VMware "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

VMware Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 6 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Professional in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and respectful culture / work environment Successful and growing company Competitive pay and benefits Focus on diversity, especially opportunities for women

    Cons

    Like most US headquartered companies, fairly US-centric

    Continue reading
    VMware2017-01-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant Technology and Innovation Flexible working environment and company culture is at heart of everything, strong values Strong program for retaining top talent Truly Global - doesn't matter where you are you can lead/contribute to Global initiatives Focussed on diversity; lots of initiatives to improve diversity

    Cons

    Young company, lacks maturity in some aspects, as long as you know who to ask, you can get things done quickly and efficiently; great if you are a natural networker At times, HQ a little out of touch with Field

    VMware2017-01-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Services Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Best work environment I have ever worked in. Close to the station. Every minute working here is an investment into your career.

    Cons

    Still trying to shake off traditional airwatch habits, not fully integrated with Vmware culture just yet.

    Continue reading
    VMware2017-01-07
  4. "Great Place to work -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Staffing Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    Fantastic Technology Great innovation Really flexible working environment and company culture is at heart of everything VMware foundation Top Talent is at the centre of everything Drives to be a truly inclusive work place

    Cons

    VMware has a lot to shout about, but isn't very good at doing so in EMEA. VMware should be a company that everyone wants to work for, but there are too many mis-conceptions around the organisation we used to be and there is not enough noise talking about who we are today. HQ centric organisation

    Continue reading
    VMware2016-12-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I worked for in 14 years..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Account Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good working environment. Management gives you the keys and the freedom to perform. Very good salary too and good incentives. The product is leader on its market and new development and partnership with Dell are really exciting. Integration with VMware was a bit challenging at the beginning but now we see the benefits (big time).

    Cons

    Your job is what you are doing with it. If you don’t have an entrepreneur spirit, it can be challenging as there is no micromanagement “task by task” (I guess that’s why I saw some bad review). It is the legacy of the start-up spirit that made the success of this company

    Continue reading
    VMware2016-11-21
  6. "Great Company and Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work environment, resources, collaborative,

    Cons

    High pressure to close request

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-03-06
  7. "Account services for VMware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Services in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment, Great opportunities to grow in career

    Cons

    None I could think of.

    VMware2020-02-18
  8. "Great Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Texas in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management works with you to ensure correct compensation Great work environment Good people Free snacks and coffee

    Cons

    Compensation can be hard to understand Random layoffs with sales and specialist departments Quotas grow quickly

    VMware2020-03-02
  9. "A Good Company with Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. new and advanced technology 2. good work environment 3. good salary

    Cons

    1. sometimes are very busy 2. hard to get promotion

    VMware2020-02-20
  10. "Senior Sales Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Better diversity, everyone is given fair chance. Very friendly work environment

    Cons

    Very huge and lot of processes

    VMware2020-02-02
Found 176 reviews