Varsity Tutors Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Varsity Tutors Founder and CEO Chuck Cohn
Chuck Cohn
401 Ratings
Pros
  • "Can work from home (or anywhere with decent internet connection)(in 136 reviews)

  • "The online platform is very well designed and allows me to work with students all over the country in the comfort of my own home(in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • "Online tutoring rate is the same for all subjects - it's the same for Kindergarten and College Chemistry(in 59 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to competitors(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company believes in everyone achieving a great work/life balance

    Cons

    Nothing - I love my job

    Varsity Tutors2020-02-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay and tech support"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and tech support available

    Cons

    Less opportunities available and some clients just want one hour

    Continue reading
    Varsity Tutors2020-03-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Head of Economics"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Tutor 

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors part-time

    Pros

    everything about the job is good

    Cons

    nothing bad to share about my job

    Varsity Tutors2019-12-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Forward thinking and motivating employer. Great team environment. Feel supported and ideas and input are welcomed.

    Cons

    None to note at present.

    Varsity Tutors2018-12-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to be part of."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working for Varsity because the project is exciting and the ultimate goal is to help people learn from wherever they are in the world.

    Cons

    Nothing of concern at the moment.

    Varsity Tutors2018-12-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors full-time

    Pros

    - Home working. - Getting regular updates on how the company is doing. - Feeling as if your input really counts, and seeing changes you have made come to fruition. - Excellent work/life balance. If a colleague is ill we are all happy to cover their work as we get along so well. We know they would do the same for us.

    Cons

    - It would be lovely to see more opportunities to develop new skills. This would help employees move through the ranks in the company.

    Continue reading
    Varsity Tutors2018-12-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working. Great prospects for career growth and development. Employees are valued.

    Cons

    Employee benefits only apply to those who live in certain countries within the business.

    Varsity Tutors2018-12-14
  8. "MANAGING DIRECTOR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My Own Business. Got chance to teach in best schools of United Kingdom. Taught many subjects such as Maths,Biology,Physics,Chemistry,Statistics,Business Studies

    Cons

    Got very little time for self.

    Continue reading
    Varsity Tutors2016-07-09
  9. "Great Opportunity to Educate the World and Make some Extra Money"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Tutor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extra Income Maintain your content area skills at all levels Build relationships Make Connections

    Cons

    Not the best pay, but also not my main source of income.

    Continue reading
    Varsity Tutors2020-05-22
  10. "Varsity Tutors Employment Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Math Tutor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Varsity Tutors part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, I have only been a part of the Varsity Tutors team for a couple months now, but I genuinely enjoy getting to work as a tutor for this company. They have one of the best employee-support teams that I have ever come across; they are always eager to resolve any issues that may arise within a tutoring session as well as answer any questions along the way. The pay is solid, and, as a tutor, I have complete control of if and when I tutor. For online tutoring, I have the opportunity to discuss with clients about what their expectations are as we continue our sessions and I can easily schedule clients and make adjustments to the schedule if I need to. When working with a student online, we have access to a highly sophisticated interactive board to guide students through each lesson.

    Cons

    The biggest downfall, in my opinion, is the process Varsity Tutors takes to remove a client from your list of students when they do not have enough credits for tutoring sessions. It would be easier on tutors if we received notification that a client were dropped because of financial reasons, as opposed to receiving the same notification we do when clients' goals are met or they are reassigned. Knowing that a student is temporarily out of credits and can be reassigned to you would be more beneficial than it seeming like we will not have that student again.

    Continue reading
    Varsity Tutors2020-05-20
Found 836 reviews