University of Sunderland Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 58 reviews

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
University of Sunderland Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive David Bell (no image)
David Bell
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,866

959 Comments

Teachers

128.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=University of Sunderland~539798
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Sep 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance Good holidays

    Cons

    Lack of training No career progression

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good environment, poor salary

    Sep 30, 2021 - Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good amount of training and free coffee

    Cons

    To much work / managers can be a bit rude

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good luck if you want to progress

    Oct 19, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Sunderland, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Holiday entitlement and pay are generous.

    Cons

    It is a while since I left this employer, but I understand that many of the 'rotten apples' are still there. Too many self-serving individuals in management who have little to no regard for staff wellbeing. Many individuals here are too preoccupied with protecting their own empire and consequently neglect the more holistic needs of their staff. Progression is extremely difficult. It became apparent to me after my first couple of weeks here that this place does not attach a significant value to training and development and the job would be a means to an end. It's really a shame, as there are so many talented individuals with a lot to offer who are not given opportunities to develop and enhance the organisation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Administrative Assistant

    Aug 20, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed working for this company as the people really made the job. Everyone was really friendly and were not just colleagues they were friends. The pay is reasonable compared to similar jobs in this sector. The holidays were excellent and working patterns were flexible which allowed for a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    The job could be quite stressful at times due to staffing shortages. Training was minimal.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic university

    Jun 25, 2021 - Student Engineer Trainee in Sunderland, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good lecturers, fantastic support and great.

    Cons

    Catering is bad, lack of hands on work due to COVID outbreak

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Why should I feel this box

    Jun 23, 2021 - Graffiti Grounds in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s good because it’s paying

    Cons

    It’s bad because i have to answer 21 questions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    May 7, 2021 - Academic Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible environment, good T&C’s, great friendly environment

    Cons

    Slow to change, could do with thinking more about this.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Sunderland Response

    Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you valued the flexible and friendly environment as well as the T&Cs we offer. We present life-changing opportunities to thousands of students across the world all thanks to our fantastic academic and support teams. We are always open to reviewing our approach to change to best support our people and students. If you’d like to provide further feedback please email us at employee.recruitment@sunderland.ac.uk .

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great employer

    Feb 17, 2021 - Careers Adviser in Sunderland, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The wellbeing of staff is important. Our students are fantastic. Staff are committed to helping students.

    Cons

    I hot desk, which I don't find conducive to working effectively.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Grad Intern Via Uni4Talent

    Jan 21, 2021 - Graduate Intern in Sunderland, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast Interview, good Exposure, good feedback

    Cons

    pay is low compared to work done

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Opportunity

    Nov 10, 2020 - Principal Lecturer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Progressive and ambitious senior leadership

    Cons

    complex history, culture, and politics

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

Popular Careers with University of Sunderland Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at University of Sunderland? Share Your Experiences

or