Vanguard "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vanguard Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Vanguard CEO Tim Buckley
Tim Buckley
353 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "call center, hard to find time for self development(in 206 reviews)

  • "That is all that you will be doing in the entry level role(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great culture, benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Relationship Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic ethical culture. Very good benefits, good pay, and room for advancement. A good fit if you enjoy a fast paced corporate (but ethical) environment

    Cons

    Call center environment can be demanding, rigid structure, not a whole lot of room to be creative

    Vanguard2020-02-24
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Get your license & get the hell out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall health benefits & retirement package

    Cons

    Vanguard does a hell of a job selling call center as a high finance job

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-03-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Poor Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant, Retail in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company really does believe in its mission and its crew. They encourage career building and business development. They also are trying to remain relevant and make changes so as to keep up with the times and era.

    Cons

    The keyword is they try ultimately being that we are a call center environment we don't have the time or freedom to build careers or develop our business acumen so it's a slow process. The work life balance could also use some work but again that the con to being in a call center

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-01-28
  4. "Great Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Plan Specialist in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start your career

    Cons

    call center, hard to find time for self development

    Vanguard2020-01-17
  5. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Consultant in Malvern, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, coworkers and great bosses so far

    Cons

    Call center atmosphere, can be micromanaging for sure and also can plateau pretty quickly in your role as far as new skills.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-01-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Client service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Configuration Analyst 

    I have been working at Vanguard part-time

    Pros

    Nothing, clean working environment

    Cons

    Awful call center, low pay

    Vanguard2020-01-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Call Center was not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PI Brokerage Professional in Scottsdale, AZ

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment if you're right out of school and want to learn about the financial services industry. Excellent benefit package.

    Cons

    In a call center you're inventory and your individual skills/experience are irrelevant. Pay is low. Hard to move up, very structured.

    Vanguard2019-12-27
  8. Helpful (34)

    "“Sinking Boat”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Desks and chairs are provided. If you bring in your lunch to work they have refrigerators and microwaves in the lunchroom!

    Cons

    I used to be an Assigned Rep until they Decided to change my role to a Relationship Manager . This role has now become a highbred sales/inbound call center role. All that matters is your sales numbers. In December we are now working a minimum of 40 our hours plus a week. All the team leads in management in the Charlotte area are all 25 years old and straight out of college. Promotions and not given based on skill set but based on who you know. All the team leads love walking around the office with their Laptops in their hands and feeling Important. This company is going down the hill really fast and the ship is sinking.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2019-12-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to begin career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High Net Worth Financial Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn a lot initially, great benefits.

    Cons

    Low pay comparatively and ultimately a call center. No real growth opportunity in Charlotte, NC

    Vanguard2019-11-14
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Good job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Associate in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing corporate company for a job fresh out of school. Everyone know’s vanguard and looks great on your resume

    Cons

    The recruiting team will straight up lie to get you in the door. Once you start, you are taking calls all day non stop. It’s a glorified call center and moving up isn’t as easy as it is made out to be

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2019-10-03
Found 206 reviews