Urban Outfitters Senior Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Urban Outfitters Senior Sales Associate Reviews

Updated 25 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
2 Ratings
  1. "Senior Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trendy, exciting and forever moving in fashion and media

    Cons

    A lot of people do not understand the brand Sometimes a little pricey

    Advice to Management

    None

    Urban Outfitters2016-04-28
  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount on items, great team to work with

    Cons

    Long hours, management not always best

    Urban Outfitters2018-02-13
  3. "Oxford Street Store (Flagship)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, you can build friendship with open minded and AMAZING PEOPLE! It's a fun place to work in if you love the products. Oh and you get to work with amazing Swedes, loved the Oxford Street store!

    Cons

    It can get really busy and stressful especially during the holiday seasons. The pay is minimum especially for a flagship store, based on the amount of work and effort we put in. Some senior management members can be unfriendly.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate all your staff, reward them, more incentives. Stop delaying progression with staff, alot of them have potential, they're just demotivated because they're not appreciated.

    Urban Outfitters2016-04-08
  4. "Urban Outfitters Senior Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My store has a great and friendly team. Flexible hours if you're a student/working part-time. The employee discount is generous - 40% off all clothes and own brand shoes / 25% off sale and designer shoes.

    Cons

    The only negatives are the long hours - but that is normal for retail. Also the pay is only minimum wage for regular sales associates.

    Advice to Management

    To prevent high employee turnover maybe pay a little bit more than minimum wage - it is only good pay if you're under 21

    Urban Outfitters2015-11-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "VIBES to all working for the Saveship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing 40% discount The best team of staff anyone could ever ask for V.I.B.E's is there customer service philosophy and it is a extremely good thing to remember for future interviews with other companies Fun in store parties desirable for future retail employers as it is a fast paced trendy brand

    Cons

    Bad management! Poor Pay A split between the senior team and lower level employees favoritism I onced got told that my priorities weren't straight because I asked for a week off for my broken leg Very low staff morale Staff theft was a big issue in my store which made all staff subjected to feeling like a criminal - This made staff theft go up even higher and they never caught anyone Constantly made to act... as security guard - poor investment in loss prevention Working long hours and sometimes being in store past midnight to get to "Standards"

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I felt like I was at school where the management team were the teachers and everyone else were the kids, I hid from managers (like hide and seek), would pass notes to my friends as it seemed to be I was never aloud to speak to anyone and feared a manager walking past me. Bad sanction practice was also in place and disciplinary were never consistent You are only aloud to clock in when you are on your way to... the shop floor - you are expected to clock in 20 minutes before your shift starts to ensure you arrive on the shop floor on time. It took my 2 minutes to make it to the shop floor and I wasn't paid for the first 18 minutes of my shift, however I would be sanctioned if I didn't clock in 20 minutes before the start of my shift . I was promoted once in my 2 years as a full time employee - if you are not a favorite don't even expect to get anywhere higher then Reg Aid (senior sales)

    Show More
    Urban Outfitters2013-10-15
  6. "An Overall Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic discounts (especially during "Employee Appreciation" months), a laid back work environment, and all of the coworkers you befriend

    Cons

    Unless it is a holiday season or the weekend, the work days can be incredibly slow. Just like all other retail jobs, customers can often mistreat sales associates. When other coworkers are absent or it is an especially busy day, you are often asked to work overtime.

    Urban Outfitters2019-03-25
  7. "Bad Management vs Good Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Sales Associate in Paramus, NJ

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to express your creative style. Great starter retail job, it gives you the experience to move forward in the retail world.

    Cons

    Your experience at urban really depends on management. I've had both good and bad management. When there's a good management team you're able to enjoy working for the company. But if the management team is bad it's bad. They play favorites and when you're not the favorite you get the shorter end of the stick. Eventually seniority doesn't matter, and the favorites get more hours, promotions and pay raises. And you... become a favorite by brown nosing the management team. That's how you get far with a bad management team. Your hard work won't get far, the extra mile that you go for the company gets unrecognized unless you're a brown noser.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't play favorites. Realize when you have good employees.

    Urban Outfitters2016-09-03
  8. "SUPER okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours Meet great people Amazing discounts Opportunity to move up

    Cons

    "Spiteful" scheduling Annoying managers who get butthurt Drama drama drama Got let go over the phone with no reason

    Urban Outfitters2014-12-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible, chill and fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Irvine, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am a full-time student and I love how flexible they are with hours. Love the discount, love my coworkers and love the vibe of the store and my managers are really chill too. Working here is a great environment to be in, but obviously there are really stressful days (when the store is really busy) but that's normal and you have to expect that.

    Cons

    THE PAY, I have been working here for almost 2 years and I've only gotten one raise. I know for sure it isn't my managers fault, it's the company's and its pretty shady. I know UO is a rich company so it doesn't make sense to me how (at one point) senior sales associates and team leads weren't getting paid well and now we are only getting paid minimum. Please fix this!! If I wasn't doing this job part-time, I would... definitely question this more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give more feedback to employees! All managers are different, but it would be nice to get better feedback.

    Urban Outfitters2014-11-04
  10. "It's pretty cool working at Urban"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    The Discount - 40% Employee Appreciation - which happens 4 times a year and during month long intervals Cool People and Environment

    Cons

    Slow Movement within the company Strict Rules - but that comes with any successful company

    Urban Outfitters2014-05-29
Found 13 reviews