Vanquis Bank "free fruit" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vanquis Bank Employee Reviews about "free fruit"

Updated 26 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Vanquis Bank CEO Neil Chandler
Neil Chandler
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "some of the little things like free fruit, free lunch once a month are in place and are nice touches(in 13 reviews)

  • "Wellbeing focus with free fruit daily, free tea, coffee etc, free lunch once a month and Sports and Social events(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Miserable work place, rubbish progression, lousy team leaders(in 10 reviews)

  • "The diversity of the data is huge at Vanquis but it's the quality that we need to work on(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free fruit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open and inclusive environment for all colleagues. Regular business updates from Senior leadership keeping teams informed. Wellbeing focus with free fruit daily, free tea, coffee etc, free lunch once a month and Sports and Social events. Corporate responsibility involvement by colleagues. Customer focussed, continually striving to improve our customer experience.

    Cons

    A career is what you make it, no employer is perfect but this company does care about its employees.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the culture of open door policy.

    Vanquis Bank2019-01-18
  2. "Great starting point, no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Team Leader in Chatham, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary for the contact centre staff. Perks such as free fruit

    Cons

    Senior management seem to have no clue Favouritism - if you aren’t cherry picked for a role you aren’t going anywhere

    Advice to Management

    You have some great talent, use it!

    Vanquis Bank2019-10-26
  3. "Good career progression, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Security Specialist in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free fruit Colleagues Benefits Opportunity for career development Flexible working

    Cons

    Poor management Pressuring environment Stressful Salary low-mid scale

    Vanquis Bank2019-09-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Really awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Agent in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit Subsidised canteen Close to my home

    Cons

    Oh dear where should I start? I have been working for a variety of organisations over 20 years and this is by far the worse job I have ever had. Apart from the nature of the job which is endless calls you are treated like a machine. No concern for your welfare at all. I was reprimanded for taking an 8 minute toilet break. I was on my period at the time and had severe bleeding so you can imagine how that made me... feel. Also zero tolerance for any issues you might have outside of work. I had a gas scare before my shift and called in to let them know. Luckily British Gas got there straightaway so I was still able to get into work but I was an hour late. Despite explaining this to my line manager I was made to feel guilty and made to fill in a late form. Training is terrible and I kept getting conflicting information from different team leaders and floor walkers. The team leaders seem to lack basic HR knowledge - I was off ill for four days due to a mouth ulcer and was told by my line manager I could not return to work unless I had illness certificate. GPs do NOT issue illness certificates unless you have been off ill for at least a week. I stated this to my line manager but she did not pay any attention. It was only when she went to HR that it was resolved. I found a lot of senior members of staff really unprofessional because they only seemed to help the people they liked and if you were not one of them you were left on your own and with no support. I worked for Vanquis for 8 months and lets say when I received a job offer from another bank it was one of the best feelings of my life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers so they know how to motivate their staff, act professionally and do their jobs properly. Hire people who have basic skills such as being able to construct a sentence. Try and think outside of the box and think about employing a more diverse workforce in terms of age and race. You never know what you might learn.

    Vanquis Bank2019-08-22
  5. "Disaster zone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offices in Chatham & London are in good locations, free fruit.

    Cons

    Major culture problems stemming from a lack of morals, and competence from senior and middle management. Managers of all levels will quite literally lie to your face to cover their own rear. Bonuses paid to execs when clear failures around the business mean ops staff get little or no bonus despite meeting targets.

    Advice to Management

    New CEO has a massive job to do. Rip it up and start again at all levels of management and executive.

    Vanquis Bank2019-06-05
  6. "a company that cares and tries to do the best for customer and colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -management do listen and try to react to needs of customers and colleagues -some of the little things like free fruit, free lunch once a month are in place and are nice touches -an annual Employee questionnaire takes place and the findings are taken seriously and reacted to -there is genuine care and empathy for colleagues -opportunity is given to those who work hard and exhibit the right values and behaviours

    Cons

    -gone through a number of changes in ExCo over last 2 years, with very short tenures. Needs stability. -benefits package is traditional and needs a refresh

    Advice to Management

    stability, stability, stability

    Vanquis Bank2019-02-04
  7. "Should be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits (Denplan, Medical Cover, Holiday Allowance, sick pay, pension) Free fruit - when it arrives on time Free lunch voucher once a month Free Parking - if you find a space Nice Offices Social Events Charity Work OK Salaries Training is good The potential for progression is good Good Values Dress code is casual

    Cons

    Quite a few of the management team (all areas) - the wrong people are making decisions - management seems to be decided on two factors 1) length of service and 2) how social someone is. Rather than skills, experiences or fit for the job Terrible HR Team - terrible recruitment process Processes aren't thought through - very reactionary Culture - all offices have a different way of working - many problems are... caused by the Bradford Office doing things differently to the Chatham Office. People get promoted via who they know Too compliance heavy Open plan offices can get very noisy very quickly Not consistent (some people get treated better than others) IT infrastructure is poor Parking is becoming an issue The actual credit card

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff in the call centre. Stop being London Centric Stop hiring people on years of service. If you're going to use Sli.do for the monthly meeting, actually answer the questions coming through, rather than ignore them. People feel lied to! Reward hardworking staff, rather than reward management Allow people to progress or continue to lose good staff to other banks in the area. There are many... things that are good about Vanquis, decisions made my management get in the way of those good things on a regular basis.

    Show More
    Vanquis Bank2018-09-19
  8. "Teenager in need of growing up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit, tea/coffee, open culture of wanting to hear feedback from everyone, monthly business updates so you actually see senior leaders, lots of opportunity to develop, autonomy over your role (manager dependent), fair salary

    Cons

    Fees like a teenager - lots of enthusiasm, at times lazy, inconsistent expectations of colleagues, management in need of development - needs to think more like a sustainable business and grow up.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your people - particularly management development Share a compelling business strategy we can all get behind

    Vanquis Bank2018-08-08
  9. "Fantastic but please don't expect everything on a plate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chatham, England

    I have been working at Vanquis Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people! I'm here because of the people I work with. I have never felt more welcome at a company (in my fairly short career). It's also a challenging workplace and things aren't always easy which is what I enjoy. Fast paced environment so don't expect to sit on your friends and make sure you are ready to be both reactive and proactive. I've been made aware that if I want to progress and develop, you have to be... willing to push past expectations or it won't happen. Christmas party was brilliant. Free fruit and cheap vending machines save me on some days. Annual salary review is great too

    Show More

    Cons

    More consideration needed for the departments that actually finalise the delegated work. We fight tooth and nail to make things happen so a little flexibility would go a long way. Nothing else major!

    Advice to Management

    I'm all for changing goalposts but we need to be notified directly of changes instead of hearing things through the grapevine. Vital that we can at least prepare for what may or may not happen

    Vanquis Bank2018-02-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Agent in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vanquis Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit in the break room

    Cons

    Horrible people, management is poor. If your face fits, you get anything, if not, well, good luck in the nex life.

    Advice to Management

    Review the way you hire people. Some people with wide experience arent taken in consideration because they didnt pass the selection process. Save time, check the talent you have there and make the most of it instead of focusing in a "fair" way of hiring through the selectio process. Some people got a position even not facing an interview.

    Vanquis Bank2017-11-12
Found 11 reviews