University of Sunderland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of Sunderland Reviews

Updated 26 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
David Bell
0 Ratings
  1. "Digitam Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Sunderland full-time

    Pros

    Great team and amazing work-life balance.

    Cons

    Communication between departments could be better.

    University of Sunderland2018-09-23

    University of Sunderland Response

    April 18, 2019Head of HR Business Partnering

    Thank you very much for your positive review. Feedback from our staff does show that we are considered a friendly place to work.

  2. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid if at all possible - This review is for the London campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Sunderland full-time

    Pros

    - Despite being quite a negative environment, many employees are very pleasant to work with. - The job designs are generally quite poor, so you do get a lot of experience across a range of functions and activities. - Generally good annual leave including 27 days annual in addition to bank holidays and Christmas closure. - They'll pay for you to attend graduation ceremonies, paying for your hotel and expenses, which...

    Show More

    Cons

    - The salaries are EXTREMELY poor! The salaries for each job post are probably around £4,000 below equivalent roles in other London HE institutions. This is something that can be researched very easily. They do say they provide LWA of around £1,000... maybe think about what this says about how much they value their staff. - The pension scheme is terrible for a HE institution. UoSiL use NEST and pay a mere 3% of your...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This will never be actioned, so only worth writing for the benefit of the audience. - £9,000 isn't an appropriate amount of money to be charging students, as the institution is such poor quality. UoS isn't well ranked anyway, if UoSiL was standalone, it would undoubtedly be in the bottom 5% across all measures. There is little value for money and the programmes are definitely not worth £9,000 and I think most people...

    Show More
    University of Sunderland2019-02-27

    University of Sunderland Response

    April 3, 2019HR Adviser

    Dear Employee, I note that you are still employed by the University, therefore I would encourage you to speak to the Director of London Campus or the Human Resource team about your concerns and observations that you listed in your review. I am sure you are aware, we also regularly ...

    Show More
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunderland, North East England, England

      I worked at University of Sunderland part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Social activity, constantly busy, chances to make friends from many different countries on the planet.

      Cons

      Can be open until quite late in some departments such as the library. There is no 9 - 5 and they do sometimes require weekend work.

      University of Sunderland2018-07-24

      University of Sunderland Response

      April 18, 2019Head of HR Business Partnering

      Thank you for your positive review. Our exit interview analysis shows that 100% of our leavers would work for us again and also recommend to a friend.

    • "Nice"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at University of Sunderland full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good leave and close down holidays Nice location

      Cons

      Salary grades not competative in region

      University of Sunderland2018-03-25

      University of Sunderland Response

      April 18, 2018Marketing & Recruitment

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at the University of Sunderland. We appreciate your feedback.

    • "University"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student in Sunderland, North East England, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Sunderland full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      it is very exciting and informative

      Cons

      the debt is a lot for young person

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      University of Sunderland2018-01-09

      University of Sunderland Response

      February 9, 2018Social Media Coordinator

      We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience of working at the University of Sunderland. Thank you for your feedback.

    • "Ok orgainations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University of Sunderland full-time

      Pros

      Generally good working benefits and atmosphere

      Cons

      Lack of support and interest from executive

      University of Sunderland2017-10-29

      University of Sunderland Response

      February 9, 2018Marketing & Recruitment

      Thank you for taking the time to review your time working at the University of Sunderland. Your feedback has been taking into account and will be relayed back to the relevant department.

    • "zero star"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pharmacist in Sunderland, North East England, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Sunderland part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      N/A not available at all

      Cons

      the worst admission staff ever !! non professional, aggressive and they looked like fed up. you can't discuss your opinion with them. they feeling they are right and the others wrong

      University of Sunderland2017-10-05

      University of Sunderland Response

      February 9, 2018Marketing & Recruitment

      Thank you for taking the time to review your time working at the University of Sunderland. I’m very sorry to hear that you encountered an issue with our admission staff and will pass your feedback on to the department in question for development and training purposes.

    • "If you are new here good luck!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - H R Administrator in Sunderland, North East England, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at University of Sunderland full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Other departments the staff are very friendly! Good area! Good students! Good IT system Good perks Treated special if you are staff

      Cons

      The department i was in was unprepared, understaffed and overworked. I didn't have my own desk or computer so 'hotspotted' alot. Trained as you went along, management is non existent and you see them at meetings only and they are very critical of everyone even though they are not around. You were expected to know everything and do alot in a short space of time. No introduction/rapport with fellow colleagues, you jump...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Make sure someone is intergrated properly as a team. Take time in introducions and training. Get more staff and busy periods ie enrollement you clearly need it!

      University of Sunderland2017-05-18

      University of Sunderland Response

      February 9, 2018Marketing & Recruitment

      Thank you for taking the time to review your time working at the University of Sunderland. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not entirely positive and will feed your points back to the team to ensure they improve moving forwards.

    • "HR Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Sunderland, North East England, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Sunderland part-time

      Pros

      Great team, enjoyable work and good benefits - 5 days christmas closure, 26 days leave, pension. Genuine employer who has IIP and tries very hard to get things right.

      Cons

      Prone to overloading staff and then sending them on time management courses. Bureaucratic, hierarchial organisation that seems to be always fire fighting rather than forecasting and planning.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your staff, implment the work life balances you are so proud of so that staff actually benefit and get your head out of the sand, its a competitive industry and the staff are excellent and with the right management attitude we should be a huge success

      University of Sunderland2017-03-06

      University of Sunderland Response

      February 9, 2018Marketing & Recruitment

      Thank you for taking the time to review your time at the University of Sunderland, we appreciate your feedback and will certainly take into account moving forwards.

    • "GOOD SALARY LACK OF PROSPECTS"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University of Sunderland full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      good salary paid but lack of training and development opportunities considering they are a higher educational institute.

      Cons

      lack of promotion opportunities due to old styled culture and poor HRM.

      Advice to Management

      learn about how to integrate HRM into the corporate strategy.

      University of Sunderland2016-11-30
    Found 19 reviews