Venn Group Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Venn Group Chief Executive Deirdra Moynihan
Deirdra Moynihan
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team Commission Structure is really great, it gives you invaluable support when creating new business in multiple markets(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good training structure for a junior, team based so opportunity to take home good commission early doors(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, but to be expected for a recruitment agency(in 43 reviews)

  • "Only allowed 20 minutes lunch break which you’re expected to work through too(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "legal secretary"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary 

    I have been working at Venn Group part-time

    Pros

    A professional recruitment agency with a London branch.

    Cons

    I can think of no cons.

  2. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "Sell themselves on 'team' commission but just another cold, profit-driven recruitment company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the consultants are nice, friendly people who I will stay in touch with beyond my time here

    Cons

    Many of the managers are unprofessional and lack real leadership qualities. Ongoing training for management and a format in which consultants can give feedback to their managers would be beneficial especially as managers are promoted from within based on their ability to bill. Made shock mass redundancies without any prior consultancy (a large percentage of whom were BAME or suffered from illness) in response to the coronavirus stating it was the only way to keep the company going and avoid further job losses. When the furlough scheme was announced 2 days later, they refused to use it for those they made redundant citing that they doubted they would get the money in time from the government and instead utilised the scheme to get government funding for many staff members who they hadn't made redundant. It was disappointing when they then suggested we come to them if we need help finding work (so they can slap on a mark up and profit from the situation they had put us in). Instead of in any way acknowledging their sadness of letting go a large number of their workforce, they have chosen to brush over it by splashing self-gratifying positive reviews over social media and spoken about their previous work with charity (the majority of which donations are from the pockets of the consultants themselves in Venn Group's name). The responses to their Glassdoor reviews are incredibly defensive and gaslight accurate experiences of working here including being expected to work throughout lunch breaks, work well beyond your contracted hours and managers dismissing raised concerns as the consultant's own fault.

    Continue reading
  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (4)

    "Be wary"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Other consultants are friendly and easy to get along with • Training taken seriously and time devoted to it • Team commission creates more cooperative atmosphere

    Cons

    Heartless Response to Covid-19 Whilst I appreciate covid 19 has severely affected cash flow in numerous companies, and redundancies are a necessary evil, Venn Groups response to it was brutal and clear evidence that they do NOT value their staff. Had they at least tried to save our jobs, I would have felt more accepting of being let go, but they got rid of us the first chance they got. - Even though there were rumours that a job retention scheme would be announced that week, they didn't bother to wait the 2 days to find out if it would be possible to save jobs before making 100 of us redundant - They made us waste an entire day getting set up to work from home, all the while knowing they were going to sack us - who does that!? - They pulled us into a separate room and emptied the office so that we couldn't say bye to colleagues when we left & we later found out didn't tell the colleagues what was going on until we'd left - Even when the option of furlough became available, they didn't take advantage of it for us Yes Venn may have some positives, but the way they handled this situation made it clear they don't value their staff and I would be very wary of making a career somewhere that treats it's staff in this way.

    Continue reading

    Venn Group Response

    June 9, 2020Senior Manager

    Thank you for your email, and I am pleased to see your experience while working at Venn Group was a positive one. And while I understand your frustration about the action we had to take, at the time there was not a very likely possibility of government help. The help given by the government during this crisis is unprecedented, and nothing like this country has even see before. We could not foresee what the government was going to do before we needed to take action.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of room to improve as a company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Social atmosphere is great, good first place to work if straight out of uni, met some great people whilst there - Good progression if you are in the right team - Good insight into world of recruitment

    Cons

    - Don't give more senior consultants any autonomy or trust to do their own work - Really high turnover of staff - Team commission very confusing - doesn't always reflect the billing and fluctuates quite dramatically month by month - Unrealistic targets, that don't take into account how busy your team is with other jobs, then you will be docked commission at the end of the month - Have been told off by management for leaving on time

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Micromanagement is the norm"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In the two years I'm here, I struggle to think of any.

    Cons

    Awful management, old fashioned bullying style and horrendous commission structure compared to competitors. Too much micromanagement, they do not encourage autonomy or trust their employees to do their job. Very high pressure put on you at all times from seniors, intense pressure that is not the norm at other companies.

