VMR Consultants Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

VMR Consultants Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

1.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
7%
Approve of CEO
VMR Consultants CEO Matthew Springham (no image)
Matthew Springham
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Lovely company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Internal recruiter was so lovely, got me in for an interview the next day understanding that I had just moved to the area, kept in contact with me throughout the process to make sure I was prepared. The training provided is really helpful, the training manager shows a general interest in your progress. Checked on my continuously to make sure we weren’t nervous and go overcome anything we were worried about. My group... settled in really quickly due to the training manager and how many group activities we did and all helped each other. The people in the company are so lovely and helpful! Really welcomed me and helped me through calls.

    Show More

    Cons

    Too much money to be earnt

    Advice to Management

    Never change

    VMR Consultants2019-03-07
  2. "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not really any positive things about this company apart from the very few decent members of staff. Also if you like shopping then being located on the high street may be an added bonus- but you will not get the time to have a browse as there is no flexibility with the 30 minute lunch break.

    Cons

    Well where do I start? I could right a story about this company but it wouldn't be worth my time. From the interview process right up until my last day was horrible. Even though they take people on with no recruitment experience that does not matter because they will expect you to be making the company money within your first week and thrown in the deep end and theatened to be fired if you do not make a deal..... Most training is done through watching videos and roleplay which is a waste of time, no one to one support or help just threats. The owner of the company is a psychopath and watches everybodies move every minute of the day, makes people cry nearly everyday and makes people feel very small.. he is obsessed with numbers and profit and does not care about any of the staff. The people who work at VMR hate it too. Everybody slags off the owner whenever he is near by and everybody is walking on egg shells, including the management team. They fire people regularly and the staff turnover is the worst I have ever seen! Its very clicky and not a healthy place to work or try to persue a career. If I could give 0 stars then I would because its a complete shambles I am very surprised the company is still going.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well done for putting up with the daily abuse, honestly deserveva medal.

    VMR Consultants2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "grave yard of ambitions, or is it ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly rolled my eyes up trying hard to think of any and there aren't many pros. Unless you are extremely good at what you do go ahead and apply but still the fear element of with held commissions would appear dangling over your heads. surprisingly the company has some legendary consultants who have the eye for detail and I must say are really talented and I have had the chance to learn so much from them. The... team do care and the are good people.

    Show More

    Cons

    ahhh, where shall I begin? lets just say pursuing a career at VMR is like shooting yourself in the left foot and the shooting would be less painful in fact it may seem that it may be right thing to do whilst in employment at VMR . The training module is good and somewhat seem reasonable but this company operates under one size fits all policy. Only because the director has so far missed the opportunity of public... learning and management. you would be patronised and tested to the limits. Ethics and morality is oblivion to the company and the distinction between employment and modern slavery does appear to have been faded with VMR. It may feel like everyone is doing their time at prison because everyone is looking out for the right moment to escape this war zone. With extreme staff turnover and surprise departures or sack every month around payday wouldn't be an ideal situation for someone looking out to apply for better opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advise to the director, training should be on the agenda for you

    VMR Consultants2019-09-11
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Absolute Shambles Of A Place - Basically A school Play Ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Want to work for a recruitment company where you have so much earning potential and endless incentives/perks? This is definitely not the place.... Yes you you have lots of earning potential and stand a chance of getting on the "weekly" incentive providing you hit that easy 3 hours call time and target of 150 dials a day. I mean that means you wont have time to even go to the toilet during the day but... that's ok cause your making money right? :) Working here is just like being at school again which we all miss don't we. Guys and girls sleeping with each other on a Friday night out, most of which are in relationships. Getting to drink that gorgeous Echo Falls Chardonnay out of the fridge Friday afternoons that gives you a headache for the weekend. That one drink your allowed really does hit the spot... Honestly, this job gives you so much security i swear and really is not a playground... The only real pro about working here was meeting the funniest , best people.

