension and holidays are good

    Cons

    Not the best place for career progression

    University of Nottingham2019-11-25

    University of Nottingham Response

    November 28, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments. For career progression we offer some excellent development opportunities in terms of courses and qualifications. We also have our Leadership and Management Academy which gives you access to a range of tools and skills in order to move forward with your career. Where possible, across the University, we encourage staff to put themselves forward for jobs that are being recruited for. I am aware in some areas jobs at a higher level don't present themselves as often as others, so I would also encourage you to keep an eye on jobs being advertised (www.nottingham.ac.uk/jobs) so you can keep abreast of progression opportunities.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good location and annual leave allowance. Freedom to learn and receive training.

    Cons

    Poor career progression prospects/only fixed term contracts

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2019-08-25

    University of Nottingham Response

    September 10, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your kind words, our annual leave is excellent and we aim to be as flexible as possible with our employees hours. Unfortunately the fixed-term contract for post-doctoral researchers is an industry wide problem.

    Continue reading
  5. "Working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Work and life balance can be obtainable.

    Cons

    Career progression may not be clear.

    University of Nottingham2019-04-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Fellow in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good professional development programme Innovative research projects Beautiful, green campus Generous holidays

    Cons

    Short term contracts in research Depending on the department, and who works there: Can be cliquey, with some subtle bullying practices (being frozen out if not in the in crowd) Some poor, demotivating people management practices e.g. little communication between senior and more junior staff on matters that affect them directly (so no feeling of 'buy in') No career progression support/guidance for staff if line managers are 'too busy' (and secure in their own positions) little recognition for going the extra mile, for staff not in the in group Redeployment seems to be a tick box exercise-in theory staff should be rehired in a similar role on a trial basis, with training offered. In practice this doesn't seem to happen, with employers preferring to advertise the role more widely.

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2018-05-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    -flexible working -relaxed environment -friendly colleagues -Green campus

    Cons

    -lack of career progression -contract based -no job security

    University of Nottingham2018-03-12
  8. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy, flexibility, support for training

    Cons

    All depends on study team you are working with. Hard for career progression.

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2017-03-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Post-doc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Good professional development scheme, beautiful campus.

    Cons

    It depends on the group, but in my experience it is the bullies and clique members who tend to be retained and promoted. Bullying tactics involve undermining, ignoring, excluding, withholding information, sabotage, mobbing, passive aggression and blocking career progression opportunities for non-favourites. Unfortunately, the victims can be reluctant to speak out for fear of losing their job-and the bullies know this.

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2016-08-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Really slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, no intervention,

    Cons

    Very slow career progression, bad salary

    University of Nottingham2016-05-05
Found 11 reviews