University of the West of England Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

University of the West of England Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
University of the West of England CEO Sir Ian Carruthers
Sir Ian Carruthers
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff are welcoming and supportive, diversity is encouraged and flexible working patterns supported(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good working with students, helping them to achieve their best(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "If students did not attend lectures, without basic knowledge sessions could be ineffective(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fair employeer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of the West of England full-time

    Pros

    Great working culture and a nice mix of people

    Cons

    It can be stressful at times but it is very rewarding

    Advice to Management

    Promote greater employee integration outside of working hours

    University of the West of England2019-02-23

    University of the West of England Response

    February 26, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review.

  2. "Can't see myself every working anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of the West of England part-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good working arrangements, flexi time.

    Cons

    The traffic, it's often rather busy!

    University of the West of England2019-02-15

    University of the West of England Response

    February 19, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Don't get me started on the traffic! As an avid cyclist I can smugly comment that I don't have a problem at all. Problem is caused by the amount of people travelling one in a car when there are bus and train options that stop either on site or near by!!

  3. "Catering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of the West of England part-time

      Pros

      Flexible, safe working environment, stable

      Cons

      Not at all, good to work at uni

      University of the West of England2019-03-01

      University of the West of England Response

      April 9, 2019Resourcing Manager

      Appreciate you taking the time to comment and glad that you enjoyed your time here!

    • "My experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of the West of England full-time

      Pros

      Good work/ life balance. Supportive of staff with additional needs. Vibrant campus. Great access to learning materials through the library.

      Cons

      Progressive messages of senior staff does not filter into the day to day operations... or it does so very slowly.

      Advice to Management

      Look into the process for recruiting and retaining talent. Work on developing a staff culture which is more open and consultative.

      University of the West of England2019-02-08

      University of the West of England Response

      February 19, 2019Resourcing Manager

      Thanks for posting your experience of working at UWE. In my capacity as Resourcing Manager I can confirm that we constantly review and oversee improvement in the recruitment process but there is always work to be done on retaining talent. Changing culture is a massive challenge for ...

      Show More
    • "Employer Excellence"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources & Payroll in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at University of the West of England full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      From well being accreditation to a fully engaged workforce committed to the benefit of our student community, The Students' Union at the University West of England is an excellent organisation in which to work.

      Cons

      Traffic in Bristol can mean a little extra time in getting to work. Our Student community demand the best service, this creates a fast paced, creative and rewarding environment in which to work.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing!

      University of the West of England2019-01-24

      University of the West of England Response

      January 28, 2019Resourcing Manager

      Thanks for posting the review. Depending on where you live and your circumstances, don't forget the alternative methods of getting to work - e.g Metro bus, cycling etc!

    • "PAL leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University of the West of England part-time

      Pros

      Great Flexibility of hours, content covered is up to you

      Cons

      The preparation of each weekly session

      University of the West of England2019-01-22

      University of the West of England Response

      January 28, 2019Resourcing Manager

      Make sure that you mention this experience on your cv for life after UWE. It is evidence that you have got involved in mentoring and is extremely useful.

    • "research staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of the West of England part-time

      Pros

      Good and friendly environment in general

      Cons

      Not many opportunities for progression

      University of the West of England2019-01-18

      University of the West of England Response

      January 22, 2019Resourcing Manager

      Thanks for posting your comment. Please keep looking at our website for other opportunities in research and elsewhere in the university. Research posts in particular are tied to funding.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at University of the West of England

        Pros

        Great Campus and close to new build development housing that provided a short walk to and from the campus. Modern and new facilities.

        Cons

        Salary was lower than expected.

        University of the West of England2019-01-13

        University of the West of England Response

        February 12, 2019Resourcing Manager

        Hi, thanks for posting your review. Hopefully the benefits package made up for the level of salary that you agreed for the post. Good luck in your future career.

      • "Real community feeling."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Operations Team Manager in Bristol, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at University of the West of England full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        UWE is made up of 3,500 staff and 27,000 students, so you are not just working in a company - you are working in a whole community! A community that is full of opportunity, creativity and enthusiasm - and that is what makes it a great place to work. Staff are welcoming and supportive, diversity is encouraged and flexible working patterns supported. Work/life balance is actively encouraged and the benefits (particularly...

        Show More

        Cons

        It can take some time to reach decisions given the size and diversity of the university, however the Leadership Team are committed to moving forward with a relevant offering for our students in order to equip them for the world of work.

        Advice to Management

        Students are core to what we are about, but let's remember that we also need to promote the fantastic employment opportunities available here at UWE!

        University of the West of England2018-12-04

        University of the West of England Response

        January 22, 2019Resourcing Manager

        Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Please make sure that you tell your friends about the opportunities in support services here at UWE - as sometimes people think that universities only employ academic staff!

      • Helpful (1)

        "Lovely place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at University of the West of England full-time

        Pros

        Lovely Staff. Great facilities

        Cons

        Not much to be said really.

        University of the West of England2018-10-02

        University of the West of England Response

        October 8, 2018Resourcing Manager

        Thanks for your feedback and all the best in your future endeavours!

      Found 66 reviews