    Show More

    Cons

    Ever experienced anxiety and depression? Well if not you will when you start here. So ill but also scared to take a day off cause you'll most likely get sacked and going home after that 50 hour week feeling like you could sleep the whole weekend. Scared to go home ON TIME because your worried it's the wrong thing to do after that really easy 10.5 hour day. Also you MUST follows his rules, even if you... are being controlled and micromanaged, otherwise you'll get threats of never been paid that commission you've given your life up to try and earn. Training is basically non-existent. Yeah you get trained at the start but afterwards if you need help your not allowed to ask because certain people are too lazy to get of their backsides to help and expect you to just get on with it and struggle. You are taught to follow the foot steps of another company owner - someone who has a failing company and thinks it's acceptable to beat up his wife - definitely going to do that aren't we! Oh and btw the director isn't racist and doesn't discriminate but then says "look at the names of the people on your shortlist" and "why have you brought them in for an interview, they're over 30, cancel it!" Listening to house music and 8 am in the morning cause apparently anything else is demotivating. quarter holidays that have happened once or twice! Apparently you get a free gym membership yet when i asked about it no one seemed to know about it. So to put it straight... the company is one BIG lie and a complete waist of time, don't believe what you are told. You are being sold a dream!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Would really advise a certain manager to actually get off his backside and consider giving his team some help instead of thinking about that 50% commission he's taking of them for all the "help" - SELFISH. Ps. Stop wearing flip-flops into the interviews - really isn't professional and quite frankly no one wants to see your gammy toes.

    VMR Consultants2019-08-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A Throne of Lies..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Recruitment experience, if you are starting out...

    Cons

    The wrong recruitment experience, if you are starting out. Boiler room dump. It could be a fantastic place to work but never will be as the David DeCourcey and Nookie Bear have neither the skills, nor the interest to make it so. Working there is toxic and will send you miserable, or mad. Everything they tell you is a lie. Just remember that.

    Advice to Management

    You will never be able to sell it.

    VMR Consultants2019-08-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "I’d compare VMR to Love Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have you seen Love Island? If you have and you enjoy the show then you’ll love it here! Want people coupling up and switching partners on the daily? Happens here! Want to witness and be involved in new exciting drama every day? Just got to wait about 3 hours into your first day and you’ll get that! Want the chance to say “I’ve got a text” just to read out another disappointing group activity? Look no... further than the CEO’s messages in the company WhatsApp chat! Weekly dumpings and the entire group of people around you changing each week sound like your thing? Wait until you see our turnover! Get ready for awkward company parties - or don’t because no one ever wants to go so they are constantly rescheduled. Try your best to get on an incentive. But if you have 2 out of 5 days off, even if it’s pre-booked holiday, you might as well spend the rest of the week camping under your desk to hit the ridiculous targets. But it’s worth it, you’ll get treated to a meal (no cheese) and cheap wine that the Back Office Slaves have been sent to get that week.

    Show More

    Cons

    You’re not actually on love island. You’re in a Southend based office where you’ve got a great sight of York Road, faeces smeared on the toilet walls and toilet ceilings that could crash on your head at any moment with the constant fear of being sacked. In all seriousness, there are too many cons to list. I can honestly say I received more respect in 1 week at my lovely new job than I did with 1 year at VMR.... I really feel sorry to the Internal Recruiters there now because for over a year I was told how important my job was (you know, only bringing in new recruiters to cover up the 100 people that left in 1 year, making sure the CEO was still able to make money) yet this importance didn’t matter until 11 months into the job for me. There was no involvement in incentives - of course though I had to take pictures of them and post them because the CEO also wanted us to take on marketing! But no involvement. One week, I hired 5 people - this is three more than the targeted 2 people - and also met the target of 2 people the week before and the week after... but still no incentive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have a lot of respect for the management here (as long as you keep your toes away) so please do yourself a favour and go elsewhere...

    VMR Consultants2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Disgrace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resourcer in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will never have a worse boss than this guy

    Cons

    Owner is a self centred control freak, has no idea how to run a business. Encourages sexual harassment to young women who work there and makes every day disgusting comments about peoples race and colour, worked there for 6 months and saw around 30 people leave or be sacked. Owner has no respect for his employees and thinks threatening their jobs is a good way to motivate his staff, disgrace of a company this man... needs to be stopped

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retire

    VMR Consultants2019-07-05
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Company is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your chucked in the deep end, if you can work for this CEO, you can work for anyone!

