Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated 9 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals CEO Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
150 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Company I've Ever Worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Culture, and time off are all outstanding. Company is constantly doing surveys to see how they could improve life for their employees. They are generous and appreciate hard work. Everyone is passionate and driven. I've had 5 different managers since I started here and they've all been amazing. I love everyone I work with and I couldn't be happier. I feel blessed to be working here.

    Cons

    I agree with some that HR often searches outside the company for new hires instead of hiring from within. But, they've recently stated that they are going to be offering more trainings to current employees so they can hire and promote from within whenever possible. I believe they will do that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-11
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Pros

    Work with great, intelligent people; generally informal attitude makes approaching management easy; good compensation and benefits

    Cons

    It's been a few years since I left, I can't really recall any

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2015-08-18
  3. "Research Scientist II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist II in Abingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, science, working atmosphere, people

    Cons

    The rigid separation of scientific groups without the chance of overlapping

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great comp & bens, hell after a few months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Associate IV in Paddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great onboarding for new employees Salary and benefits (which is the only reason people start/stay) Great office location Usually some type of BS campaign being held every week, free food.

    Cons

    Senior management appear to lack basic communication skills. (My team were called in for a "team update" when a co-worker had been fired, it was extremely uncomfortable) Bullying is rife and goes unchecked, across more than just my dept and across all levels. Admins are expected to do way above the norm by working many long hours! **NB although if you have the right Manager you can also get away with doing the... bare minimum, enabling you to take as many smoke breaks outside when you want, 2hr lunches plus extra long coffee breaks, can also farm out your duties to other admins (got to be in the know though) If you aren't up to the job, you're shown the door very quickly (no coaching or support given) Promotions are generally only given to "favourites" no matter how hard you work, or length of service. During my service I saw countless numbers of people leave, both pushed and jumped, but nothing is ever addressed, so you either like it or lump it!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See above

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (7)

    "beware of the execs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Abingdon, England
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great science, dedicated workforce and good salaries/stock options

    Cons

    selfindulged executives that act as if they care but pocket millions. Scientists are frantically searching for new leads as CSO comes up with nothing but nonsense.

    Advice to Management

    get lost

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-02-01
  6. "Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and office location

    Cons

    Disconnect with US management and leadership

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2018-12-17
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory Affairs Officer in Abingdon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    good strategies, interesting pipeline, potential for growth

    Cons

    Autonony and dominance in regulatory affairs team (EU office) , lack of mentorship and guidance, weak HR presence

    Advice to Management

    I worked in regulatory affairs in Oxfordshire, UK. EU regulatory affairs team was dominated by two senior members only, favouritism over professionslim. I suffered depression and anxiety as a result of unfair treatment and HR did very little to help. I hope that senior management could monitor global offices and prevent certain individuals from autonomy and bullying. In my experience, US team is very efficient and... productive but EU was very fragmented and disorganised. I hope Vertex can prevent bullying and dominance in thier Europran office.

    Show More
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2017-04-11
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Ask good questions at interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great science in challenging disease areas. Colleagues are highly trained and work hard under considerable time pressure. Growing company which can be an energising environment.

    Cons

    Deadlines for delivering work are usually unrealistic. Very fearful culture, with senior management pressing for results urgently, whether or not this is required. Values include "We wins", although the fear that project Leaders have that they will be berated by senior managers makes it a very uncollaborative environment.

    Advice to Management

    Manage projects better with a good understanding of risk and real deadlines incorporated into a solid plan. Support staff to perform at their best with a meaningful dialogue regarding deliverables and deadlines. Do fewer early stage projects.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2016-09-27
  9. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exciting projects, and unique culture.

    Cons

    Things can often be in "panic mode" and long hours are common.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2015-07-17
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Going at 90mph is exhilarating but will break you down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, resources, cafeteria. Seaport is tricky commute but they help with lots of options. Tries to be progressive and modern. Incredibly smart, talented and hard working scientists. Collaborative and friendly people. The science is fast and free flowing. Good culture and values EXCEPT work/life balance.

    Cons

    Speed and burnout culture. 50-60hrs every week is almost standard among scientists. Pay seems good but calculate the $/hr and it's actually not very competitive at all. Almost no technicians/associates so most people will be toiling in the lab while a select few (usually white men) will be plucked into leadership/visibility roles. Pace often results in the fast thing being done over the smart/long term/careful thing... such as brute force experiments. They are super proud of diversity numbers but closer inspection it's all at the lower levels; project/senior leaders are almost exclusively white and mostly male. Overall, it often feels like a well paid postdoc, scientifically rewarding but a pyramid scheme based on burnout, privilege, networking and luck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pace is often great but stop fetishizing it above everything and recognize the cult of "pace" has costs too. You cannot simultaneously say you value diversity and all people but then rig your system so the best (only?) way to succeed is for research scientists to work a 60 hour week (which favors men and young single people). Good ideas and decisions do not come from exhausted, rushed, overstretched scientists.... Diversity is not something to be proud about if it means your white male research "Rock Stars" are built on the backs of underappreciated minorities and women.

    Show More
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-11-09
Found 316 reviews