Urban Outfitters Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Urban Outfitters Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters Chairman, President, and CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
787 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours- if slow day can get boring but at my store we rotated every hour which helped(in 142 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage with little incentive to move up(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Dead job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Shoreditch, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the 40% staff discount was sweet

    Cons

    Horrible store mangers to work with

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2019-11-28
  2. "Friendly and creative environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good and friendly work environment. A close group of staff.

    Cons

    Low salary and poor work benefits. Lack of career progression.

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-02-10
  3. "Fun place to work, quiet flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked here as a student and the managers were super flexible and able to schedule you around classes etc. fun atmosphere

    Cons

    No chance to progress whilst working part time. No pay reviews. Sometimes hours varied significantly week to week to the extent of 4hrs one week 24 hours the next.

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-02-10
  4. "horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40% discount on items nice staff

    Cons

    never listen to hours management rude and mean

    Urban Outfitters2020-02-10
  5. "Unsocialable hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40% discount and good comradery between the sales associates.

    Cons

    Tend to be understaffed and overworked.

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-02-04
  6. "Great people, poor career movement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting SWE 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, like minded and young teams. Company give back in terms of events for staff, treats and christmas party is fun. Ability to move departments, which is great for learning.

    Cons

    Don't promote from within easily, or when they do its marginally. Pay is not good and can be a lot of office politics/cattiness.

    Urban Outfitters2020-01-16
  7. "Sick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool work buds in the house.

    Cons

    Peak customers dans temps en temps.

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-01-03
  8. "Vile Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters

    Pros

    You make good friends with the sales assistants and good discounts.

    Cons

    The management team are vile to work with and treat anyone below them with 0 respect and love to abuse their power. And the stores are also so so dirty and unhygienic.

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-01-14
  9. "Great for students, part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good discount, everyone is really cool etc

    Cons

    never finish on time, can go 5 hours without break, never sit down, really long hours

    Urban Outfitters2019-12-26
  10. "Not paid enough..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, my team was full of fun people and the store is cool.

    Cons

    Very bad training, no meetings with management to talk about issues, difficult to change rotas, bad communication

    Continue reading
    Urban Outfitters2020-01-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 2663 reviews