VMR Consultants Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

VMR Consultants Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

1.4
8%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
VMR Consultants Managing Director Matthew Springham (no image)
Matthew Springham
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Lovely company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Internal recruiter was so lovely, got me in for an interview the next day understanding that I had just moved to the area, kept in contact with me throughout the process to make sure I was prepared. The training provided is really helpful, the training manager shows a general interest in your progress. Checked on my continuously to make sure we weren’t nervous and go overcome anything we were worried about. My group settled in really quickly due to the training manager and how many group activities we did and all helped each other. The people in the company are so lovely and helpful! Really welcomed me and helped me through calls.

    Show More

    Cons

    Too much money to be earnt

    Advice to Management

    Never change

    VMR Consultants2019-03-07
  2. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good if you want to be as hard as nails

    Cons

    Bad ethic, bad everything in general

    VMR Consultants2020-01-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Made me want to walk into traffic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time

    Pros

    - Some fantastic people who will try and help you stop drowning.

    Cons

    - Petty power plays betweens managers. - The directed gets a kick over making employees feel small while using them as an outlet for personal problems. - Fear driven office. - Unprofessional methods. - Unreliable equipment. - Unstructured training. - Unreasonable expectations. Overall a harrowing and painful experience.

    Advice to Management

    Let that ship sink.

    VMR Consultants2020-01-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • All the agents have each other’s back!

    Cons

    Most tiring job I would avoid it unless your strong minded

    Advice to Management

    Close down

    VMR Consultants2019-11-19
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not really any positive things about this company apart from the very few decent members of staff. Also if you like shopping then being located on the high street may be an added bonus- but you will not get the time to have a browse as there is no flexibility with the 30 minute lunch break.

    Cons

    Well where do I start? I could right a story about this company but it wouldn't be worth my time. From the interview process right up until my last day was horrible. Even though they take people on with no recruitment experience that does not matter because they will expect you to be making the company money within your first week and thrown in the deep end and theatened to be fired if you do not make a deal.. Most training is done through watching videos and roleplay which is a waste of time, no one to one support or help just threats. The owner of the company is a psychopath and watches everybodies move every minute of the day, makes people cry nearly everyday and makes people feel very small.. he is obsessed with numbers and profit and does not care about any of the staff. The people who work at VMR hate it too. Everybody slags off the owner whenever he is near by and everybody is walking on egg shells, including the management team. They fire people regularly and the staff turnover is the worst I have ever seen! Its very clicky and not a healthy place to work or try to persue a career. If I could give 0 stars then I would because its a complete shambles I am very surprised the company is still going.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well done for putting up with the daily abuse, honestly deserveva medal.

    VMR Consultants2019-09-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "grave yard of ambitions, or is it ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly rolled my eyes up trying hard to think of any and there aren't many pros. Unless you are extremely good at what you do go ahead and apply but still the fear element of with held commissions would appear dangling over your heads. surprisingly the company has some legendary consultants who have the eye for detail and I must say are really talented and I have had the chance to learn so much from them. The team do care and the are good people.

    Show More

    Cons

    ahhh, where shall I begin? lets just say pursuing a career at VMR is like shooting yourself in the left foot and the shooting would be less painful in fact it may seem that it may be right thing to do whilst in employment at VMR . The training module is good and somewhat seem reasonable but this company operates under one size fits all policy. Only because the director has so far missed the opportunity of public learning and management. you would be patronised and tested to the limits. Ethics and morality is oblivion to the company and the distinction between employment and modern slavery does appear to have been faded with VMR. It may feel like everyone is doing their time at prison because everyone is looking out for the right moment to escape this war zone. With extreme staff turnover and surprise departures or sack every month around payday wouldn't be an ideal situation for someone looking out to apply for better opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advise to the director, training should be on the agenda for you

