Vanquis Bank Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vanquis Bank Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
40%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Vanquis Bank CEO Neil Chandler
Neil Chandler
1 Ratings
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Given my 5 months @ Vanquis I have found it a very friendly work culture and people very approachable. It’s been challenging getting up to speed with Vanquis jargon but it’s been very rewarding

    Cons

    Needs to become more Agile and provide laptops to their staff and update some of their IT products.

    Vanquis Bank2019-01-18

    Vanquis Bank Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear you’re enjoying your time with Vanquis.

    Continue reading
  2. "Not a friendly place, lack of culture and orientation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Continuity Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, work life balance

    Cons

    Siloed departments, unfriendly coworkers, not appealing benefits, lack of managerial support

    Vanquis Bank2019-10-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lost it's way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Manager in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good location with good transport links. The people are great - built some great friendships

    Cons

    New Management has changed the dynamic of the company. Restructures have forced a lot of good people out of the company. Lack of benchmarking on salaries - always being told that benchmarking happens but no transparency on the results eg who were reviewed, what was the outcomes. Lots of companies locally paying more but Vanquis salaries do not correlate. Lack of transparency on internal promotions - staff get promoted without roles being advertised, or interviews. No communication on promotion ie why it happened and why that person got promoted. Lower grade roles (agent level) become monotonous, low paid and lost its 'fun element'. All about taking as many calls as possible with limited respite. Significant lack of incentives for loyalty and longevity. Annual bonuses have been cut in recent years. 2018 bonus was halved due to conditions that were not communicated not being met Share schemes have failed to pay out once and have since been cancelled.

    Continue reading
    Vanquis Bank2019-08-07
  4. "Huge pay gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No dress code, so you want wear anything

    Cons

    The new joined peer got pay more for the same role, so you get punished for being royalty. No Surprise I left.

    Vanquis Bank2018-11-08

    Vanquis Bank Response

    December 13, 2018Miss

    Thanks for the feedback. In regards to pay, we carry out annual benchmarking that takes into consideration the role expectations, level of responsibility and location of the position, and we're always working on making processes more transparent. We encourage employees to have conversations with managers around salaries and benchmarking however if you feel there is anything we can improve we’d really love to hear it, so please get in touch via haveyoursay@vanquisbank.co.uk

    Continue reading
  5. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Manager in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent business fully committed to employee engagement and personal development. Couldn't recommend them as an employer any higher.

    Cons

    Some basic salaries could be more competitive

    Continue reading
    Vanquis Bank2018-02-28

    Vanquis Bank Response

    April 9, 2018Talent Acquisition Advisor - Interactive Channels

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear you’re enjoying your time with Vanquis and lovely to hear you’d recommend us as an employer! We take on all feedback and use it to improve if you do have any more ideas on how we could best work on your advice please get in touch - haveyoursay@vanquisbank.co.uk – L

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good, but Could be Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Chatham, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They focus on the little things - free lunch once a month, advent calendars, valentines day sweets, Easter eggs, quiz nights, summer barbecue, Christmas parties. Technology is improving. There are some great people. Good benefits package.

    Cons

    Salaries are very inconsistent and there is no banding in place for roles so no transparency. Pay increases are capped even when your role changes. External training is limited. No rewards for long service.

    Continue reading
    Vanquis Bank2018-03-11

    Vanquis Bank Response

    March 26, 2018Talent Acquisition Advisor - Interactive Channels

    Thank you for your feedback. Firstly it’s great to hear you enjoyed the efforts made by the numerous teams internally that host and arrange the annual events, as they put a lot of their own time into this year after year. We’re also pleased to hear you have recognised the commitments we're making to improve our internal systems for both our employees and our customers! We are however sorry to hear that you found the pay inconsistent; we are always working on making processes more transparent, so if you do have any feedback on how you feel we can do this please get in touch - haveyoursay@vanquisbank.co.uk – L

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Area sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    AREA SALES MANAGER in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vanquis Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company benefit, good induction programme.

    Cons

    Extremely bureaucratic with no real appetite for managing an inhouse sales force

    Vanquis Bank2016-04-04
Found 7 reviews