University of Nottingham "flexible working hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Nottingham Employee Reviews about "flexible working hours"

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
University of Nottingham Vice-Chancellor Professor Shearer West  (no image)
Professor Shearer West
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Career progression may not be clear(in 11 reviews)

  • "The ongoing pensions dispute amongst academics makes one doubt whether there is a stable future in public research(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ingenuity Centre internship with Iran Sheen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Start Up Business in Nottingham, England

    I worked at University of Nottingham for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Engaging work Experience working with a business owner Good pay for a student intern

    Cons

    Very individual work, only working with one other person. Lacking a workplace culture

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2019-08-16

    University of Nottingham Response

    September 10, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments and rating. I am glad you are enjoying your time in our Ingenuity Centre!

    Continue reading
  2. "Flexible working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Administrator in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Beautiful buildings and settings Training People

    Cons

    Pay could be better New computer system issues

    University of Nottingham2020-02-13

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - PhD Student in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at University of Nottingham for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working as a PhD student invites a very flexible work day. People and campus are both great.

    Cons

    Support for PhD students and their progression on to the next stage of a research career is minimum.

    University of Nottingham2020-01-13

    University of Nottingham Response

    February 27, 2020Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments. We aim to ensure that our PhD students get the support they need, and encourage them to speak to their School if they feel they are not be provided with the level of guidance expected in order to progress their career.

    Continue reading
  4. "review of postdoctoral research fellow job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible working hours and opportunity for self development

    Cons

    low salary compared to industry

    University of Nottingham2019-04-14

    University of Nottingham Response

    May 15, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you feel the benefit of our excellent flexible working policies, helping our staff strike a great work/life balance

    Continue reading
  5. "Student Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham part-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, friendly staff and a supportive environment.

    Cons

    Work shifts can be difficult to get, but the new system being implemented is proving to be improving this.

    University of Nottingham2018-11-18
  6. "Research officer for RBRU, based at University of Nottingham"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Officer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, very flexible work, good if you like numbers. You get to drive out to farms and speak to farmers. Great manager, super understanding. Chance to go to lunchtime and evening guest lectures at the university, lots of courses to go on.

    Cons

    zero promotion opportunities, within the job the same thing is done every year -this may suit some people, just getting better at the same task repeated. This role is involves far more accountancy than was expected/advertised.

    University of Nottingham2018-11-11

    University of Nottingham Response

    December 11, 2018Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments, I am really happy that you enjoy your role, and the team you work with. We are looking at how we can make our promotion criteria more transparent to aid with career progression and promotion, and hope that it is something all staff are aware of in the future.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible working hours and times. Very self driven research programme with lots of autonomy and room to explore.

    Cons

    Can be difficult in university bureaucracy to get support or help when your programme does not meet your need or expectations.

    University of Nottingham2018-09-21
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, friendly colleagues, lots of opportunities

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    University of Nottingham2018-05-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Shockingly bureaucratic with suffocating management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Nottingham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours. Generally nobody does any work so you can get away with anything. They throw lots of money into superficial wellbeing events where you can spend your working day doing yoga and colouring in.

    Cons

    The management is suffocating and there is no real care for the wellbeing of employees. Some departments are clearly overloaded with work but instead time and money is spent doing days of colouring in and attending courses that you'll never use in your employment. The company exploits students for free labour quite consistently with very little wellbeing support in place. It drains you as a person, I wouldn't go back if it was the last place on earth.

    University of Nottingham2018-05-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    -flexible working -relaxed environment -friendly colleagues -Green campus

    Cons

    -lack of career progression -contract based -no job security

    University of Nottingham2018-03-12
Found 24 reviews