    VMR Consultants2019-09-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "I’d compare VMR to Love Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have you seen Love Island? If you have and you enjoy the show then you’ll love it here! Want people coupling up and switching partners on the daily? Happens here! Want to witness and be involved in new exciting drama every day? Just got to wait about 3 hours into your first day and you’ll get that! Want the chance to say “I’ve got a text” just to read out another disappointing group activity? Look no further than the CEO’s messages in the company WhatsApp chat! Weekly dumpings and the entire group of people around you changing each week sound like your thing? Wait until you see our turnover! Get ready for awkward company parties - or don’t because no one ever wants to go so they are constantly rescheduled. Try your best to get on an incentive. But if you have 2 out of 5 days off, even if it’s pre-booked holiday, you might as well spend the rest of the week camping under your desk to hit the ridiculous targets. But it’s worth it, you’ll get treated to a meal (no cheese) and cheap wine that the Back Office Slaves have been sent to get that week.

    Show More

    Cons

    You’re not actually on love island. You’re in a Southend based office where you’ve got a great sight of York Road, faeces smeared on the toilet walls and toilet ceilings that could crash on your head at any moment with the constant fear of being sacked. In all seriousness, there are too many cons to list. I can honestly say I received more respect in 1 week at my lovely new job than I did with 1 year at VMR. I really feel sorry to the Internal Recruiters there now because for over a year I was told how important my job was (you know, only bringing in new recruiters to cover up the 100 people that left in 1 year, making sure the CEO was still able to make money) yet this importance didn’t matter until 11 months into the job for me. There was no involvement in incentives - of course though I had to take pictures of them and post them because the CEO also wanted us to take on marketing! But no involvement. One week, I hired 5 people - this is three more than the targeted 2 people - and also met the target of 2 people the week before and the week after... but still no incentive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have a lot of respect for the management here (as long as you keep your toes away) so please do yourself a favour and go elsewhere...

    VMR Consultants2019-08-23
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Long working hours who needs a social life when you could be selling in and spamming tech companies! Nice emails about bogeys and poo being smeared on company toilet walls, oh and mouldy milk. Nice views of York road and crack addicts fighting from the window of the office. #bestentertainmentever! If you hit your call times you're actually allowed a lunch break! If you love not having job security this is the one for you, but don't worry if you're sacked you'll be called two days later with them begging for you to return. Managing director loves throwing awesome raves at his house, bit of karaoke is always nice after a long month. If you don't like people this is great for you there will never be the same staff for long, monthly or weekly walkouts ensure this. Great training if you like watching the same videos on repeat for two hours every morning! If the internet goes down, no problem you can call Europe from your mobile, no you will not be reimbursed but that's okay you'll get your commission 3-6 months after your first deal :) Great database with hundreds of potential leads from years ago, company doesn't want a java developer? That's okay, you can call them tomorrow and see if they need one now! Loads of funny entertainment from LinkedIn, you might told to kill yourself by random people you've never met, purely because everyone has already contacted them. Got mess? Don't worry the apprentices will be round to clear that for you. All round great company, full of entertainment, great bunch of people to work with. Managers get paid to watch you-tube videos, keep your aspirations high! There's so much more to say but i'm bored now, have a great time working here ;)

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything, apart from the people who try to keep you sane even though you can tell they can't wait to go outside for a chain smoking session.

    Advice to Management

    Smile your employees are watching.

    VMR Consultants2019-04-10
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Worst company ever- every negative review is true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Graduate Recruitment Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great social side with other consultants and some managers are great!

    Cons

    CEO is insane. Expects everyone to change procedures as soon as an idea comes to mind. Hires trainees so he can manipulate them into slave workers. Expectations are insane. KPI leads to people faking call times out of fear. All good reviews are lies written by himself.

    Advice to Management

    All the managers could be in a better compnay. CEO needs to lay off pressure and focus on staff retention

    VMR Consultants2019-03-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants

    Pros

    Good training scheme to get you ready for the Job

    Cons

    -Long hours -Lack of communication from the management side

    VMR Consultants2019-01-30
Found 41 reviews