Urban Outfitters Retail Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Urban Outfitters Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
25 Ratings
  1. "Okay environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    They sell great clothes and shoes etc

    Cons

    Atmosphere, low amount of hours

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Working as a Retail Associate was okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount on most clothing items, early access to sales, fun people, great experience as a beginner job, and you can wear whatever your want.

    Cons

    Management acts like children + UO is not eco-friendly by any means.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to grow up a little. You're not better than your employees, so stop treating them like garbage. Drink a coffee and stop acting like an angsty teen.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-07
  3. "Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts, hours, people are friendly

    Cons

    Pay rate, parking for work is awful

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-23
  4. "Great environment but takes a long time to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work with like minded individuals -Company discount -A great company to get retail experience with

    Cons

    -Takes a long time to move up, you have to be there a lonnng time -Only get a 25 cent-50 cent raise every 6 months-year

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-14
  5. "Average part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice discounts, cool co-workers. If you work at a mall location sometimes you get discounts

    Cons

    entitled customers and terrible pay

    Urban Outfitters2019-09-19
  6. "Fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Paramus, NJ

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun team, positive vibes, very fair management at the store I was at. It's a good place to work while you're at school or pursuing other ventures

    Cons

    Don't have any cons for the time I was there

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-20
  7. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Great team, great managers, and flexible hours

    Cons

    Hours are not enough but that’s with any retail job

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-15
  8. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The casual environment allows for an excellent opportunity to bond with people and easily make friends. I'd say the company promotes creative freedom since associates are given opportunity to help with many important tasks like merchandising.

    Cons

    The downside is I feel that a lot of employees take on responsibilities beyond what is expected and the pay does not match how hard some people work. I would expect long term employees to get better raises.

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-15
  9. "Do it for the discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount on clothing and items a huge plus

    Cons

    May take some time to work up the ladder Low pay

    Urban Outfitters2019-08-13
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have always had great coworkers that make work so enjoyable. The company is very welcome to all types of people and gets involved in community events. Relaxed store environment.

    Cons

    Tasks can become extremely repetitive and amount of hours depends on pay roll so there is no guarantee for any amount of hours.

    Urban Outfitters2019-07-23
Found 85 reviews