University of St. Andrews Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of St. Andrews Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
University of St. Andrews CEO Sally Mapstone
Sally Mapstone
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work is easy and the working environment while busy is typically enjoyable and high-energy(in 6 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, great staff who want to see you succeed, fair amount of responsibility for an intern, great pay(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no train station in the town, the closest one is 10 min bus away(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Porter in Saint Andrews, Scotland

    I worked at University of St. Andrews part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great on the day shift

    Cons

    night shift was very boring

    University of St. Andrews2019-06-17
  2. "Review Telephone Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telephone Fundraiser 

    I worked at University of St. Andrews part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours for student schedule, good work environment, paid training, best salary in town.

    Cons

    Odd hours, and the work itself requires a lot of emotional labour.

    University of St. Andrews2019-05-07
  3. "PhD student mathematics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at University of St. Andrews full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great, friendly work atmosphere Flexible working arrangements

    Cons

    Obvious payment aspect when pursuing a PhD Research/collaborations could have more links to industry and across disciplines

    University of St. Andrews2019-02-11
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Good job, poor environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Innovation Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of St. Andrews full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Training opportunities are good, e.g. ILM-approved management training and many others. The trainers are a good standard, with a variety of courses offered throughout the year. Academically, the University has a good reputation, which may help advance academic careers. The town is picturesque and fairly quiet most of the time. The UCU is particularly good here, so it is worth joining and helping out where possible.

    Cons

    Having worked in the area of academic-industry collaborations and won substantial funding (av. £1M+ per year over the past several years), I thought there was a lot I could do for this University. As a very independent person I am happy to get on with my job and deliver beyond expectations as much as possible. There is nothing I could do for this University in that regard. I was subjected to some an ongoing pattern...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your culture is wretched and this is becoming common knowledge. You get the staff you deserve.

    University of St. Andrews2019-02-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great University ruined by mediocre staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Andrews, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of St. Andrews full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great University Mature students Quality research

    Cons

    Mediocre staff unorganized and less professional compared to other top UK universities

    Advice to Management

    Pick your staff wisely. Focus on quality more than quantity.

    University of St. Andrews2018-12-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Bank staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Staff 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of St. Andrews part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility on shift patterns

    Cons

    Serious levels of workplace conflict among supervisors and managing staff, poor training, an unwillingness to train all bank staff on all aspects of job even when it would help the department run more smoothly

    University of St. Andrews2018-11-22
  7. "Bank Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of St. Andrews part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours (could fit it around my studies)

      Cons

      None, it's an ideal student job

      University of St. Andrews2018-11-11
    • "Fantastic University but poor management and working practices"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Market Research Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at University of St. Andrews full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Walking around town at lunch time is the highlight of my day, sick pay is generous.

      Cons

      Salaries are well below industry standards, senior management are uneducated and stick together even when they are in the wrong, bullying happens and is covered up, no flexible working - very rigid working pattern leaves little flexibility for work / life balance

      Advice to Management

      You must work with your staff to achieve your department and organisational goals. Your role is to work with others, to help them be productive and effective and not hinder performance or achievements!

      University of St. Andrews2018-12-12
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Warden in Saint Andrews, Scotland

      I have been working at University of St. Andrews part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good community and great team spirit

      Cons

      the town can feel a bit small

      University of St. Andrews2018-10-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good working environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University of St. Andrews full-time

      Pros

      Very easy to ask for help.

      Cons

      No strict target setting, projects can meander.

      University of St. Andrews2018-10-02
    Found 70 reviews