    Venn Group Response

    May 22, 2020Senior Manager

    Thank you for the review. I am very surprised to read your comments, as all feedback generally from our administrators in our London office is always very positive and is a very close knit team. But I am sorry to hear you feel your manager was in any way a bully. This is not something we condone or anything that has been raised to our HR department by any employee. I was also surprised by your comment regarding commission. Team administrators are not part of any commission scheme, so I am unsure of your ability to comment on the commission scheme of those in recruitment as you have not experienced this first hand.

  6. "Not the best"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relatively good team socials overall

    Cons

    recruitment was not for me, and they kind of leave it to you

    Venn Group Response

    May 1, 2020Senior Manager

    Thank you for the review and we am sorry to hear recruitment wasn't for you and you felt that you were left to it. Venn Group prides itself in our training programme so any feedback on this is useful. We wish you luck in your next role

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unrealistic targets and unbearable pressure"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    Generous salary and exciting social event from time to time.

    Cons

    The generous salary couldn't compensate the amount of stress and pressure that I experienced here. The targets were just unrealistic so we had a hard time achieving it causing us to be demotivate and lowered our morale. Aside from this, instead of being encouraging, the management constantly pressure us to perform better and obviously, it wasn't helpful.

    Continue reading

    Venn Group Response

    May 4, 2020Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time at Venn Group. Targets are of course part of a sales based environment, which can sometimes be difficult, especially if this is not something you have experienced before. We will always encourage our employees to achieve and strive for better, that's what makes Venn Group a successful business with successful employees. We set achievable targets but it will not always be easy but this is underpinned by our excellent training and the support of teams and managers

  8. Helpful (1)

    "A great start to recruitment but soon lacks opportunities"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group

    Pros

    The team structure can be a great environment and a plus for clients, if you have a good team. The social side of the job is great and you need to work hard to hit KPIs but that’s recruitment/sales in general. Pathways & milestones is transparent and you get pay rises based on what you bill, as opposed to other agencies where some get preferential treatment. As long as the team billing is strong, the team commission can be strong too.

    Cons

    Managers really need ongoing training and more accountability. High turnover of new employees isn’t a good enough reason to ignore unfit management. Only promoting internally is a great selling point of Venn but can allow for incompetent managers in-post due to a lack of alternatives. Genuine concerns raised internally are ignored or dismissed as the consultant’s fault. Real lunch breaks should be allowed as forcing employees to stay in the office when the team isn’t working anyway doesn’t increase productivity, it does the opposite. Venn Group is a great start for a recruitment career but other agencies offer more in the long run. The previous review mentioning no opportunities to progress is true. You won’t get promoted unless a manager leaves and if you don’t want to pursue that route, pathways & milestones only provides pay rises if you have a lucrative market. Overall, I would recommended joining if you’re new to recruitment and providing you have a competent manager to report to. If it works out - great, if not - there are other agencies out there and you’ll then have the experience to know what to look for.

    Continue reading

    Venn Group Response

    March 13, 2020Senior Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and great to see the positives you have experienced so far at Venn Group In relation to management, we are currently piloting external training for existing managers. We believe in continual learning and development for all employees and hope to roll this out to other managers in the coming months. If you have any concerns we encourage you to speak with your director or the HR team. All employees are allowed to take time away from the desk, and this is actively encouraged. Time away from the desk is important to recharge, refocus and set you up for the afternoon ahead! Your comment about managerial promotional opportunities is however incorrect. You are right in that the number of managers that leave Venn Group are few, however many employees who have been promoted to manager have done so because they have expanded a market and created another team in that market. The number of managers at Venn Group over the last few years has increased year and year, showing there are lots of opportunities to be promoted to manager.

  9. "Great training"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training, very sociable company

    Cons

    old ways of working and KPIS

    Venn Group Response

    December 13, 2019Senior Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear you feedback on our training, which is something we're very proud of. And the sociable side is always a bonus, especially at this time of year! We take your comments on board on old ways of working and KPI's. We are looking at some new technologies for 2020 which should hopefully help with this

  10. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission on placing candidates

    Cons

    Very strict kpis which if not met affect your commission

    Venn Group Response

    November 13, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to see you wouldn't recommend Venn Group and your comments about KPI's effecting commission. With any role in recruitment, or any target driven role, it is common practice that your commission will be effected if you do not hit your targets. I am sorry the role at Venn Group didn't work out but wish you every success in your future employment

Found 213 reviews