Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 296 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals CEO Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
135 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Company I've Ever Worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Culture, and time off are all outstanding. Company is constantly doing surveys to see how they could improve life for their employees. They are generous and appreciate hard work. Everyone is passionate and driven. I've had 5 different managers since I started here and they've all been amazing. I love everyone I work with and I couldn't be happier. I feel blessed to be working here.

    Cons

    I agree with some that HR often searches outside the company for new hires instead of hiring from within. But, they've recently stated that they are going to be offering more trainings to current employees so they can hire and promote from within whenever possible. I believe they will do that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-11

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 10, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Great title for your review and we totally agree! We will be sure to pass your feedback to the HR department.

  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Pros

    Work with great, intelligent people; generally informal attitude makes approaching management easy; good compensation and benefits

    Cons

    It's been a few years since I left, I can't really recall any

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2015-08-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "beware of the execs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Abingdon, England
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great science, dedicated workforce and good salaries/stock options

    Cons

    selfindulged executives that act as if they care but pocket millions. Scientists are frantically searching for new leads as CSO comes up with nothing but nonsense.

    Advice to Management

    get lost

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-02-01

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    February 4, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review.

  4. "Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and office location

    Cons

    Disconnect with US management and leadership

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2018-12-17

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    January 2, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review.

  5. Helpful (8)

    "Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory Affairs Officer in Abingdon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    good strategies, interesting pipeline, potential for growth

    Cons

    Autonony and dominance in regulatory affairs team (EU office) , lack of mentorship and guidance, weak HR presence

    Advice to Management

    I worked in regulatory affairs in Oxfordshire, UK. EU regulatory affairs team was dominated by two senior members only, favouritism over professionslim. I suffered depression and anxiety as a result of unfair treatment and HR did very little to help. I hope that senior management could monitor global offices and prevent certain individuals from autonomy and bullying. In my experience, US team is very efficient and productive...

    Show More
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2017-04-11
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Ask good questions at interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great science in challenging disease areas. Colleagues are highly trained and work hard under considerable time pressure. Growing company which can be an energising environment.

    Cons

    Deadlines for delivering work are usually unrealistic. Very fearful culture, with senior management pressing for results urgently, whether or not this is required. Values include "We wins", although the fear that project Leaders have that they will be berated by senior managers makes it a very uncollaborative environment.

    Advice to Management

    Manage projects better with a good understanding of risk and real deadlines incorporated into a solid plan. Support staff to perform at their best with a meaningful dialogue regarding deliverables and deadlines. Do fewer early stage projects.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2016-09-27
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exciting projects, and unique culture.

    Cons

    Things can often be in "panic mode" and long hours are common.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2015-07-17
  8. "Benefits and perks are exceptional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Health insurance, bonuses, 4-weeks of vacation, discounts, annual stock grants, great cafeteria, on-site gym, social events...Here is the company I am proud to be part of. I have ample opportunities for advancement and I love the company culture here - - everyone is open-minded and supportive. No micromanagement, which is so important in my role as a quality specialist.

    Cons

    The work is stressful and you need good time management skills to succeed. You will find your managers really helpful - - they always put time and effort to make sure you grow professionally and stay motivated.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-07-16
  9. "Great office environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Offices are incredibly nice and simple to navigate. Salaries, benefits, bonuses, and PTO are all well above average for the industry. The leadership is really strong, too. They're industry veterans that know what they are doing and the direction that the company needs to be heading in. I'm proud to be a manager at Vertex.

    Cons

    Not many, if any.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-07-03

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 10, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for the great review and it is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback.

  10. "Senior Clinical Trials Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Pros

      Transformative Science, Innovative Approaches, Great Culture, Highly motivates and intelligent colleagues

      Cons

      Extremely tight timelines that change constantly, too heavy decision making without consulting project team, long hours, high stress environment

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-26

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      July 10, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Great to hear you think the culture is great at Vertex! We will be sure to provide feedback to the right department the issues you have raised.

    Found 296 reviews