University of Nottingham "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Nottingham Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 25 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
University of Nottingham Vice-Chancellor Professor Shearer West  (no image)
Professor Shearer West
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Career progression may not be clear(in 11 reviews)

  • "The ongoing pensions dispute amongst academics makes one doubt whether there is a stable future in public research(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Extremely engaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Student Demonstrator in Nottingham, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Nottingham for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Good work environment Extensive training Clear supervision Responsive to feedback

    Cons

    Sometimes the bureaucracy is opaque Can take time to negotiate with the agency that handles timesheets

    University of Nottingham2019-10-03

    University of Nottingham Response

    November 28, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  2. "A place where you gotta be independent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marie Curie Fellow in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decen campuses, good working environment

    Cons

    Difficult to seek support from line managers, all things need to be resolved yourself basically

    University of Nottingham2020-03-25
  3. "PhD student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    It has an excellent work environment

    Cons

    I cannot find any cons to put

    University of Nottingham2019-06-18

    University of Nottingham Response

    June 25, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your wonderful comments! I am glad you are enjoying your time at the University!

    Continue reading
  4. "Postdoctoral Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A relaxed working environment and a huge choice of personal development opportunities

    Cons

    Postdoctoral work is always temporary. Fixed positions in research are rare. The cleaning and maintenance of buildings is done to a very low standard to save money.

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2019-05-22
  5. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Work environment, flexibility of work hours

    Cons

    Work-life balance, financial investments made

    University of Nottingham2019-05-08

    University of Nottingham Response

    May 15, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments, the flexibility of working hours we offer generally means that our employees can strike an excellent work/life balance.

    Continue reading
  6. "Innovative and Considered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment Innovative and challenging people to keep you motivated International perspective with campuses in UK , Malaysia and China

    Cons

    Nottingham isn’t the biggest city to live in The higher education sector is becoming ever more competitive and local government policy along with Brexit are add to the challenge s

    Continue reading
    University of Nottingham2019-04-17

    University of Nottingham Response

    May 15, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments, I am really glad you enjoy working at our University. The "Cons" you have highlighted are concerns we have as a sector and we are doing everything we can to ensure we mitigate the impact of Brexit and other sector challenges as we continue to be an International University, with a diverse workforce and a strong focus on building lasting relationships across the world.

    Continue reading
  7. "Doing a PhD at Notts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Supportive work environment, advanced equipment available

    Cons

    Excessive paperwork with regards to carrying out experiments

    University of Nottingham2019-03-11

    University of Nottingham Response

    April 11, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments, and I am pleased you like the work environment and the available equipment!

    Continue reading
  8. "Part-Time Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Office Student Ambassador in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Nottingham part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Dynamic work environment - Very encouraging co-workers - Creative Approach to Ideas and projects

    Cons

    - Need to give interns a more wider perspective of how their role is contributing to the overall output.

    University of Nottingham2019-02-08

    University of Nottingham Response

    March 1, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the University. We take on board your comments about giving everyone perspective on their impact and this will be fed back to the relevant people.

    Continue reading
  9. "Associate Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time

    Pros

    Good career prospects and supportive work environment

    Cons

    Senior management using antiquated business model

    University of Nottingham2018-12-31

    University of Nottingham Response

    January 3, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your comments, I am glad you can see that our environment is one that both supports and encourages collaboration and career development. Your comments about Senior Managers is something that the University is continuing to strive to improve, we have a Leadership Management Academy (now in its 3rd year) looking at working with managers at all levels to improve practice, skills and knowledge which should help overcome any outdated practice. As a University, the Vice Chancellor has a very modern and forward thinking vision which will help us lead the way in Higher Education in the UK, and further improve staffing skills across all business areas and levels.

    Continue reading
  10. "A pleasant place to work, as long as money is not your sole motivation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Doctoral Researcher in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at University of Nottingham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment Helpful input from supervisors/colleagues Good social environment Opportunity for travel

    Cons

    The ongoing pensions dispute amongst academics makes one doubt whether there is a stable future in public research.

    University of Nottingham2018-09-20
Found 34 reviews