    Cons

    VMR is one of the most disgusting and unhealthy places to peruse a career in! The CEO is a manipulative control freak that has no idea how to run a successful company. He used reverse psychology on a former employee to force her to leave his business as she had mental health problems; he done this for the fact he knows it would be an unfair dismissal to sack someone because of their mental state. The CEO also... disrespected a former employees religion which I find disgraceful! He has no people skills what so ever and just because he has no life or no one to go home to he expects the same from everyone else! My 3 months of being at the company I saw around 10 people walk out the door or were sacked with no real explanation. For example, a former employee was upset due to another staff member leaving, in the directors eyes this was seen as negative behaviour and she was dismissed. The director is a complete psychopath who gives unrealistic targets to staff just because his company is crumbling by the second. Your contract is thrown out the window as soon as you start, fails to mention you participate in slave labour as well. If you are 5-10 mins late it gets deducted from your pay even if you stay past your contracted time to make up for your hours. The atmosphere is depressing and unhealthy! Countless amounts of staff members feel uneasy and mentally controlled within the office. I was made to complete tasks which were not in my contract. My favourite was when I arrived at one of the company parties, I was then sent back out to bring him back cups and shot glasses. Whenever he hosts parties you are made to feel very uneasy and he makes you feel pressured to drink alcohol even if you are underage! Fail to mention underage girls are tasked to take alcohol to his beer fridge. Another one of my favourites was to go out and get his lunches or his personal bank statements during my own lunch, which wasn’t allowed to be made up for! I was also made to bring him water and food to his desk when he demanded and if I were to stand up for myself I would’ve more than likely been dismissed. I was threatened to get sacked over not putting one of another employees doughnut packet in the bin! His way of motivating people is threatening them! The only thing that kept me motived was the employees, everyone that works there is amazing and deserves a lot more and should be treated with decency; they should have the respect for themselves to leave this joke of a company behind! The CEO treats people depending on your role not as an individual human being! If you don’t make him money he doesn’t want to know you. He engages your attention by giving you parties, free breakfast, company holidays and weekly incentives but the morale all together just steeps lower as the weeks go by. Training is laughable! Sit there for hours reading sentences that aren’t spelt correctly, let alone make sense :) EMBARRASSING. At least you get to sit there a rewatch the same video over and over again every morning! If you have any mess at your desk, don’t worry about it his slaves will come round to take your mugs, food and whatever else as he believes everyone’s too busy or incapable of walking 30 seconds to the kitchen. He is in his own little world and won’t take advise from anybody else as he believes he’s superior to all his staff. Would make new starters get on their hands n knees to plug his laptop in as he clearly is unable to do it himself! Nothing is ever enough for him. He openly bullies staff and brings people to tears on a daily basis... remember don’t cry infront of him you might get fired. The negative reviews are hard to believe but are all very true, unfortunately. However, the CEO likes to write his own reviews or bribe people into making positive ones for him:/ If you ever start at VMR you have my sympathy! Any advice for the director is to grow up, develop some communicational skills and consider your staffs feelings for once and maybe everyone in the office wouldn’t despise you :)))

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    VMR Consultants2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Honestly, these reviews just speak for themselves but I thought I’d at least contribute towards it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Either don’t bother going to your interview or stay there for three months, get your basic training and then find a better company.

    Cons

    1) Ridiculous hours and compulsory unpaid overtime. You’re also expected to take your laptop home and give up all your free time. 2) Junior members of staff who have been with the company just a matter of weeks receive daily threats that they’ll be fired because they haven’t yet managed to pull a deal out of the dead end niche markets that VMR recruit for. 3) Essentially it’s seen as a pick n mix for CEOs of... successful recruitment companies to find juniors who have received the basic training. 4) The office is actually just infested with mice that poo in all the drawers. 5) Don’t be surprised if the ceiling falls on your head. 6) Please do not quit your permanent jobs for something as unstable as this company if you have bills to pay. It really isn’t worth it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sort it out or you will continue to lose your top billers and juniors to better companies.

    VMR Consultants2019-04-10
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Long working hours who needs a social life when you could be selling in and spamming tech companies! Nice emails about bogeys and poo being smeared on company toilet walls, oh and mouldy milk. Nice views of York road and crack addicts fighting from the window of the office. #bestentertainmentever! If you hit your call times you're actually allowed a lunch break! If you love not having job security this... is the one for you, but don't worry if you're sacked you'll be called two days later with them begging for you to return. Managing director loves throwing awesome raves at his house, bit of karaoke is always nice after a long month. If you don't like people this is great for you there will never be the same staff for long, monthly or weekly walkouts ensure this. Great training if you like watching the same videos on repeat for two hours every morning! If the internet goes down, no problem you can call Europe from your mobile, no you will not be reimbursed but that's okay you'll get your commission 3-6 months after your first deal :) Great database with hundreds of potential leads from years ago, company doesn't want a java developer? That's okay, you can call them tomorrow and see if they need one now! Loads of funny entertainment from LinkedIn, you might told to kill yourself by random people you've never met, purely because everyone has already contacted them. Got mess? Don't worry the apprentices will be round to clear that for you. All round great company, full of entertainment, great bunch of people to work with. Managers get paid to watch you-tube videos, keep your aspirations high! There's so much more to say but i'm bored now, have a great time working here ;)

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything, apart from the people who try to keep you sane even though you can tell they can't wait to go outside for a chain smoking session.

    Advice to Management

    Smile your employees are watching.

    VMR Consultants2019-04-10
Found 44 reviews