Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Reshma Kewalramani
Reshma Kewalramani
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Company I've Ever Worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Culture, and time off are all outstanding. Company is constantly doing surveys to see how they could improve life for their employees. They are generous and appreciate hard work. Everyone is passionate and driven. I've had 5 different managers since I started here and they've all been amazing. I love everyone I work with and I couldn't be happier. I feel blessed to be working here.

    Cons

    I agree with some that HR often searches outside the company for new hires instead of hiring from within. But, they've recently stated that they are going to be offering more trainings to current employees so they can hire and promote from within whenever possible. I believe they will do that.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-11

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 10, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Great title for your review and we totally agree! We will be sure to pass your feedback to the HR department.

    Continue reading
  2. "Packaging, labelling and distribution QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, GDP Operational Quality in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team culture, exciting company with great challenges

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-18

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    February 28, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are really happy to see reviews where employees are happy at Vertex.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Excessive Workload, Neurotic Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary is medium/high and benefits are very good

    Cons

    No respect Overly loaded with work Admins work until 8pm Lack of transparency Unkept promises

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-03-10

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    March 26, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear your time at Vertex did not meet your expectations. We will be sure to provide your review to the proper departments.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing benefits- from overpriced products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, flexible working etc etc, but at a cost

    Cons

    It’s a typical US our way or the highway company. The toxicity is rife fuelled by a dog eat dog environment due to fear of ever loosing your job and great benefits. So many individuals hate to work there and suffer in silence or go on long term sick to reap the rewards of the benefits

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-01-15

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    January 24, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review. We are sorry to hear your time at Vertex was not successful. Vertex is a global company with offices across North America, South America, Europe and Australia. Based on our employee surveys and the awards we have been given, we feel the culture at Vertex is positive and innovative. Good luck in your new role.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Have no clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Great pipeline for CF drugs

    Cons

    Most dysfunctional siloed company- do not work here

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-11-24
  6. "Research Scientist II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist II in Abingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, science, working atmosphere, people

    Cons

    The rigid separation of scientific groups without the chance of overlapping

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great comp & bens, hell after a few months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Associate IV in Paddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great onboarding for new employees Salary and benefits (which is the only reason people start/stay) Great office location Usually some type of BS campaign being held every week, free food.

    Cons

    Senior management appear to lack basic communication skills. (My team were called in for a "team update" when a co-worker had been fired, it was extremely uncomfortable) Bullying is rife and goes unchecked, across more than just my dept and across all levels. Admins are expected to do way above the norm by working many long hours! **NB although if you have the right Manager you can also get away with doing the bare minimum, enabling you to take as many smoke breaks outside when you want, 2hr lunches plus extra long coffee breaks, can also farm out your duties to other admins (got to be in the know though) If you aren't up to the job, you're shown the door very quickly (no coaching or support given) Promotions are generally only given to "favourites" no matter how hard you work, or length of service. During my service I saw countless numbers of people leave, both pushed and jumped, but nothing is ever addressed, so you either like it or lump it!

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (7)

    "beware of the execs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Abingdon, England
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great science, dedicated workforce and good salaries/stock options

    Cons

    selfindulged executives that act as if they care but pocket millions. Scientists are frantically searching for new leads as CSO comes up with nothing but nonsense.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-02-01

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    February 4, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  9. "Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and office location

    Cons

    Disconnect with US management and leadership

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2018-12-17

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    January 2, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
Found 339 reviews