University of Nottingham Employee Reviews about "nottingham"

Updated Oct 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 1,051 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
University of Nottingham Vice-Chancellor Professor Shearer West  (no image)
Professor Shearer West
203 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly working environment and supportive staff(in 51 reviews)

  • "good working environment flexible working hours(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Career progression can be difficult(in 16 reviews)

  • "Honestly could not say anything bad about Uni of Nottingham(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,887

    959 Comments

    Teachers

    158.8K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=University of Nottingham~35827
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "nottingham"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Really Good!

      Oct 4, 2021 - Postgradaute Student 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, supportive, very good infrastructure.

      Cons

      Honestly could not say anything bad about Uni of Nottingham.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Contractor

      Bureacracy

      Jun 27, 2021 - Research Fellow 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice campus, nice work environment

      Cons

      Like many universities, Nottingham is being filled with lots of pointless bureacracy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent

      Apr 18, 2021 - Motor Control Engineer in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent environment for research on the motor control system

      Cons

      Limited places to visit in nottingham city

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Contractor

      Great Uni

      Mar 6, 2021 - Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My research group is great and based in a department at the forefront of its research topic.

      Cons

      I have yet to actually see Nottingham because of the pandemic!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great uni

      Nov 16, 2020 - Student in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good educational value and social life

      Cons

      Nottingham is a very rowdy place, not everyone likes that.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      OK

      Oct 17, 2020 - Research Fellow in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reputable employer, good staff support, grounds pleasant to stroll around

      Cons

      short term contracts, parking in Nottingham is not free, significant variations in expectations and working practices

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great university to study engineering

      Sep 11, 2020 - Student in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many engineering facilities Attractive campus Not far from the city

      Cons

      Nottingham has a lot of crime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great Univeristy

      Jan 15, 2020 - PhD Student 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An institution full of opportunities and services

      Cons

      Nottingham is not as big as London, yet there are plenty of advantages if you don't like chaotic city life

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Nottingham Response

      Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

      Thank you for your comments!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Innovative and Considered

      Apr 17, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment Innovative and challenging people to keep you motivated International perspective with campuses in UK , Malaysia and China

      Cons

      Nottingham isn’t the biggest city to live in The higher education sector is becoming ever more competitive and local government policy along with Brexit are add to the challenge s

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Nottingham Response

      Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

      Thank you for your comments, I am really glad you enjoy working at our University. The "Cons" you have highlighted are concerns we have as a sector and we are doing everything we can to ensure we mitigate the impact of Brexit and other sector challenges as we continue to be an International University, with a diverse workforce and a strong focus on building lasting relationships across the world.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Postgraduate Student (Research)

      Jan 29, 2019 - Postgraduate Researcher in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Nice Campus - Excellent transportation and facilities - Research-leading University - Diversity - Nice sport village

      Cons

      - Poor mindset among newly-arrived researchers I spent a long time in the University of Nottingham, been very sick and tired of the racism that happens in the University. As a chinese student, I personally believe that student should seek alternative destinations for their studies. I often received sarcasm from a specific group of people which I do not want to specify here. The form of sarcasm is tend towards racism, micromanagement operates here without law stopping them (mainly, targeting Chinese students).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Nottingham Response

      Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

      Thank you for your comments. I am very concerned by some of the things you have mentioned, and would always recommend you get in touch with HR with any issue at all. The HR team is here to support you and ensure your time at the University is enjoyable and productive. We take any allegation like this seriously, and our Equality, Diversity and Inclusion agenda has been put in place to both educate our staff, and celebrate the diversity of our workforce. I would urge you to get in touch with HR to discuss the problems you have raised and they will be dealt with immediately.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with University of Nottingham Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at University of Nottingham? Share Your Experiences

    or