VMR Consultants Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

VMR Consultants Reviews

Updated 27 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.5
6%
Recommend to a Friend
4%
Approve of CEO
VMR Consultants Managing Director Matthew Springham (no image)
Matthew Springham
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Lovely company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Internal recruiter was so lovely, got me in for an interview the next day understanding that I had just moved to the area, kept in contact with me throughout the process to make sure I was prepared. The training provided is really helpful, the training manager shows a general interest in your progress. Checked on my continuously to make sure we weren’t nervous and go overcome anything we were worried about. My group settled in really quickly due to the training manager and how many group activities we did and all helped each other. The people in the company are so lovely and helpful! Really welcomed me and helped me through calls.

    Cons

    Too much money to be earnt

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2019-03-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Absolute shambolic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Southend, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing, can't even think of one.

    Cons

    Everything, horrible company to work for, unless you want to work under a psychopath then run for the hills.

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2020-02-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "What’s your Pledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants

    Pros

    Being told my day plan has to be completed during and out of hours. I lived and breathed VMR 7 days a week!

    Cons

    Where do I start. I’m still shocked at things I had witnessed while under the CEO Springtadtic and his ‘flip flop sidekick. Daily was always a worry what your day will consist of. Calling the same number 10-20 times a day to hit the famous ‘90’ points, earning points daily just so you can have an admin session and if you wasn’t successful you would be made to call 8 hours a day!!! Being taken into silly training sessions and unless certain managers where there the training would be pointless.... That’s one place that can cause someone with perfect mental health to a complete mess. I have witness more people cry and walk off than anywhere I have ever worked before. Your be slave, depressed, micro managed, worked till late with no benefits. Anyone thinking of working here the. Continue reading the rest of the reviews and realise you sold a complete lie.

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2020-01-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Hell on earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pros I can think of is the unique bond that every employee ever worked for VMR has with each other. It is like being in a war together.

    Cons

    I've seen people cry, giving up, getting depressed and even thinking of Suicide. All of that due to 1 person (Springham) who is just a horrible human being that used psychological torture against his own employees. Every single person ever worked for VMR hated the owner due to the way he treated them. People used to fake the majority of the activity due the impossible KPIs that he forced upon people. This company had bright ambitious people who left recruitment all together because of the way they were treated by this psychopath. People think that we exaggerate, this is just the tip of the iceberg.

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2020-02-01
  5. "One for the road!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This place must be pretty close to folding as there are about 10 people left, and good riddance karma is finally hitting the owner who is one of the nastiest people to ever walk this earth. Finally all the people (im talking hundreds) that this man tortured during the years can have some form of redemption.

    Cons

    What can I say that has not been said..... well at the time I was at this firm I met some great people and it was quite heartbreaking to watch the CEO single handedly destroy their souls, without exaggeration I have seen grown men cry here and people even talking about suicide because of how this terrible person treated them. Threats threats and more threats I have seen him fire someone because they went home at 7 and he felt he should have stayed longer (contracted hours were until 5.30) Sexism and racism on almost a daily basis the list really does go on and on I really do not know how he thought this could ever be a success. The new structure was pretty epic you had to get 90 points every 2 hours 1 point being a dial or a minute on the phone if you didn't hit this in each session you you got a disciplinary. But don't worry springham every single consultant and manager had a fake dial list they used to power through on a daily basis in fact they all used to share it with eachother.

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2020-01-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It makes you realise the better things in your life because it is so awful.

    Cons

    I would say 95% of every other Con is true.....do not make the biggest mistake of your life. Unless you hate yourself, then this place will feel like home.

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2020-01-29
  7. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good if you want to be as hard as nails

    Cons

    Bad ethic, bad everything in general

    VMR Consultants2020-01-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Made me want to walk into traffic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time

    Pros

    - Some fantastic people who will try and help you stop drowning.

    Cons

    - Petty power plays betweens managers. - The directed gets a kick over making employees feel small while using them as an outlet for personal problems. - Fear driven office. - Unprofessional methods. - Unreliable equipment. - Unstructured training. - Unreasonable expectations. Overall a harrowing and painful experience.

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2020-01-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • All the agents have each other’s back!

    Cons

    Most tiring job I would avoid it unless your strong minded

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2019-11-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMR Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not really any positive things about this company apart from the very few decent members of staff. Also if you like shopping then being located on the high street may be an added bonus- but you will not get the time to have a browse as there is no flexibility with the 30 minute lunch break.

    Cons

    Well where do I start? I could right a story about this company but it wouldn't be worth my time. From the interview process right up until my last day was horrible. Even though they take people on with no recruitment experience that does not matter because they will expect you to be making the company money within your first week and thrown in the deep end and theatened to be fired if you do not make a deal.. Most training is done through watching videos and roleplay which is a waste of time, no one to one support or help just threats. The owner of the company is a psychopath and watches everybodies move every minute of the day, makes people cry nearly everyday and makes people feel very small.. he is obsessed with numbers and profit and does not care about any of the staff. The people who work at VMR hate it too. Everybody slags off the owner whenever he is near by and everybody is walking on egg shells, including the management team. They fire people regularly and the staff turnover is the worst I have ever seen! Its very clicky and not a healthy place to work or try to persue a career. If I could give 0 stars then I would because its a complete shambles I am very surprised the company is still going.

    Continue reading
    VMR Consultants2019-09-16
Found 47 reviews