Vanguard "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vanguard Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Vanguard CEO Tim Buckley
Tim Buckley
353 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "call center, hard to find time for self development(in 206 reviews)

  • "That is all that you will be doing in the entry level role(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work/life balance, mission driven, great people

    Cons

    US centric senior leadership culture, limited opportunities outside of US headquarters.

    Vanguard2019-12-01
  2. "Mission focused company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Relatively 'safe' company with good growth opportunities Nice work environment

    Cons

    Slow to keep up with industry in work perks/performance

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-03-17
  3. "Generally a great place to work if you fit the profile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, modern office with great amenities, friendly colleagues, loads of internal training/learning opportunities, senior staff/directors are accessible, open plan office, ability to buy additional holiday days, very clear company values and mission

    Cons

    It takes forever to make a decision, can feel like you're a small part of a big ship that's being navigated out of the U.S., slow to move on client requests, some IT systems are ancient, can feel a bit corporate at times (the formality didn't suit me at all, but some people prefer it)

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-01-07
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A mixed experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company benefits are very good (salary, bonus, healthcare, pension etc). Management seems very passionate, which is nice to see. They also seem to truly care about the company values.

    Cons

    The London office (specifically in Marketing) are trying to take over many functions of the US business but with little understanding of what each job will entail. As a result, many people have very little work to do and are very siloed. Managers are inexperienced when it comes to managing a team, which is a shame. There is some real talent in the teams but the set up is so siloed that it seems many people cannot demonstrate their skills. Work-life balance / flexibility is also lacking but seemingly only for certain individuals / teams. London based IT also needs improving.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2019-09-26
  5. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard

    Pros

    Great team environment, flat structure, great work/life balance

    Cons

    More insight into various departments

    Vanguard2016-11-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, excellent work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Client focussed, very flexible working arrangements available with excellent work-life balance, study sponsorship and access to senior management.

    Cons

    Base salary is below rest of market, a who you know rather than what you know approach to career progression. High staff turnover.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2015-06-22
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Hmmmm...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you have no experience in the financial industry (or lack a college degree), Vanguard might be a good starting point to help build your career. I had the degree but no financial work history. Randstad (a staffing agency) granted me the opportunity to contract with Vanguard as a financial processor. I had no interest in talking to clients on the phone, but working behind-the-scenes in operations was right up my alley. In less than 1 year, I accepted a permanent, full-time position as a licensed operations associate. Back then, the position used to require a Series 6 & 63. Another year later, I was promoted to Operations Specialist. Overall, I'd say the work experience, licenses, benefits package, and friendships were my biggest takeaways from Vanguard.

    Cons

    I wouldn't say that Vanguard is the worst place to work, but it's also not the greatest either. Vanguard wasn't the right fit for me for several reasons. Like most corporations, Vanguard touts that they are "the best" or "the leader" in X,Y, and Z. For example, Vanguard claims that they're the best at putting client's first or that they're a leading company based on their diverse culture, assets under management, sustainability, philanthropy, etc. In reality, there is nothing that truly sets Vanguard apart from other financial firms. At the end of the day, Vanguard is just one, big, giant institution competing for one thing- money... which isn't necessarily a bad thing. After all, Vanguard is a business that must sustain itself in order to keep the lights on. I just find it distasteful whenever the big wigs would put a positive spin on what negatively impacts the crew. I've seen this done on multiple occasions throughout my tenure, and the only ones who benefit are the executives. Crew members have to work with outdated and flawed systems for one thing. Rather than spend the money to fix these technical issues, crew are expected to just roll with it while still maintaining a high level of professionalism and metrics rating. Money is often spent on frivolous expenditures. Not too long ago, Vanguard brought in a third-party consulting firm to completely "transform" how the processing department operates. Every TL now has a portable white board that displays their team's name, theme, employee morale rating, objectives, progress, etc. To be honest, these boards look like the inner workings of an elementary school teacher. This isn't 5th grade. This is a job. There is no reason why my team should huddle around a board every day to discuss how we're feeling and compare numbers. Vanguard's money could've been put to better use. What truly sets a company apart is their employees- both leaders and subordinates. You can have the most well-rounded, thought-provoking, heartfelt mission statement and values on planet earth, but if your employees don't live by it (specifically upper-management) then your company is no different and it will show. Micromanaging, deceptive performance review ratings, low compensation, meetings on top of more meetings, favoritism, low employee morale, constant corporate restructuring, poor work-life balance, and lack of transparency are all key indicators of a toxic work place. It's so cliche to read about these in negative company reviews, but it's true! I cannot tell you how many crew members have felt deflated after reaching their 1 year anniversary with Vanguard. You quickly learn that your voice does not matter and that there is little to no acknowledgement of your efforts unless someone up the chain of command likes you. In order to stay relevant in today's market, Vanguard has to put on all the bells and whistles to attract fresh college grads to buy into their corporate culture. Once you're in, they expect you to get pretty hammered off the corporate kool-aid. Vanguard will tell you that if you work hard and achieve a high performance rating at the end of the year (aka "fully distinguished" status) then you can get up to a 10% bump in pay. The problem with this incentive is that there's only so much room in the budget to grant a "fully distinguished" pay raise. However, upper management doesn't tell you this. So even if there's 10 people who are outstanding performers, but only 2 can be allotted the "fully distinguished" title, then guess what? Those 8 individuals are out of luck. To me, this sounds like one big ploy to get everyone to work their assets off for nothing in return. It gives people false hope that their hard work will be rewarded fairly and honestly.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-03-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance Reasonable pay

    Cons

    Slow salary growth, sometimes feels like experience & competence isn't rewarded

    Vanguard2020-03-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Enterprise Risk Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Malvern, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Seem to be removing their older workforce.

    Vanguard2020-03-20
  10. "Good, what you'd expect from a big finance company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, very nice people/good culture, good benefits, job security

    Cons

    Time-based promotion, bureaucracy (same as most big companies), old technology/some monolith applications, below average pay

    Vanguard2020-02-09
Found 482 reviews